We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park
    1.1 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 9 April 2015
Nice Hotel With a Great View from the Restaurant...
The question for me was where to stay. I wanted to get the best... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

961 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
See the most recent reviews
Showing 918: English reviews
Sugar Grove, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 April 2015

This is probably the most disappointing hotel stay that I've had in decades of world-wide travel. My daughter and I were in Charleston for a few days of intensive wedding planning, and I really wanted this to be a lovely experience on what is likely our last mother-daughter trip before she's married. The front desk clerk assured me that we...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Bricca S
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

I apologize for your accommodations falling short from what should be standard. I can promise you we did not move you to the second room to punish you as it was the last vacant room in the hotel that night. We would never want someone to stay in a room from wet carpet after a plumbing issue from the room...

Durham
Reviewed 9 April 2015

The question for me was where to stay. I wanted to get the best bang for my buck. The Hotel where the conference was held was a bit above my budget, plus you had to pay for parking. Most of the other hotels in that area were about the same price or higher. So I consulted the Holiday Inn website....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kathieyv
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all the nice comments and look forward to hosting you again. Bob

Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 April 2015

I have always wanted to stay in this hotel since visiting Charleston. Unfortunately I was sadly dissapointed. The staff was very nice however the hotel itself was dated. One elevator was broken and the other took forever to stop, by the time it got to you it was most times full. We waited 20 minutes before taking stairs (bad knees...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sassysquatch17
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting Charleston. I apologize for the elevator being down and I'm happy to say the broken part was replaced by our service company and we are up & running. Bob

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Huz and I checked in March 23 and out five days later. Room 904 for $115 a nite through Priceline. It's an older property and round, so the rooms are a little weirdly shaped, but perfectly adequate. It's located close to downtown, but not walkable. Plenty of free car parking. A Waffle House is down the street, otherwise there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joansie51048
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I apologize for the elevator being down and for the delays in getting to & from your room. While there is no excuse for inconveniencing a guest the elevator part had to be ordered by the elevator service company and now is running properly. We hope to...

Lutz, Florida
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We stayed here 3 nights (Sun-Wed) and found it to be clean and well maintained for an older building. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They provide a shuttle to and from downtown Charleston that was very convenient. The top floor restaurant and bar have some great views of the city. The only issue during our stay was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest & for the 5 star review. I apologize for the inconvenience of one elevator being down but since has been repaired and working properly. Bob

Belleville, Illinois
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Stayed at this property for 2 nights. It was clean, quiet and had my basic standard of white bedding. Unfortunately, housing keeping didn't quite do their job by providing a bath mat and wash cloths the second day. The hotel offered a good, basic breakfast and the area was clean. And finally, the staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MelanieF416
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. While we make every effort to make everyone's stay perfect we fell short in housekeeping and I apologize for that. I will review your comments with my team. Thank you, Bob

Greensboro, NC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed here for a wedding weekend and paid over $200 per night. I believe there was some sort of festival in town so we did pay a premium rate, but the hotel is very much what you would expect for an $80 or $90 a night hotel. Room was very plain and marginally clean. No breakfast. One of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adam P
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I apologize for one of the elevators going out of service over the weekend. Please give Amanda a call at 843-556-7100 and she would be glad to assist you with the billing error. Thank you, Bob

Norcross, Georgia
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Wedding planning is always a headache, especially coordinating several rooms coming form all parts of the country but the AGM, Amanda made it so easy for me, I couldn't have done it without her. Not only did she make it easy, she went above and beyond to ensure a wonderful stay for all of my party. The restaurant staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sage H
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star review and all your kind comments on my Team. Your gracious comment on the Team being 5 star is very much appreciated and I will make sure all reads your review. We also hope to see you soon. Thank you, Bob

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 23 March 2015

This was my daughters spring break/touring of College of Charleston Masters program for the school of education. Once again money was tight and this trip was forced into my budget. I could not afford to stay in the area of the market street/waterfront/rainbow area,but this hotel was priced excellent and I was worried of why it was so much more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank msojones
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for making us your choice while visiting Charleston. It sounds like you and your daughter had a great time. All your comments are much appreciated and we really appreciate your 5 star review. We look forward to seeing you again, Bob

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 19 March 2015

The staff are extremely pleasant and accommodating. Amanda was very engaging and helpful and the shuttle bus drivers were very knowledgeable as well. When they would take us downtown, they would point out historical buildings and places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis B
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for making us your choice while in Charleston. Thank you for your nice comments on my Team as well as Amanda. We hope to see you again in the near future, Bob

636 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (337)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Double Queen View Room (35)
Viewed
King Suite (56)
Viewed
King View Room (41)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
4.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
1,039 reviews
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
6.4 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: RM423 - RM1,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“9th or 10th floor facing the harbor”
 of 5 bubbles reginaldharper533, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher the level, the better the view”
 of 5 bubbles southaussie05, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I'm sure the higher up on the floors - the better the view of the Ashley River,”
 of 5 bubbles puppydogeyessc, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It is worthwhile to request a room with a view of the city, they are spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles ScouterPaul, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room to view the river front”
 of 5 bubbles dawnsJ7524QR, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5