We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Reef at South Beach

TravelocityUS$71*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$79*
US$71*
US$79*
US$79*
US$71*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Reef at South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Reef at South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 484: English reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

You get what you pay for when staying at this hotel. Parking was a little annoying, we had to park across the street but it was no big deal and wasn't a far walk. Elevators were a little slow. Pool area was awesome, especially the dj that held contests and visitors could sing karokee. Beautiful view, all rooms our ocean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joshhouston
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Josh, Thank you for staying at the Reef Resort. We appreciated you sharing that the 2nd parking lot is within close walking distance and not far away. I regret that you encountered some housekeeping issues during your stay. We hope that you will return to beautiful Myrtle Beach again.

West Virginia
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews!! I was pleasantly surprised :) Let me say that this is not a luxury resort. It is a great hotel for families (ours had kids from 10-17) The entertainment by the pool everyday is an amazing way to spend the days by the pool and its free! We spent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crystalbritt10
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Crystalbritt, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciated you mentioning that the pool and entertainment are ideal for families with children. We hope that you and your family will return again soon.

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is the third year that we have been going to the Reef and we are always so pleased with the service and the hotel amenities. It is always clean and the staff is always wonderful. It is a great location, sitting right on the beach. This last time we rented the the Penthouse and since we were with a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank princess29196
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Princess, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Reef. We appreciated you recognizing the staff and the cleanliness that they strive to deliver. We look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We with our small kids booked other place, but were really unhappy when arrived (after 4 hours driving) and same night was lucky to find a room in The Reef. Moved in finally at midnight and were very happy next day to discover a gorgeous ocean view and several pools (indoor and outdoor). Rooms are small but clean, the housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rod K
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Rod K, We were glad that we were able to accommodate your family when your previous accommodations didn't work out. Thank you for mentioning the pools and amazing views. We hope to see you again, soon.

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Dont even know where to start... We arrived at the hotel on July 14, checked in and headed to our room. Our reservation was for a 2 bedroom suite. Once in the room we quickly noticed it was a one bedroom. I called the office and spoke to Browning and was told all rooms were full and she was sorry....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank SHERRIE P
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Sherrie P., In keeping with best business practices, we regret that we are unable to respond in an open forum to the actual events that you have noted in your review. In regards to the car being towed....When the investigation was completed, your car was not authorized to be towed by anyone affiliated with the Reef Resort. We cannot...

Reviewed 25 July 2012

We have stayed at this hotel in the past and have always been pleased however we were very surprised at how sub par it has become upon our arrival. Our room upon entering smelled of very strong mildew and ammonia. Upon shutting the door it appeared the door had been previously pried open with a crowbar and you could see...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kesling92
Greeneville, Tennessee
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My Family and I stayed at the reef and we had a very pleasant stay. The staff were awesome very polite amd would help you in any way they could. I highly recommend you to stay at the reef!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
Flash33101
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Booked in May with so, so reviews. Can't remember young girls name who insisted our room had two double beds in BR and one in LR. In fact, she said they didn't even have any rooms with one bed. Called ahead after driving 15 hours with 3 kids and was told no way, no how could they clean my room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Flash33101
Barbourville, Kentucky
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My family and I, had a great stay at The Reef. The staff we're very helpful and friendly, the rooms could use a little updating, but were clean,and reasonable rates. The Ocean view was AWESOME..... the swimming pool, was large and deep enough, so that you wasn't right on top of each other,The food and entertainment was great! The lower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamR-KYWildcat
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel rooms and walkways needs major remodeling/ renovations. Major difference since last years stay. Room had terrible mildew odor. Bed very hard and uncomfortable. Takes forever to get the elevators- which weren't working on a couple of days had to walk 7 flights of stairs. Had reserved two rooms months ago, and one of my rooms was given away...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wvbeachgirl653
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear WV Beach Girl, We apologize that there was an issue with an elevator one morning during your stay. We promptly brought in the service repair company to re-instate it, but deeply apologize for the incovenience. As we have noted in previous posts, we acknowledge that we are not a new oceanfront property, however, we pride ourselves on offering clean...

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
153 reviews
4.6 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#132 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
668 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#107 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
788 reviews
1.0 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#133 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
145 reviews
0.1 km away
BlueWater Resort
BlueWater Resort
#135 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Address: 2101 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: RM378 - RM973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are none!! Hotel is disgustingly dirty and smelly!!”
ElaineR655, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms have a beach view. The rooms above the 10th floor are suites.”
Marqman, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this motel”
ldj589, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly, full kitchen, beach front, ocean views”
  • View from room
  • Sunrise from the balcony
  • Master bedroom
  • Bathroom
  • TVs
  • Kitchen
  • View from room
  • Entrance to the second bedroom
claudiak836, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!”
anicole69, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$71* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$79
Expedia.comUS$71
TripAdvisorUS$71
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates