We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

Sands Ocean Club Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sands Ocean Club Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

917 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 915: English reviews
Start your review of Sands Ocean Club Resort
 Click to rate
Roanoke, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at SOC Thursday thru Sunday. Rate was great. Room ok with twin double beds, fridge, microwave, two burner range, and coffee maker. Room not real clean. Carpet had numerous stains. Dirt present along base boards, corners. Room safe old and did not work. Room only made up on Saturday. Sixth floor views of beach. Restaurants on first floor along...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ejm99
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sands Ocean Club for your golf destination resort. We would like to apologize if the room was not to your liking. We strive to make sure all our guests are happy and comfortable. We do hope you alerted the front desk. We truly appreciate the feedback and look forward to hosting you and the golf crew...

Fredericton, New Brunswick
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location and was easy to find. Near the best amenities. Ample parking and wonderful staff! Great indoor pool, laundry facility and gym. Nice and quiet. Beautiful beach. Recommend! Will definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicheleR04
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - we appreciate the feedback as it is very important to us. Looks like you had a wonderful times and enjoyed all the amenities available at the Ocean Club. We look forward to your return!

Lynchburg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Entire hotel is showing it's age. Very small fitness room. Never got to use the treadmill some lady hogged it for hours. I walked up to the pier and back she was still on it, I suppose she thought no one else wanted to use it. The room was really in desperate need of renovating. Old, stained, ripped carpets, old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grand1223
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, it is very important to us. We apologize for what seems to be a guest room in need of upgrading. It is possible that perhaps you stayed in a privately owned unit, especially if you are listing these extensive issues. In this case we would not have access to the room for maintenance and or...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect for a family or couples weekend getaway. I liked going to Ocean Annie's it is always busy and has nightly entertainment. Outside, the pool bar has drinks by the pitcher and live bands during the day. I enjoyed it so much I stayed an extra day and the management comped my night. The rooms are condo's and some are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sands Ocean Club and thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as all the amenities offered while on property. Your feedback is very important to our staff, and we thank you. Look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I have been staying at the sands resort for the last 9 years and always have a good stay. This year there was construction going on in one building so we got moved to a nice ocean view condo unit. There is a good restaurant and they have a bar with free food for happy hour. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

We at Sands Ocean club would first like to thank you for your loyalty. We are thrilled to know that you find the Ocean Club, your home away from home while visiting Myrtle Beach. We do apologize for the construction as we make improvements for our guests, and are happy to know our staff took care of you during your...

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

It was OK nothing fancy. Our room was not the renovated one. I'm sure those are more. The indoor pool and hot tub could stay open later then they are. The outside is awesome we loved that band and bar at ocean annies. The lazy pool thing was just okay. The hotel looks old and in need of repairs. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amie D
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your vacation experience with us. Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing Sands Ocean Club. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have the time you expected. Wish we would have know it was a celebration. We would certainly have made your stay more fun and exciting. We...

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We visted for a event. Floors were sticky like a old movie theater. Dance floor was so tacky your shoes were sticking. I heard there was a frat party the night before. Not impressed. Kids had a good time otherwise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie N
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear about the 'sticky floors' and would like more info on exactly where this occured on property. We did host our Annual Special Olympics Polar Plunge event last weekend with many families and children. As always we appreciate you staying with us and sharing your feedback....

Mooresville, NC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We do a girl trip every year in Sept and I go other times throughout the summer... we always have the best time...rooms are clean, but who spends time in the room...staff is exceptional, they go above and beyond for guests. I love the Spa...Tina is the best...Cute lil shop that offers gifts, cloths, etc... We love Ocean Annie's (outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank better329
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review - we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoy your special 'getaway' time while at the Ocean Club. We certainly appreciate the loyalty and are always happy to have you. We will share your comments with our staff. Feedback is very important to us and we again thank you...

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

This resort was alright. Since we went during the off season, the River City Cafe and Ocean Annie's were closed. The room we stayed in (726) was great. We originally were in the 2nd floor, but asked the young lady in glasses if we could move. Since we booked the room on Groupon, they have a designated area they put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review and thank you for choosing Sands Ocean Club as the place to celabrate your birthday. Happy belated! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall but are disappointed to know we did not provide the best customer service our Resort strives to maintain. We have shared your comments with management and this...

Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Reviewed 16 January 2017

As far as being handy to the beach this pace is great. It's priced right too. As far as up to date accommodations, there should be improvements. I think the condo association needs to get the owners to upgrade their units. We've been coming here for 22 years and the only thing that's been done is changing the doors to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PandJVT
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review and sharing your thoughts. Our Home Owner Services department work extremely hard to advise and assist condo owners in upgrading and making improvements to their units. We have many owners who have renovated and as well as those in current renovation mode. As far as renovations to the hotel; we are sorry if you...

450 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
Ocean Front Two Bedroom Suite (60)
Viewed
Ocean View Standard Room (39)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.9 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,316 reviews
3.5 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,011 reviews
14.2 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sands Beach Club Resort
Sands Beach Club Resort
#107 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
228 reviews
3.3 km away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#147 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
824 reviews
3.7 km away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#33 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: RM385 - RM917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sands Ocean Club Resort staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Sands Ocean Club Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No tip stay at your own risk.”
 of 5 bubbles grand1223, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I ask for room over Ocean Annies so can hear music when in room.”
 of 5 bubbles better329, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper level units definitely have the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles PandJVT, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay Away unless you want to bring roaches back to your home.”
 of 5 bubbles BellaMia0005, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a 2 bedroom and an efficiency and both were great”
 of 5 bubbles barbramel, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5