We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

678 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 662: English reviews
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was planning to hike up to Black Elk Peak and wanted to stay close to the trailhead so that I could get an early start. But many of the hotels in the Black Hill (and especially those nearer to Rushmore) were quite expensive or seemed like tourist traps. This one was cheaper, but the rooms were still spacious, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
Laura F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do apologize about your restaurant experience with us. We have multiple trails just a short drive away for all outdoorsman. We appreciate your feedback and hope you have a great day.

Wheeling, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is wonderful , the suites a very large and done in a western decor , and the pool is big and with a beautiful view of the "hills " , I've learned not to trust some Best Western hotels ( as many are independently but the HILL CITY one is really nice ! It's been several years since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _sbabeschmit
Laura F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a complimentary deluxe breakfast, and an amazing pool area. It is nice to have you back with the Best Western brand, and hope you will stay with us again.

Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception area/lobby is more like a gift shop than a lobby. I had a tiny hiccup at check in though. I had Included a note asking for a first floor room as it is difficult for us to take bags up stairs. I knew the hotel had a building with elevators so I made a note that any floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGoingGal
Laura F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you review. I do apologize about the issues you had endured during the check in process and with your meal. I was happy to hear that the desk was able to move you to a more accommodating room. We have a great breakfast staff and an amazing location. Thank you for your time and I...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I normally do not enjoy staying at Best Western, but this one surprised us with service quality, friendly staff, good breakfast, and clean room. The lobby makes a pleasant impression, and reception guys from Honduras were very welcoming and helpful in finding restaurant at the late hour. The room was quite clean and pleasant. Would be happy to stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Volga981
Laura F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I'm happy to hear that the staff were so welcoming. we would love to have you stay with us again in the future.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed here with two young kids. The pool was a good size. The breakfast was great with tons of seating. Great location to be in order to visit Mt. Rushmore the next day. Room was clean, very spacious and had lots of extra pillows and blankets. We were there during the off season but it seemed like a good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica E
Laura F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We thank you for staying with us. We were glad to hear that you rchildren enjoyed our pool, and that you were able to enjoy the sites. Thank you for your time and have a great day.

United States
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I enjoyed my stay at this location. It is near to Crazy Horse and Mount Rush More. The place was clean. The breakfast was very good, even fora vegetarian. The hotel staff was friendly. The check-in and check-out was easy. I will consider Best Western hotel chain when I travel next time. They are little bit more expensive, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viral S
Laura F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. We do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This was a great find...very good value. Would highly recommend this hotel. Although their restaurant had closed for the season there were some excellent restaurants in tow. The night clerk who checked us in was very accommodating in changing our room so I (72 yo) wouldn't have to carry our luggage up stairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Laura F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We were delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us, and that we were able to accommodate you. Thank you for your time, and we hope you have a great day.

Grand Rivers, Kentucky
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Perfect for travellers wanting to take in all of the sights. The location is so close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse that you can drive by them on each day of your stay without taking out too much time from your schedule to get just the right lighting and pics! The suites are clean, roomy and comfortable. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDE2004
Laura F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We have an amazing location here in the beautiful Black Hills, and it is just a short drive to all the great attraction. We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed there because of TripAdvisor, and we weren't disappointed. Very clean, close enough to all of the attraction, and was in a nice quaint lil town. The employees were very nice and helpful. I just wish we stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
Laura F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We have a lot of amazing attractions to visit in our area. We would love to have you back as a guest again. Hope you have a wonderful day.

Tigard, Oregon
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights while attending the chuckwagon jamboree as well as lots of sightseeing and it was a very good experience. We opted for the suite and it was very comfortable and clean. We had asked for a second luggage rack, and they found one for us promptly. Good location as it was close to town as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HARRY M
Laura F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback and hope you will visit us again.

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hill City
69 reviews
10.2 km away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
235 reviews
4.4 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
12.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Price Range: RM479 - RM1,184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for a top floor room if noise bothers you.”
  • View upon entry - reception to left
  • Double queen suite.
  • Vanity separate
 of 5 bubbles AGoingGal, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room to avoid the exterior door traffic/noise.”
 of 5 bubbles CDE2004, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“top floor for quiet, no view to speak of”
 of 5 bubbles Judy1966240, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the pool building appear to be newer and less motel-like”
 of 5 bubbles DuffyB174, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for newer units next to the two story building.”
 of 5 bubbles mparker, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay