We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Reef at South Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Reef at South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Reef at South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 484: English reviews
Cumming, Georgia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Positives for us: - Staff was really nice and accommodating over the phone when assisting with the booking of the room. Negatives for us: - Value of the rooms for the price is terrible - The rooms were very dirty; trash was still in the room. The tub was very filthy. My family was not even comfortable sitting down in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DemondOJones
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry that the accommodations were unsatisfactory. Our housekeeping department works very hard to deliver our guests with clean rooms. I was unable to locate a room listed under the name listed on your review. Therefore I am unable to comment further.

Martinsville,Va
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The carpet was filthy. The door of the refrigerator had a big dent in it. Balcony doors wouldn't lock. Limited space in a 1 br room for 4 people. Overall dirty furniture. Bad smell in the room. Hotel staff was not friendly. Wifi would not work. We were told it was because there were too many people using it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulad59
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear pauld59: I am sorry that you were displeased with your accommodations. Our hotel was built over 31 years ago and the suites are somewhat smaller than the newer condos that many familes are accustomed to. We hope you will visit Myrtle Beach in the future. It is a great place to vacation!

Steubenville, Ohio
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The staff are very nice, the 2 bedroom apt was small but was fantastic in price for 7 night stay. Can't beat price anywhere on myrtle Beach. Beautiful ocean view from balcony,ocean front, walk right on to beach fromy the reef. Loved it will be staying again very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jodie L
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jodie L: Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your room. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view and the beautiful Atlantic Ocean! Please visit us again!

High Point, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We've been going to The Reef for many years and there always seems to be something that goes wrong during our stays. This year is one day we didn't have hot water for a morning shower. The other problem which has remained a constant throughout the years is there is no internet. Oh, it will pop up occasionally but it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Rick F: I apologize for the the problems you encountered. Our internet service is provided by Time Warner and they have completed their site visit and we are waiting for their proposal on updating the internet. Thank you for taking the time to forward your review of the hotel. We appreciate your comments.

Camden
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Not happy with the customer service! Men at front desk were extremely rude! Will not stay there again! Halls in stairs made me thing of "haunted hospital" or an insane asylum.....scary mint/sage green with lots of brown spots! 1 parking pass???? Really???? 20.00 a night to park across the street! Wow?!?? Also.......can I get some COFFEE, please? Not the way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Like2gogogo
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Like2gogogo: My sincere apologies for the lack of customer service at the Front Desk. There is never an excuse for rudeness. We hope you will include the Myrtle Beach area in your future vacation plans.

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

As you walk into the lobby you'll think, 'Oh this place is nice", but trust me when I say those thoughts will be short lived. As we rounded the corner to the elevators the pungent musty smell became very distinct and followed us into the room. The pillars in the hallway near the elevators are deteriorating and even had caution...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pebels126
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Pebels126: I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with the hotel and accommodations. The column that you mentioned was vandalized by children of previous guests and had not been repaired at the time of your stay. It was indeed an eyesore and I am sorry that it was not been repaired more promptly. Thank you for your business and...

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

The lobby was beautiful and check in was a bit of a problem but was resolved after an hour or so... Room was ok but very space limited. The pool area I believe was the hot spot! Loved the vibe from the DJ and the drinks!!! Would probably come back but get a suite next time ☺️

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica A
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jessica A: Thank you for your review...our pool area is a great place to enjoy the ocean and music. I am sorry to learn that our staff was not friendly; that is not the way we do business and I do sincerely apologize. We appreciate your business!

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

The rooms are clean and roomy , the pool is very big and you can dive as its 6 feet to 8 feet deep , the room we took had a fridge and microwave , fridge and a safe box. How ever we had to buy coffe and filters to make coffe there is a coffe machine though , room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tareq A
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Tareq A: Thank you for your review and your comments on our beautiful pool. The views are spectacular from our oceanfront rooms! We appreciate your business and if your travels bring you to Myrtle Beach area again, we hope that your visit includes the Reef.

Hanover, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

When we arrived to the hotel we were asked for a 100 dollar deposit for any potential damage to the room during our stay. Then we were provided a paper that included several rules during the stay including no smoking on the balcony ( which people on both sides of us were smoking daily). The room appeared dated but clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessIsAMess83
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jessisamess83: We contract a reputable pest company in Myrtle Beach, who inspect and treat our rooms. In the event of bugs being seen, we immediately contact the company, so they may come immediately to treat the area. I am very sorry you experience this problem.

Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed there 8/9 and 8/10. So many rules that could allow them to keep your deposit along with a possible 500.00 more if they deem fit, made this old hotel a horrible place to stay. I understand no smoking...but not even in your truck?? No vaping? At 55 years of age I hadn't planned on breaking any but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markuzzel
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Markuzzel, I reviewed our Front Desk Log book and was unable to locate any information regarding your request to cancel the 2nd night of your stay or your displeasure with our smoking policy. We always offer our guests at check in the opportunity to check out with a full refund, if they are unhappy with the hotel or any...

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#122 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
153 reviews
4.6 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#132 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
668 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#105 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
788 reviews
1.0 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#133 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
145 reviews
0.1 km away
BlueWater Resort
BlueWater Resort
#135 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Address: 2101 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: RM379 - RM976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are none!! Hotel is disgustingly dirty and smelly!!”
ElaineR655, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms have a beach view. The rooms above the 10th floor are suites.”
Marqman, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this motel”
ldj589, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly, full kitchen, beach front, ocean views”
  • View from room
  • Sunrise from the balcony
  • Master bedroom
  • Bathroom
  • TVs
  • Kitchen
  • View from room
  • Entrance to the second bedroom
claudiak836, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!”
anicole69, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5