We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 449: English reviews
Sioux Falls, SD
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Loved the hotel, very new and clean and the staff was very friendly, especially Laurie our waitress for 2 days, she was the best. And the bellman, Jerry, he always had some history trivia about the hotel and Deadwood for us, very friendly. You could tell they both loved their jobs. The hotel is lucky to have them both as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronj14
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

We can't thank you enough for the great review! We are very lucky to have employees like Laurie and Jerry that make up our wonderful staff here! Thank you so much for staying with us and any recommendations that you may give to friends and family about our property. We hope to see you again if your future travels ever...

Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We enjoyed our trip to Deadwood, Very nice place to stay at. Would stay at the Mountain Grand. Easy access to everything. Just a block away from Main St. The Restraunt is very good inside the hotel. Would recommend it to anyone

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ranita M
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again in your future travels!

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

This is the very nicest, by far, hotel we stayed in during our cross country trip. The waitress, Laurie, in the Grille restaurant was exceptional. All the other staff were extremely courteous and helpful from the hotel receptionists to Santana bartender. In addition the food was very good and the serving size was almost too much.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisChervenka
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review on our property! It gives us a tremendous amount of pride to know that we were able to accommodate you with our restaurant, staff, and room. We always love to hear the wonderful compliments from our guests! Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 5 April 2016

Had a room over looking Deadwood. It was very cool to have that view! Will stay again! The hotel is not right in the casino which is nice. Very nice sitting area for family to gather and meet before outings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us! I am so happy that we were able to accommodate you and your family appropriately during your travels. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to having you as our guest again!

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 5 April 2016

The hotel is new and nice however there are some improvements needed. We stayed two nights and although the bed was made there wasn't any room cleaning. Our window faced a rock bluff, We went to Santanas for dinner. We were the only people in the bar. We sat for some time before anyone acknowledged us. We had to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. I am so very sorry to hear about your experience in the bar and with your room. We pride ourselves on quality service and I offer my sincerest apologies that this was not the case. Your review has been presented to the Resort Manager so that we may fix the situation...

Deadwood, United States
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Went to the Charley Pride concert last night sound was terrible could not hear and then you people have a bar open and then people sit there and talk. I could not hear what the entertainer even said between songs. The large screen wasn't working. I was very disappointed in the event center. Too bad you have some decent entertainers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra S
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Debra, Thank you very much for your feedback about the Charley Pride concert. We were thrilled we had a full house for such a legendary entertainer and he thoroughly enjoyed himself and our Deadwood crowd. We agree that the sound was low for the show and although we concur, have no control over the artists sound or the volume. The...

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Not only are the staff at the inn polite and considerate, but staying on a historic building (the old slime factory) was delightful for our whole family. My 12 & 13-year-old loved the historic pictures hanging in the hotel. The beds were comfortable for hotel beds. The rooms were nice sized and plenty of space for our family of four.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abby P
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review on our property. I am so glad that we were able to accommodate you and your family while staying with us. With the casino being the renovated building, we have a lot of history here to share with our guests! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you and your family...

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Deadwood Mountain Grand. It was very nice and clean. The casino is one part and you take the elevator to another part, which was nice. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast at the restaurant was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sydney S
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay while spending the weekend in Deadwood! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Just got back from a really fun trip to Deadwood South Dakota. The hotel was very nice with comfortable king size beds. The staff was very helpful and always smiling and wishing us a good day or good evening. The hotel is close to Main Street where all the fun spots are and fine dining. Such as Saloon #10. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review and letting us know how your stay was. It's a great feeling knowing that we were able to accommodate you appropriately! Our location in downtown Deadwood does give us the advantage of being so close to all the action, and I'm glad we could provide that to you. Thank you again for staying...

Gillette, Wyoming
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

My husband planned a birthday weekend in Deadwood for me he got a suite and scheduled a couples massage. The massage therapist called and rescheduled the massage when we arrived they were unable to do a couples massage so it was going to take 3 hours so we cancelled we didn't have time we had to check out by noon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katrina G
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Dear Katrina G, Thank you for leaving a candid review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value each feedback as this will allow us to identify the areas that may benefit from our additional attention. It is disheartening to know that your experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. This is not the customer service we endeavor...

453 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:19
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (311)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Big Time Suite (29)
Viewed
Love Everybody Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Standard King Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
2.6 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
475 reviews
0.7 km away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
595 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: RM373 - RM1,622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#6 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have been there about every month and have never got a bad room”
 of 5 bubbles teds793, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the suite on Main st if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles L742ECtodds, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request an upgrade if you are an IHG member - it's worth it if available.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnB116, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a first floor room which overlooked to roof below. Go higher.”
 of 5 bubbles KevinC772, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are tiny, try a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JT564, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay