We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Quarters on King

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Quarters on King
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Quarters on King
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Luxury simplified. The entire process was seamless; and everything went as planned. Great location and excellent space! Would stay here again! I recommend this place 100 percent. Perfect for seeing the city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliebU7897OK
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Julie, We LOVE the title! Thanks for the review! We are all glad everything went so smoothly for you. Next time you are in town, give us a call and we will make sure it goes as planned again. All the best, Reid M.

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 23 January 2017

I will not be booking this hotel again. I was treated horribly by both the front desk clerk as well as the general manager. They charged my card and extra $150 that was not authorized and not valid only to have to reverse the charge. After reviewing the cameras they found that the information provided by another guest had no...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank warrenlatoya31
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Latoya, I want to sincerely apologize for our quick and rash reactions with the incident during your stay. We took the word of another concerned guest and did not do our due diligence before speaking with you. Myself and my staff should have had a more constructive conversation with you and your guests. Long story short, we messed up. We...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We loved the perfect location and the beautifully decorated apartment. The cleaning service was kind of poor and there could have been better loading/unloading options. Also the steep and narrow staircase with a twin stroller, two kids and all the luggage is a disadvantage.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MotherOfTwinsSC
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review! What we have in over sized rooms and location, we knowingly lack in exterior space and elevators. We do our absolute best to be available to all our guest in assisting them moving any items up and and down the stairs. I apologize if we did not communicate...

Raleigh
Reviewed 10 January 2017

My fiance and another couple were very pleased with the room on King St. We booked via AirBNB for 4 nights over New Years. The location was perfect - in the middle of King St (so there was plenty of dining and shopping), and while Charleston is not huge, we were still within a comfortable walking distance of everything we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O427PImeganl
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Megan, Everyone here at The Quarters on King thanks you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review. It is wonderful to read that you were able to not only take advantage of all the great amenities the property has to offer but also get out and explore this great city of ours! The rooms, and...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Room was very comfortable and spacious. Modern and clear. The building does not have an elevator though so it is a challenge to go up and down the stairs with your luggage, baby, stroller, etc. each day if you are on a higher floor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodGuru15
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write us such an excellent review! We know right after the holidays can be a busy time but we are thankful that you found space in your day to type a few lines about your experience. We know our rooms are some of the best in downtown Charleston but we are also very...

Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed in the 1 bedroom loft with a family of 4 and the space was great and was very clean. You can not get a better location as you're right on King Street in the middle of everything, with that being said our room faced King Street so we did hear the traffic and people but that was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne O
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Roxanne, Thank you for taking the time so soon after your stay to write a wonderful review! We put a lot of time and energy into the maintenance and cleanliness of our rooms. My staff and I are glad you noticed! The corner of King and Society is a prime location in Charleston and I am happy that you were...

Virginia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Affordable and comfortable set up for those feeling constrained by hotel living. Modern condo features with an open layout which was great for our family. Right on the heart of King Street. Staff is very welcoming and helpful, including carrying the bags up the stairs (if you are a new yorker you know the fun of carrying bags up a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RodSquatter
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Thank you so much for finding the time in your day to write us such a fantastic review! We honestly think our spacious property is one of the best deals in town and are very happy that you agree. Also, we climb the stairs enough to know that everyone needs a hand. I am glad our staff rose to the...

Hampton, New Jersey
Reviewed 30 December 2016

This is a great place to stay in Charleston. It is in a very convenient location on King Street; everything is within walking distance. The accommodations are very nice: spacious, comfortable, and very clean. Lots of room for the four of us. Can't say enough good things about this place. Much better than a hotel, with large kitchen and dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert451002
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Robert, I was ecstatic to read that you enjoyed your time with us! Our location and the spaciousness of our rooms is something we take great pride in and I am happy to read it meant so much to you. Keep us in mind next time you are in town! All the best, Reid

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Great location! It's central to king street and the market. It's also a short ride to the lower peninsula and the battery. Our suite was towards the back of the unit . Quiet spot. High end comfy decor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank diegocK4990XE
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Diego, Thanks for taking the time to write us a great review. Sounds like you had a fun time exploring all of downtown Charleston and were able to get around smoothly. Would love to be able to host you in the future at The Quarters on King! Have a great New Year, Reid Matthews General Manager

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 December 2016

What a gem!! Everything about my stay well exceeded my expectations from arrival to departure. You will not find a better place to stay in Charleston and believe me, I've stayed everywhere. Staff- Reid (The GM) was available to answer any questions or concerns I had prior and during my stay. He pointed out helpful tips on things to do...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zlam999
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

zlam999, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review of your trip at The Quarters on King. It gives me great pleasure to hear you enjoyed yourself very much here and took advantage of our location and all the amenities our suite has to offer! I'm glad Megan and myself were able to help with...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,732 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
2,686 reviews
The Restoration
#7 of 61 in Charleston
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 61 in Charleston
2,753 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Quarters on King provides the kind of privacy everyone expects and enjoys at home. More than hotel rooms, our one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens ensure no limit on personalizing the guest experience, going above and beyond what the typical hotel room offers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Quarters on King

Address: 292 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-1478
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: RM1,414 - RM3,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quarters on King 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quarters on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Quarters on King staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no elevator, so request second floor room unless a steep stair climb is what you want. See third floor stairs pictured below.”
  • Third floor stairs from front door
KateWheatRidge, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Perfect 2 couple pad (2 bedroom) with pull-out for kids. Book early!”
glendonl2017, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Watch that last step on the stairs, it is higher than you think.”
joannebX7660CG, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If stairs are a problem these units are not for you. ”
729janett, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Must be able to walk two flights of stairs.”
Grandma_2_Leo, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5