We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Affordable Family Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Affordable Family Resort
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Affordable Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

This is a terrible motel: dirty, dingy, overpriced for what you get and scary! The carpets are all stained and filthy, which causes a bad odor. The rooms are big but unkept - cobwebs, dirty doors with stains on them. No fire sprinklers. I witnessed them reissuing a room key to someone without checking ID. This place needs to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melytol
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

My goodness what a fun stay. My son and I spent a few nights at the AFR and loved every minute. The staff was phenomenal. Christina and several other members made sure we had everything we needed and the room/kitchen was fantastic. I will definitely stay here when I return. Pool was great, beach is directly across the street, food...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Rickey T
Reviewed 17 July 2015

This place have ROACHES!!!!!! The room was ok but it smelled. I was in the room for bout an hour before the roaches started coming out. I went to management and got a full refund. They need to close this place down and upgrade it. It was $119 a night and it should be $20

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank shantell t
Lenoir, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Yes, the motel needs a fresh coat of paint and needs to invest in a leaf blower for the steps and sidewalks, but my room was clean and well stocked. I never saw the first roach. My air conditioning went out mid week and was replaced with a brand new one within an hour. For the price, I cannot complain....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Angi C
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your suggestions. We are planning some upgrades for the off season and hope you will be back to stay with us again.

Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed the week of the 5th of July 2015!! The cottage 502 wahoo I stayed in had ROACHES!!!!! I went to management staff about the problem and stated that I wanted my money back for the inconvenience, or to be moved to another cottage. I was told by management that they would only refund the money for the five...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Trish M
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Guests had a reservation for 4 people in a "double ste". The confirmation they were sent stated 2 double beds, 1 bath, and kitchen, our least expensive room. When they arrived they were not satisfied, because it did not have a sleeper sofa. They decided to upgrade to a 2 bedroom cottage after going to look at the cottage instead...

Reviewed 7 July 2015

This place is worse than a trailer park. It makes Motel 8 seem like a 5 star hotel. I stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. It was the only hotel that had a vacancy, and I know why now. The price is too high for this place. It should be $15 per night, instead of $200+. I first...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Ladrika W
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

This place is so disgusting, it needs a major cleaning and update. The rooms are filthy, the refrigerator door handles are black from never being cleaned, everything looks like a cheap motel from the carpet to the thin bed sheets and comforters. The pools and walkways and lounge chairs are filthy. The water slides look old and like they aren't...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Realreviewer12
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

My 3 children and I loved the place we will definitely return for another visit we really enjoyed the room an the accommodations. was an older motel but it worked perfect for me and my family.thank you to the staff for being so friendly and helping us with all of our needs we really enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Devra W
Reviewed 1 July 2015

This was horrible! This was the worst place I have ever stayed in. The walls looked like food had been tossed on them and had never been cleaned. The floors were disgusting they were supposed to be tan carpeting but instead the were grey. The room stunk! It smelled like wet dog. The beds were dirty. I would not recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renee W
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

This is horrible service we need to cancel the room due to not being able to go because of an emergency and they refuse to return the deposit. I will never again go to this place. So rude I cannot believe it

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth W

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#150 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
476 reviews
4.9 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
663 reviews
0.6 km away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#97 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
0.4 km away
Vancouver Motel
Vancouver Motel
#53 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everything located on one city block between 23rd Ave South and 24th Ave South. Now even closer drive to Airport since the extension of Harrelson Blvd. Less than 2 miles from Myrtle Beach Internation Airport. Just accross street from ocean with serval condos we manage in the building in front of us. We check and inspect all complaints. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Affordable Family Resort

Address: 2300 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4745 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: RM231 - RM764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Affordable Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Affordable Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Family Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Affordable Family Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Affordable Family Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bad beds, dirty pool area, good room lay out, private balcony”
 of 5 bubbles joanr639, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this”
 of 5 bubbles 153shantellt, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Check your room before you pay to make sure you are satisfied.”
 of 5 bubbles 757angic, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“No rooms are good here”
 of 5 bubbles ladrikaw, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Choose another place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 367reneew, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay