We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,013 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 990: English reviews
Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2016

It was the perfect location for my needs, everyone was polite, bed was comfy no complaints at all. I was happy with the over all appearance of the hotel and liked being able to park next to my room for loading and un-loading.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kelsey, We're so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and the location was perfect for you. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

DaQuana was so sweet when my daughter and I checked in. She saw that my daughter was pregnant so she put us on the first floor. Normally I don't like hotels with the doors on the outside but it was so convenient to just park at our door to unload our suitcases. I liked having a refrigerator and microwave in... More 

Helpful?
Thank 60GeriM13
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear 60GeriM13, Thank you so much for the kind words and for recognizing our star team players, Da-Quana and Carol. They'll be very excited to see the review, I can't wait to share it with them. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Very friendly, great experience. We were evacuees from hurricane Matthew. Staff very accommodating. Will definetly stay again. Pet friendly😊😊😊😊😊cannot say enough. Left my daughter in West Ashley to stay there

Helpful?
Thank Kelley R
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kelley R, Thank you for taking the time out to post a review about our hotel, we really appreciate it. I hope all is well for you back home now. We tried to accommodate our guests and their loved ones to the best of our ability through the storm. We're happy to see that we were able to provide... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The hotel was very clean, modernized, with a beautiful lobby! My husband and I stayed with our dog and were easily able to make it into the historic downtown area in 12 minutes of a scenic drive. We will definitely stay again!

Helpful?
Thank Brighteyes8432
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Brighteyes8432, We're so glad you had a great time downtown, that you found our hotel to be clean and modern, and that we were able to accommodate your dog as well. Thank you for your review and we hope you come back to visit us soon! More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We took an auto tour of several states in the Southeast and the Bestwestern Charleston Inn had the most friendly and helpful employees of all of the places we stayed. The hotel is located within a reasonable drive to downtown, the rooms were clean and everything else was satisfactory. The employees were the greatest.

Helpful?
Thank pattymcguire
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear pattymcguire, It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The team really and I really appreciate the fact that you took the time to post such a positive review. We hope you come back to visit us again soon and that you made it home safely! Thank you again! More 

Keswick, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2016

This is my second stay at the Best Western Sweetgrass and I again enjoyed it, even though it was a quickie -- The staff is really professional, friendly and courteous and the hotel was recently beautifully renovated. Great option for Charleston!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Virginia C
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Virginia C, Thank you so much for posting your review, I'm so happy to see that you decided to come back to visit us and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next time your in Charleston! More 

Seven Hills Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

If you cant afford one of the expensive hotels in historic Charleston this is an affordable place to stay within a short drive.It's a great value which includes free parking and a Super Friendly staff willing to accommodate. Adequate room with fridge and microwave, a comfortable bed & nice large sink area outside of a very small bath area. Somehow... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank marynstantoo
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear marynstantoo, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on our property. We really appreciate the feedback. I was so happy to read that our team was able to provide such excellent guest service. We want all of our guests to enjoy not only their visit with us but their time in Charleston as well.... More 

Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Everything was great. Room, pool Breakfast. Had family join us for a few days and the front desk was able to provide a room next door to make if convenient to visit with. Location is convenient to downtown shopping and interstates for travel.

Helpful?
Thank BillCarolK
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear BillCarolK, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for taking the time out to post a review about your experience. We strive to make each guest experience the best that it can be, and it looks as though we accomplished that goal. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you next time you're... More 

Owings, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

You will not be disappointed staying at this location. Rooms were updated and very clean. Front desk staff very helpful and kind. Breakfast was good and the staff goes out of her way to help everyone!! Great stay!!

Helpful?
Thank haley1948
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear haley1948, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I'm happy to see we were able to make your experience a great one. We look forward to your next visit! More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived about 4 pm. The front desk lady was pleasant but I was unhappy that we were in the very back an on top floor in center of building. We had to park at the end. Our view was a building looking at construction workers an painters drinking beer all night. The room was great. No problem there. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Melissa M, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion. We really do appreciate the feedback. I am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent visit with us. Please know that we take these reviews very seriously and are constantly striving to improve. Again, thanks for the feedback. We hope you'll give us... More 

311 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 60 in Charleston
183 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: RM348 - RM742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the backside will avoid any possible traffic noise (which is not really an issue)”
 of 5 bubbles 124jesseh, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get to breakfast early. It does get busy if you wait until the last minute.”
 of 5 bubbles Samual0418, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet. First floor”
 of 5 bubbles kelleyr535, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“enjoyed the second floor with pool view”
 of 5 bubbles BillCarolK, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Back building is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanR541, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay