We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Great location, close to Mount Rushmore and Sylvan Lake. We stayed in the motel, and it was pretty basic, but cost quite a bit less than most of the hotels in the area. They advertise wifi, but we couldn't get connected, and when I told the staff, they pretty much said, "yeah, you might not get it." We finally connected...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justin J
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewed 10 July 2015

This was our second visit to Crooked Creek. We had a great stay. The updated cabins are very nice. They offer microwave, dorm sized fridge, small table, balcony and a coffee maker. The staff was friendly and offered to bring our wood to our cabin. We opted to have breakfast Saturday morning. Great value and fantastic food. Pricing is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
Reviewed 9 July 2015

This campground is close to Hill city, Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Keystone. Beautiful setting, guided us to our site and were very friendly. They had had a lot of rain so we had to get wood to put under our jacks and still sunk a little but overall a good experience, we would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjpederson
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The location was good for the things we wanted to see. However that was the only positive. It's overpriced for what they offer. Overcrowded. They cram in too many campers without proper number of facilities. The pool is very cold and so tiny kids with parents can barely splash around. It is supposed to be "heated" but I think they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roxanne J
Crooked Creek R... O, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for staying at the Resort during a very busy holiday weekend. The Black Hills are always busy for 4th of July. We appologize that your camping expierence with us was not up to your expectations. The port-o-lets are brought in to help with the restroom situations. We are not supported by city sewer and...

Casper
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We were able to secure one of the last spots for our campers, here. When we arrived, we were quickly checked and shown to our spot. John was able to help us back into a very tight area without having other campers move their vehicles. This is a clean and very well maintained campground. Breakfast was a treat at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wyoming Y
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

We pulled in around the five o'clock hour.The people were real pleasant. We got to our site by the help of a guy on a cart .He was very kind and helpful!We bought a bike pass and rode bicycle into town.Love the bike trail!!In town met a taxi driver extremely helpful!We did not stay at the campsite much too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy K
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

Ok clean friendly staff. Horrible wifi. Pool was cold but kids enjoyed it. Grounds were well maintained with ok space between sites. Quite far from grocery store so stock up before you arrive. Remote but relaxing. No lake or river.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HiWereTheMillers
Arkansas
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

We rolled into Crooked Creek Campground after a two day bike ride from Arkansas. We carry very little gear on these trips, so we'd reserved one of the camp's tents, right next to the creek. The tent was set up when we arrived and the staff hustled up a firepit and got us settled in. Our site was open, easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Playgood
Crooked Creek R... O, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and compliments toward our staff and our Campground. We as owners try our best to hire people who show great interest in the area. By working here for the season they almost become a local. Thank you for the general description of our Breakfast we have no intentions of being an International House of...

Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

I wish we had stayed here! We stopped in just to fill our RV propane tank. When getting ready to leave our truck engine did not start. You know the feeling! Within a few minutes however, we were on the way after a jump start and probably the resolution to the battery problem. The staff were ready, willing, able, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
Crooked Creek R... O, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review

Thank you ladies. We consider it the good old Black Hills Hospitality! Hope to see you on your next visit to the Black Hills. Safe travels from the Crooked Creek staff.

Hill City, South Dakota
Reviewed 14 May 2015

The campground is right next to a major highway - the noise was non-stop and quite loud with a abundance of trucks at all hours. The camp itself is also very crowded and noisy. Unless you medicate, you will not rest in this place. Service is pretty much non-existent once you check in. Really a lousy experience - don't let...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RCPioneer
Crooked Creek R... O, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review. We don't consider a two lane highway as major a highway but to each his own. We are sorry that the popularity of our campground did not meet your expectations. As far as this so called dump you refer to and the modicum (a small amount) of privacy goes maybe you...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
3.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
235 reviews
4.5 km away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
4.4 km away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
175 reviews
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hill City
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park is nestled in a valley of the southern Black Hills, just outside of Hill City, South Dakota. Minutes away from national monuments, the George S. Mickelson Trail, and many museums and shops, it is the perfect place to stay for vacationing families, outdoor enthusiasts and history buffs, alike. Pack a lunch and spend the day hiking on the Mickelson Trail or soaking in the beauty of nature and wildlife at Custer State Park. Create a life-long memory by visiting Mount Rushmore National Monument and Crazy Horse Memorial. Enjoy the quaint mountain community of Hill City and spend an afternoon visiting art galleries, shopping, taking a ride on the 1880 Train, enjoying a glass of wine at one of our 4 wineries or have a cold brew at one of our 2 new Micro Breweries. Hill City has it all! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park

Address: 24184 HYW 16 & US 385, Hill City, SD 57745
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Price Range: RM245 - RM1,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Crooked Creek Hotel Hill City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very Clean!”
Kimf1977, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a ground-floor room so you don't have to climb outside stairwells and you'll get a covered porch.”
EJBuer, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“reserve early”
gordonf203, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms face west, overlooking the campground and none overlook the Trail.”
26miles2go, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Stayed in my RV”
Denise169, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5