We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MainStay Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MainStay Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for MainStay Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
Bernville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Picked this hotel because they had smoking rooms and a great deal for military. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite. Housekeeping was okay for the general things but did not pay attention to the details. Maintenance issues were not addressed properly, but hotel in now aware of them. Rooms are a little dated, but overall was a great...

Thank Deborah J B
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear JB, Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites by Choice Hotels. We appreciated you mentioning our Front Desk team, and delighted that they provided "Wow" service. We apologize that you experienced maintenance issues during your stay. Despite our best efforts to make sure that everything is in good working order, sometimes, things break. Again, we apologize and do...

Falling Waters, West Virginia
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Pros: Great Location- near stores, great guest services, easy drive to Isle of Palms beaches and Charleston Cons: the bathrooms were a little dirty and the AC is only in the living area of the suite. Bedrooms have fans. Not good in SC heat. Anyone sleeping on the sofa bed has to freeze for people in rooms to be comfortable.

Thank Kellie A
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kellie, Many thanks for being our guest at the Mainstay Suites. We appreciated you noting our close proximity to the beaches at Isle of Palms. Mainstay is starting some bathroom updates. We realize that wear can appear as a cleanliness issue, so we are addressing this. Hope to see you back in the Low Country very soon. Fall is...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We love Charleston and the surrounding areas of Mount Pleasant, Sullivan's Island and Isle of Palms. This hotel is located in a great spot close to everything. They provide an excellent complimentary breakfast and best of all, their rooms are immaculate. This is my first choice when it comes to staying at a hotel.

Thank Sandra T
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear SandraT, Thank you for being a repeat guest of the Mainstay Suites by Choice Hotels. We appreciate your business! Thank you for mentioning our great location and clean rooms. Hope to see you soon.

Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We checked into this room, and then checked right back out! My children started sneezing as soon as we walked in the room. The carpets looked filthy, and had not even been vacuumed in quite some time. The bathrooms were nasty! I would never let my children stay in a place so dirty! The lady at the front desk was...

1Thank Holly C
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear HollyC, Thank you for noting our friendly front desk associate at the Mainstay Suites. Despite our very best efforts, sometimes, errors are made and a room gets checked back into the system, before it has been completely cleaned and inspected. We regret your inconvenience.

Simpsonville, South Carolina
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The location is great and the staff was friendly. The playpen we used on the other hand was foul. I know it was complimentary and it's weird to complain about free stuff but...yikes. I think it had some kind of cigarette burn holes in it or something. The room had a bit of a smell and the pool was dirty....

Thank Eric C
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Eric C, Thank you for staying at the Mainstay. While most hotels have eliminated offering these items, we have continued to try to offer them as a service. Upon reading your review, we have checked the condition of the travel cribs. We apologize that the courtesy travel crib and pool did not meet your expectation, but do hope that...

Massapequa, New York
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here as suggested by the visitors center. The hotel is just over the Arthur Ravenel bridge, just minutes from downtown Charleston. Room was clean, we ended up with a two bedroom suite with two bathrooms, which was great for the 5 of us. Breakfast was basic but good. Bagels, oatmeal, yogurt, OJ, coffee, etc. The 4th star is...

1Thank Richard N
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear RichardN, We hope that your son is feeling much better. We wanted to thank you for staying at the Mainstay and for taking the time to write a review. It was very rewarding to the staff to read your kind comments. We hope to see you back in beautiful, historic Charleston very soon.

Storrs, Connecticut
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We chose this Hotel because it has "suites". The so called suite was half the size of a regular hotel room. The place was filthy. Carpeting was dirty, hair on the blankets, hair in the tub, stains on the pullout mattress, hallway carpeting dirty and elevator had garbage in it. When the sofa bed was pulled out it almost touched...

3Thank Jill P
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Jill P, We apologize that you were dissatisfied with Mainstay Suites' room size. While it is unusual for the hotel to receive cleanliness complaints, please know that we address these seriously. We appreciated you noting the refund issue with Hotels.com. This is a good reminder to other guests than when you book through an online travel site such as...

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Wow. Surprised is the best way to describe the stay- everything was clean and neat from the lobby all the way to the room. We stayed in the two bedroom two bath suite which was awesome , pool area was clean and maintained , breakfast was decent. LOCATION IS THE KEY!!! Only a 15 min ride to isle of Palm...

2Thank FrankieVols
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear FrankieVols, Thank you for staying at Mainstay Suites. We appreciated the opportunity to earn your business. We're glad that you enjoyed your vacation and the hotel, and really hope to see you again real soon. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When you stay at a hotel for weeks at a time, due to a family member having surgery at MUSC you really see what goes on at the hotel. So yes, MainStay is a "MustStay". The staff and management (a special thank you to Amy!!) are top notch, always willing to help any way they can. We made many trips...

3Thank KgS01
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear KGS01, Thank you for taking the time to write an insightful review of Mainstay Suites. Also, what a GREAT title! We appreciate all of our guests, but find that we develop an extra special appreciation for our MUSC guests who are usually staying with us during difficult illness circumstances. On behalf of the entire Mainstay Suites team, we're sending...

Fort Hood, Texas
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I are military and stay here everytime we visit Charleston. We would give this hotel and its staff 6 stars if we could! The staff is extremely friendly and accommodates us with whatever we need. The location is the second best part! Within walking distance you'll find plenty to do at Patriots Point or Waterfront Park, especially...

1Thank Haley M
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear HaleyM, Of behalf of the entire staff at Mainstay Suites, we would like to thank you and your family for your service to our country. We appreciate that you are a repeat guest of Mainstay Suites. We look forward to seeing you back in beautiful Mount Pleasant, SC very soon!

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (43)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
View from Room (1)
Bathroom (8)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Room/Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (23)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 km away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#19 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
270 reviews
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#15 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
233 reviews
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Mt. Pleasant
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#21 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#20 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
350 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
BEST WESTERN Patriots Point
#17 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
625 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 400 Magrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2971
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Price Range: RM497 - RM880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mainstay Suites Mount Pleasant
Main Stay Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MainStay Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from MainStay Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You might get a view of the swamp if you stay on the back side.”
MLPerry, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on 3rd floor so no one was above us and the Halls were quiet at night.”
wvtravelman, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the laundry. The view of the back of the property is best.”
queenbeeizme, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We were on the bottom floor at the back and it was very quiet even with a busy street behind us.”
teknoge3k, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“My room overlooked the pond. At night the frogs and whatnot in the pond were signing away. They were loud! But a nice kind of music I guess”
elizabethb527, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5