We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,368: English reviews
Start your review of Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was nervous because their were some bad reviews and the place was under construction. But it was perfect and absolutely beautiful view of the ocean. So many amenties, outdoor pools indoor pools, hot tubs, sun deck, bar. It is a bit of an exaggeration to say they have a huge inside water park. But it is cute 3 slides...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I booked this resort with aquarium tickets the weekend of March 10th, which was also my mom's birthday. One of only 2 pros was that our room was right in front of the elevator which was convenient for my grandma. We traveled with 3 adults and three kids ages 6-6 months. The only other pro was the staff at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha D
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Resort to me means full service, this place service is very lacking. Under construction I can understand, but I would think they would try to make up for it on the service side. King suite ocean view was nice, kids enjoyed heated Pools and slides. Steer clear of "Loco Gecko" food bad service worse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ekuhl
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

ekuhl, Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences that you and your family endured while staying at the resort. Please afford me the opportunity to make the situation right. Contact me here at the resort so that we may discuss your next trip to the beach. Respectfully, Jason H Front Office Manager

Wendell, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I would advise you not to waste your money on this hotel. There is way to much construction going on in which woke us up early both mornings we were there. The room was a dump, the fire alarm didn't work that went off twice during out stay causing an evacuation at midnight one night. The sink sprayed out water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sholm03
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

sholm03, Thank you so much for your comments. I apologize for the inconveniences you and your family endured while you were with us. We did receive some damage from the hurricane that came through in October. Currently we are undergoing renovations and, we hope to completed here very soon. It is important to us to make sure every stay is...

Summerville, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked a room at your resort for this past weekend March 24 through 26th to attend the 2nd Annual Scottish Games in Myrtle Beach. I was met by a very pleasant staff. The room was wonderful, however, the location ended up becoming a nightmare. We were given room 101 in Tower One. The room is across from an elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank draydevn
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

draydevn, Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. I would like to start with a sincere apology for the experiences you and your family endured over the weekend. We have welcomed fraternities and sororities multiple times in the past without incident. The fraternity that spent some time with us this past weekend was a first time group here...

Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The first day was great, second night we came back there was absolutely no parking, cars without plackards everywhere. Woke up asked for some extra towels & wash rags because the house keeping did not even bother to come into our room that day, they advised they'd send them right over. After an hour of waiting for them we just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmberB5488
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

AmberB5488, Thank you for your comments and feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences that you and your family endured while staying with us. This past weekend is not typical of how things function or operate at the Crown Reef. Please reach out to me here at the resort so that I may make things right. Thanking you in advance and...

Greeneville
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We didn't have hot water either day we were there. Also the fire alarm was set off both days. Once at 11pm. Not very fun for our child. Also when we booked we were not informed that the pools were under construction so not only did we not get to use the pools but had to listen to grinding and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chadr271
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

chadr271, Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences that you and your family endured while staying at the resort. Please afford me the opportunity to make the situation right. Contact me here at the resort so that we may discuss your next trip to the beach. Respectfully, Jason H Front Office Manager

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stay at the Crown Reef Resort for a week with our kids every summer for the last 5 summers. This past weekend we went to Crown Reef without the kids for a relaxing weekend at the beach. Unfortunately, Crown Reef had some very loud and disruptive college kids staying there who pretty much ruined our weekend. They were loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Mrs Liz C, Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. I would like to start with a sincere apology for the experiences you and your family endured over the weekend. We have welcomed fraternities and sororities multiple times in the past without incident. The fraternity that spent some time with us this past weekend was a first time...

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had a serious knee injury a week before my trip but had OK from doctor to go since I paid for airfare and would lose out. The staff was great: Wayne, director of guest services personally drove me from check-in to my room. Brent of guest services did follow-up and noted that my friend arrived on a later flight...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cynthia K
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Mrs. Cynthia K, Thank you so much for your feedback. We strive to make every guests experience a memorable one. We thank you for your positive comments and will certainly share the kind words with all of the staff you have mentioned. Respectfully, Jason H Front Office Manager

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Although the weather wasn't very spring like we found plenty to do. The rooms were sufficient, it was nice to have a kitchenette so you didn't have to eat every meal out. There was some construction but there were still pleanty of pools open. We enjoyed the water slides. Every room has an ocean view.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tsg8tor
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

tsg8tor, Thank you so much for your feedback. We strive to make every guests experience a memorable one. I do apologize for the construction, as we are still recovering from the hurricane. We should be operating at regular capacity here very soon. If you guys enjoyed your stay with us this time, you will definitely enjoy your next visit. Respectfully,...

1,040 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (541)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (257)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (67)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Efficiency Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Jacuzzi Suite (61)
Viewed
Oceanfront Queen Efficiency Room (46)
Viewed
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite (50)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (53)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
7.2 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,951 reviews
12.6 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#37 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,333 reviews
12.5 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,882 reviews
2.5 km away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#93 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,204 reviews
2.6 km away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark is home to 514 newly refreshed guest rooms and suites as well as a year-round, four-story tall oceanfront waterpark featuring two 38-foot tall slides, a kiddie slide, silly sub and more. A true family vacation destination, Crown Reef features many additional water features including oceanfront pools, spas, fountains, and the longest oceanfront lazy river on the Grand Strand at 575 feet. Other amenities include Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak, Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop, arcade, spacious conference center, free WiFi, summer activities and an on-site golf department. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark

Address: 2918 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4854 (Formerly Crown Reef at South Beach Resort)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: RM477 - RM1,633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Crown Reef
The Crown Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
Crown Reef Resort South Carolina
Crown Reef Resort s Beach Myrtle Beach
Crown Reef s Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark staff and other travellers.
71 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (71)

Questions? Get answers from Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles CynthiaK393, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms have less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles tsg8tor, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Each room has a view of ocean with a balcony. We were on 10 th floor and it was a beautiful view. There are3 towers with ample parking.”
 of 5 bubbles Sandra2066, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles jcb2091, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“These rooms need a remodel to upgrade to pay the fees that we paid during off season for the room we received was rediculous. ”
 of 5 bubbles mrswatts00, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5