We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

Beach Colony Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beach Colony Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,642 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beach Colony Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,641: English reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Room was clean but run down and outdated! $1756.00 for a 7 day stay was way too much for just a room with kitchenette. View from balcony of the beach was beautiful but not worth $1756.00! Parking was a nightmare! Front desk personnel was rude. House keeping staff was friendly and did a good job. I would never stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert M
Carey B, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review

Dear Robert M, I am very disappointed to hear that your stay was anything less than exceptional. I would appreciate if you could give me a call at your earliest convenience so that I can have the opportunity to address some of the issues that you faced. Our staff is usually very accommodating and I am sorry to hear that...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Checking in to Beach Colony Resort was hectic. It did not seem as if they were very organized. One couple was told they were moved to a hotel down the street, another person went from an ocean front to a 2 bedroom side room and they were not happy. When we walked into our room #503 the view was great...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Pat P
Carey B, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pat P, We are very sorry to see that your stay was not a great one and that you were left with the impression that we were understaffed and unable to take care of our guests. I can assure you that this is not the case and do wish that you would give us another chance to take care...

Northern Virginia, Virginia
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Does not look anything like the online pictures....currently on my first night staying here and I have been looking for another place to stay if I can get out of this place and not lose my money. Have an oceanfront room which is wonderful. So far, that is the only good point. The furniture and bedding are outdated - nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Darlene F
Carey B, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review

Dear Darlene F, I am sorry to hear that your experience and the resort were not what you were hoping for. I can only hope that we were able to address some of the issues you expressed here at the beginning of your stay. Even though the units are individually owned, that is no excuse for the missed maintenance items...

Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

First and last time staying here. Room not set up the way I was told it would be when booked. Turns out the paying adults had to sleep on pull out sofa and kids had the bedroom with the bed. Refrigerator wasn't working properly and yes it was turned all the way up on highest cool setting yet after placing...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Renee H
Carey B, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review

Dear Renee H, Thank you for letting us know about your recent things and the areas that we dropped the ball. I do want to assure that you that maintenance issues you faced with your fridge and housekeeping service overlooked are the not the typical experience of Beach Colony. I do hope that you will give us another chance to...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I will start at the beginning and just list the issues at this property. When we arrived, the check in process was a good indicator of what was to come. While the pictures looked nice online and we had reserved an ocean front condo, the reality was much different. We did have an oceanfront, but this is the only nice...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank MaryM2302015
Carey B, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review

MaryM2302015, We are certainly very disappointed to see that you were not satisfied with your stay with us and do ask that you please give us a call to speak to management in regards to anything that left a sour taste for you, so that we can get it rectified and do everything that we can to improve our guest...

New Castle, Delaware, United States
Reviewed 19 July 2015

All I am going to say is believe the reviews. My son and his basketball team stayed here for a basketball tournament. My son had to change rooms because there were roaches in his room. Yes they did change his room and refund me half the day but I am sorry I can't recommend a place with bugs. They should...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Letisha B
Carey B, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review

Dear Letisha B, I am so sorry to hear that this was your experience with Beach Colony and I can assure you that it is not a normal one. We do very regular pest control treatments all year long to ensure that our guests do not have these issues. Please contact me directly if there is anything that I can...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I was a little hesitant to book this hotel after reading some of the reviews. We were only staying for 3 nights and this is one of the few hotels directly on the beach that didn't have a minimum night requirement and had rooms large enough for our family needs. The first room we were given definitely lived up to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jennifer n
Carey B, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer N, Thank you for sharing both the good and the bad. We know that the individually owned units can be a bit tricky but I am glad to hear that our fantastic staff was able to turn the vacation around a bit for you. Every guest comment gives us the opportunity to learn and improve, so thank you...

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Great location. Great staff. Wonderful for families with children. Not a crowded beach. Nice place if you want a relaxing and quiet vacation. Not in walking distance to restaurants but just a short drive from all attractions! Watched a beautiful wedding on the lawn while we were there. Perfect end to a perfect day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beachmomof1
Carey B, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review

Dear beachmomof1, Thank you so much for the kind words, we truly appreciate you sharing. We have to agree that our location provides the perfect location for a relaxing beach vacation, but still gives you all the opportunities for fun and entertainment. We hope to host you and yours on your next trip to the Myrtle Beach area. Best Wishes,...

Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewed 15 July 2015

day 1-beautiful view,no problems Day 2-Busted water pipe had to move to another room,after unpacking everything yesterday.No help or apology.New key to new room wrong and walked in on other guests in their room Day 3-No AC temp 94 offered fans,no apology.Per maintenance man"it happens all the time in a property this old" day 4-worst elevator service on grand strand...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan L
Carey B, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review

Dear Susan L, I can't apologize enough for some of the issues that occurred during your visit. While some of these items were out of our control, I am sorry that you felt that we were unconcerned with the inconveniences that you faced. I assure you that it is quite the opposite and I would really like to discuss these...

Jarrettsville
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We booked a single room while the friends we were traveling with (9 people) booked a three-bedroom unit. Things did not start off well. We arrived on a Friday and were able to get into our room early, but Friday is a BUSY day with lots of check-ins/outs. We were asked the height of our vehicle, and due to it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dp7197
Carey B, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review

Dear dp7197, We are extremely sorry and disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your recent stay with us. The building is a bit older but we like to think that it adds a bit of character and we work hard to keep it well maintained and provide constant updates. Once again we are sorry that you didn't...

1,152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (594)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (204)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (535)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
Ocean Front Efficiency Guest Suite (41)
Viewed
Ocean Front King Efficiency Suite (37)
Viewed
Ocean Front King Executive Suite (36)
Viewed
Ocean Front Three Bedroom (75)
Viewed
Ocean Front Two Bedroom (96)
Viewed
Ocean View Penthouse (71)
Viewed
Ocean View Studio (27)
Viewed
Ocean View Two Bedroom (65)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Ocean Cafe
Ocean Cafe
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Beach Colony Resort

Address: 5308 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2537
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: RM458 - RM1,462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Colony Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beach Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Colony Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Hotel In Myrtle Beach Sc
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beach Colony Resort staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Wake Forest, North Carolina

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Beach Colony Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you have all contracts in writing and hopefully you have another manager on duty.”
RobertW787, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean Front.”
alvaroh683, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“make sure oceanfront represents oceanfront, not angle ocean view, request floor with direct walkway to parking deck, request remodeled room”
684jenm, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Oceanfront Only”
az2ret, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a balcony.”
S4364SAjohnb, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5