We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Show Prices
#2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Spearfish Canyon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewed 2 January 2016

The lodge is very nice. Hot tubs were smaller than expected (and not very warm) and the food was less than average. The views are gorgeous tho!! Also online we decided against renting snowmobiles because it is listed that they only have 570s--in actuality they have 600s so we were bumped because we did not bring our gear.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajh2016
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Ajh2016, Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoy the Lodge and it's amazing views; we do really have a piece of paradise. I am so sorry that some of our amenities were not up to the standard we do expect from our facility. I will be sure to address these concerns. If you have any other concerns or...

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Room was nice... The food was all cold what was there, not much to choose from and I am not one to complain ever about my food when I eat out but this was horrible. There were many people saying the same thing as we are. The walk over to the dinning area was snowed packed, hot tub was snowed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rwilc2
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Rwilc2, Thank you for your review. I apologize for the experience that you had at our Lodge over New Year's Eve. I would encourage you to discuss these issues with me so that I can help make this right. Please contact me at 605-584-3435. Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Mayview, Missouri
Reviewed 31 December 2015

from the time we arrived at the lodge we were treated like family by your staff all paper work was in order no problems and the rooms were very clean and nice your snowmobile rental staff were very helpful and friendly this was my third time there will not be my last thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronbB148DC
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

RonbB148DC, I'm so glad you've enjoyed your stays with us! Snowmobiling is one of our favorite seasons; hopefully you had a wonderful time on the trails and we look forward to seeing you again again soon!

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 31 December 2015

If you stay in winter months, bring your swimsuit as the outdoor hot tubs are so refreshing in the cold snow.. Staff are very accommodating and pleasant. And rent snowmobiles, beautiful way to see off-road beauty.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottchrisb
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Scottschrisb, Thank you for your review! The hot tubs are a wonderful place to sit and watch the snow fall on our outside desk. I'm also so glad to hear that our staff maintained the high level of service I expect from them. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Waverly nebraska
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Our room key didn't work several times a day forcing us to go to the front desk go get let in each time. We had large trucks and trailers outside our window blocking our view of the mountain. Kids were running in hallway all night long, we were quoted wrong prices repeatedly and staff wasn't very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hkrier516
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Hkrier516, Thank you for your review. I do appreciate feedback on all stays, good and bad. This is the best way for us to improve. I will certainly address these concerns with my staff and if you'd like to address them with me please don't hesitate to call me at 605-584-3435.

Owatonna, MN
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Was promised a 2nd room on the same floor as the 1st, but I checked in, it was on a different floor. Not happy. Also, cappuccinos were a different price every time I bought one. Would I suggest the lodge to friends/family: You betcha.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kalvigja
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Kalvigja, I'm so glad we earned your recommendation through your stay here! Thank you for bringing the issues you experienced to my attention. We look forward to hosting you again and hope the level of service you receive is of the highest!

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 30 December 2015

The lodge was a great place for us to stay for a family birthday celebration. We had 50 people (mostly adults) attending so the banquet room was more than enough room to accommodate us. The Chinese food served to us was great and the in-room bar was very convenient. Breakfast at the restaurant the next morning was great as well....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAULA R
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Paula R, Thank you for choosing us to host your family's birthday party! It was so much fun having your family group in house. We look forward to your next visit and we'll try to have some plum wine on hand if you give us fair warning!

Belfield, North Dakota
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Get more adult activities. Game room. darts. Mega-touch. pool 🎱 tables jukebox. foosball. and more winter activities like snow shoes for walking 🚶 trails. new board/card games. could be 5 star easy!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickyVicki
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

RickyVicki, Thank you for your review! We do appreciate any suggestions to help us make our facility better. We do have snowshoes available for rent; I apologize that that information was not given to you. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay!

Johnsburg, Illinois
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Beautiful facility and location. Rooms were clean and well decorated. Staff friendly and helpful. Only suggestion is to do own review of trail conditions before cancelling rental sleds. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Tony B, Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lodge. We hope to see you back again when we have enough snow on the snowmobile trails so that you have a great time!

Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Nice place but no elevator so pack lite , Roosevelt suite which was very nice. Los of space, a comfortable bed and great pillows. restaurant attached not very good , no choice for food other than attached restaurant, buffalo was tough but soup was good and staff friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Howard, Thank you so much for your review, we are happy to hear the Staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our Roosevelt Suite! I am sorry that the food from the Restaurant was not satisfactory. we do hope you will come back and stay again! Thank you, Linda

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
12.1 km away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
17.8 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
478 reviews
13.2 km away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
16.2 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
15.9 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Price Range: RM325 - RM774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spearfish Canyon Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Spearfish Canyon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the back overlook the creek. I didn't think the romance package was worth it, but it was nice enough.”
 of 5 bubbles kc597, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want a room without paper thin walls better get a suite.”
 of 5 bubbles 792kristenw, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back facing the creek have lovely views of the lawn and creek edge and forest beyond.”
 of 5 bubbles CAMermaid, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not select this hotel!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles abryda, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bridal veil suite stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles 650brentr, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay