We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Affordable Family Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Affordable Family Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Affordable Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My family & I have stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years & will continue to stay there for each & every future visit. The staff is friendly & amazing. The rooms are clean, spacious & affordable. No it doesn't have all the luxuries of the bigger resorts, but that isn't what we go to the beach for....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Shannon R
AFRadmin, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for that review, We are happy to have you come stay with us. I have just posted some new promo codes for our new online booking. save 5 to 10 per night by using promo codes june14, july14, or august14.

Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed last weekend 4/12-4/13 and we have stayed at this motel in the past. It was bad, carpets were dirty,took a shower walked from the bathroom to the bed and my feet were black from dirt, beds were awful, towels felt like sand paper. TV was fuzzy. It was noisy. Wont be back.

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Wanda L
AFRadmin, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Sorry your stay was not satisfactory. I looked in the history and the only room that match was on the first floor. One of our Double suites. We have our subcontractors once a month check the our washers to make sure the are dispensing the correct amount of fabric softener. I hope this resolved that issue. Here are some promo...

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The location is great and the grounds (picnic area, slides, pool) are nice. But...the rooms are VERY dirty. We used to stay here every year as a big family get-together but every year the place just gets dirtier and dirtier. This last time, after getting ate up with bed bugs , I decided to never stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Jerzy6546
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Own December 9th of 2013. We made contact with this reviewer via Tripadvisor and on December 31th we have not received a response. We asked the reviewer to provide us with information on their stay so we could investigate the matter. Keep in mind the review was not posted until 3 months after the stay. When I checked with the...

Reviewed 23 September 2013

My church family and I stays every October and we never have any complaints. . The staff is friendly and respectful..I love this hotel. We never had a problem with bugs. The pruce is affordable and the rooms are clean

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank fluffy1972
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you post on Tripadvisor and we wish you a very Happy New Year. We at Affordable Family Resort are focused on customer retention. Please fill free to call and speak to the new General Manager with any issues or positive comments.

Plumtree, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The staff was very nice. Our room was nice for the amount we paid. Alot of budget hotels are terrible but this one is doable. If your looking for fancy this one isn't for you but if your looking for something decent and spacious on a budget this one can't be beat.....it could use so e updates but nothing like...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Chris N Amanda N
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you post on Tripadvisor and we wish you a very Happy New Year. We at Affordable Family Resort are focused on customer retention. Please fill free to call and speak to the new General Manager with any issues or positive comments.

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel almost made our family vacation a nightmare. They advertise "large and clean suites" but this is far from the truth. We arrived to a VERY DATED cottage, but the large space was great so we decided to make due. However upon pulling the sheets back to the beds we discovered dirty stained sheets and covers with hair on...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Ld S
Steven J, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

The "Little old lady" Is the owner. We did check the room after guest stayed check-in at 2:45 pm on 8-7-13 and first complaint was at around 1:00am 8-8-13. refunded at 6:07am the next morning. Did not leave until 4:48am per their words on the 8-8-13. Here are notes from the night shift: "At approximately 12:40am I got a call...

Albemarle, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in room 210 and it was in great condition. There were 2 full/double beds and one queen bed. We had 4 adults and 1 child. Kinda outdated, but not important to us. Also, they are pet friendly rooms, which was very nice! Also, there are entrances to the beach on either side of the hotel; we used the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SouthernPurple85
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you post on Tripadvisor and we wish you a very Happy New Year. We at Affordable Family Resort are focused on customer retention. Please fill free to call and speak to the new General Manager with any issues or positive comments.

Johnson City, Tennessee
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The bathroom tile was chipped up and it smelled like pee. The stove was rusting on the bottom and so was the fridge. The vent was falling out of the air conditioning over my head. The back room smelled like vinegar. The TVs were small and snowy. The toilet had rust in it. Management was rude when we asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ladean29
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

If you don't read any other post please read this one. This place is not a resort by any means. I was kick out of the hotel on my daughters birthday. The office staff had no consideration or sympathy. My daughter had her cousins come by to bring gifts for her birthday...her aunt came by after a long 12 hour...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chicolove1
Steven J, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Yes. I remember these guest very well. I got called in because a unregistered car ran over our back parking lot sign. It had been in place since end of May and no one else ran into. We had to replace it. We had neighbors wittiness it and I found the car. 2 hours no one claim the car till...

Reviewed 21 July 2013

It's not a resort in terms of luxuriousness but for the price you get what ou pay for. I was very nervous to stay there after reading the bed bug review but upon checking in I asked if I could see the room first. The lady didn't seem to mind at all and was polite and friendly. The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monluc11

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
480 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.3 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#124 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Wave Rider Resort
Wave Rider Resort
#151 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
172 reviews
0.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
0.4 km away
Vancouver Motel
Vancouver Motel
#56 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everything located on one city block between 23rd Ave South and 24th Ave South. Now even closer drive to Airport since the extension of Harrelson Blvd. Less than 2 miles from Myrtle Beach Internation Airport. Just accross street from ocean with serval condos we manage in the building in front of us. We check and inspect all complaints. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Affordable Family Resort

Address: 2300 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4745 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: RM257 - RM780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Affordable Family Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Affordable Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Family Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Affordable Family Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Affordable Family Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bad beds, dirty pool area, good room lay out, private balcony”
 of 5 bubbles joanr639, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this”
 of 5 bubbles 153shantellt, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Check your room before you pay to make sure you are satisfied.”
 of 5 bubbles 757angic, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“No rooms are good here”
 of 5 bubbles ladrikaw, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Choose another place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 367reneew, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5