We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Florence Inns & Suites

Booking.comUS$64*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Florence Inns & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Florence Inns & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 124: English reviews
Almonte, Canada
Reviewed 25 May 2016

We requested a non-smoking room and when we got to it, we were met with the odour of smoke that had permeated everything, even though there was an air freshener that was trying to mask it. We mentioned it to the desk clerk and she said she thought it was because the adjoining room was a smoking one and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SherraleeG
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience of your room smelling like smoke and the desk clerk you spoke with was correct in telling you that smell was coming from the smoking room next door. However, she was wrong for not offering to move you to another...

Milford, Ct 06460
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Room smelled awful, while looking for a plug noticed trash & thick dust behind furniture , rugs are disgusting. Breakfast was subpar , attendant used bare hands handling food, bed was comfortable though. We would have left if we had not just driven 12 hours. Not worth the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank koolbreeze81
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. I truly sorry that you had a less than pleasant stay with us, and I will personally see to it that all the issues you mentioned will be taken care of promptly. I hope this does not deter you from staying with us again as we try...

Greentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

I almost slept in the car.We opened the door to room 110 and the first thing that smacked us in the face was the aroma of cat urine and cigarette smoke disquised by a very strong smelling deodorizer.The rug was dirty and stained and the bathroom was beyond help,didn't even shower there.I slept in my clothes on top of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy B
Abingdon, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere! After a long drive and being backed up for hours in traffic, we decided to call it quites for the night. The only place in Florence with rooms was this hotel. Now I know why! There was no heat in the room. It was 34° outside and we had not heat. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very sorry you had an unpleasant experience with your stay and I have already looked into the issues you mentioned and they were taken care of. With feedback from our guest, we are able to improve in the areas needed the most and we know...

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 25 January 2016

If you are looking for a clean, pet friendly motel, I'd recommend a stay here. There is more than ample space to walk your dog about 20 steps off the lower level rooms. I found the bedding to be extremely clean & comfortable. The shower had a lot of water pressure and was very clean. The small in room coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d0nnas309
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay and invite you to stay with us again on your next trip through the Florence area. Again, thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Orangeburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

We first stopped in Florence on December 30, 2015. As we began calling around for rates Jacqueline caught my attention by telling me that she could work with me in the rate. We went to Florence Inns & Suites and were treated wonderfully by Jacqueline. We noticed a slight odor in the room and called Jacqueline as we went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charrob1
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for such kind words for our front desk staff. We work hard to make each and every one of our guests feel welcomed and I am happy you were pleased with our service. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Boston
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Room 213, smelled like cigarette smoke ( non smoking room) and pet odor. Filthy and not clean. Ashes and rubbish under bed. Walls and ceiling stained. Cigarette burn holes on bedspread, shower and toilet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I don't know the circumstances of your check-in but I did notice that you were traveling with a pet. The room you were given (213) is a pet room as well as a smoking room. If you asked for a non-smoking room, then of course you should...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

Jacqueline, from FI&S was so helpful in directing us to their location and getting us the best overnight deal! The room was cozy, clean and easy to get to....truly a non-smoking room. We even had a free continental breakfast to boot! Such a nice staff 😀 Great job Florence Inns & Suites!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JWade58
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that Jacqueline was such a great help to you. All of our front desk staff are very helpful and courteous to every guest that comes through our doors. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Maryland
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Stayed here at last resort, since other hotels off I95 were booked. It was ok.. Friendly check in lady...clean room, but bathroom needed major updating. Tub was extremely worn and looked dirty, but wasn't. Beds weren't that comfortable, odd shaped rounded pillows and cheap bedspread. Continental breakfast was opened containers of donuts, a bag of bagels, loaves of bread for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlishasHubby
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Although it is very hard to meet each and every individuals expectations, that is exactly what we try to do. Your feedback helps us by showing us our strong points and where we need to improve. I am truly sorry we didn't meet your expectations and I...

Halifax, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 November 2015

We need a hotel that accepts our dogs and we appreciate Florence Inn doing this for us. Since we stay in rooms that generally have pets, our review must take that in to consideration. The beds are comfortable. The staff is quite friendly and accommodating. Our only complaint is with the odor from whatever is sprayed or dusted on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy S

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
4.9 km away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
4.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
10.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#18 of 41 in Florence
353 reviews
10.2 km away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#31 of 41 in Florence
201 reviews
10.6 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 41 in Florence
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Florence Inns & Suites

Address: 3821 Bancroft Rd, I-95 Exit 157, Florence, SC 29501-8041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Price Range: RM299 - RM321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Florence Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Florence Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence Hotel Florence
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites Florence
Howard Johnson Florence
Florence Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Florence Inns & Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Florence Inns & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, hairdryer, flat screen TV, convenient to I-95.”
131lisamariek, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay far away.”
goosie43, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“extremely close to I95, gasoline and fast food”
donnasZ1170OS, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Two story - no elevator”
Bar2nL, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check the room before you decide to stay if you request a non-smoking room.”
SherraleeG, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$64* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$64
PricelineUS$64
Hotwire.comUS$64
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates