We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Mitchell

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Mitchell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Mitchell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Platteville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We stay at Motel 6 quite frequently. The clerk who checked us in was very friendly. The room was comfortable though the floor could have been a little cleaner. It looked as though it had been mopped with a dirty mop. My husband says it was sticky

Thank GMBerg
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Always the hindsight family trip planners, we try to play it by ear on how far we can get. So we found ourselves in Mitchell on a night when every hotel was booked. It was clean and quiet though, and has an outdoor pool. If you're just looking for a quick, cheap rest-stop, this could be it.

Thank Katvo
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Mitchell is a nice town and i dont mind stopping there on the way through. But as a veteran Motel 6 traveller, i find this one sub par. It is kind of grungy and not in a very good spot. Staff is friendly enough but the place needs a serious makeover Gdhhh hftjh htf hhj dtjg jhfgvg goddh thr the...

Thank Mary B
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Mitchell, responded to this review

Mary, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the conditions you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We encourage you to contact our Guest...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I was travelling by motorcycle last year and needed a place to stay that was cheap, clean and quiet. This place had it all. The bathroom was clean, the sheets were clean and I got a great nights sleep. Free Wifi got me in touch with the family and it was nice and close to the interstate. No complaints as...

Thank 2Wheelsforme
Trion, Georgia
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

I didn't give it a 1 because the room at least appeared to have clean sheets and bathroom. The rest was unacceptable, even by low-cost motel standards. There were at least 5 flies in the room. I spent the first 30 minutes chasing them around. They were camped on the filthy smoke detector and filthier air vent. The carpet is...

Thank OleTravellinJacky
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Mitchell, responded to this review

Dear Jacky, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe, and we are sorry for the circumstances. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the bed comfort issues you experienced....

Reviewed 11 October 2015

Has been renovated with the "new" laminate flooring. Had occasion to wipe up a small water spill and the paper towel was black. Checked another area and equally dirty. Not sure how (if) they clean these floors, but there's obviously a serious problem. Based on this experience, checked another Motel 6 laminate floor with similar results. At least with the...

Thank dogloverNc
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Mitchell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our award winning Phoenix room redesign featuring wood-effect laminate floors. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi...

Chesterfield, Missouri
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Stayed one night on our way to Deadwood. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly. The room did lack amenities like hair dryer and Kleenex but you get what you pay for. The shower was challenging but the room was fine for one night

Thank Peggy K
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 August 2015

as first stop on way to rally. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. A.c. worked fine. Only problem was regulating shower and getting in shower and not wet the floor as spray is over entrance. Nice, clean room and coffee in morning.

Thank Bob T
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Just needed to have a place to spend the night - so the extras were great. It -is- a place you can stay with your dog - just be aware that the grassy area next to the pool is off-limits, and there is a designated pet area towards the back of the property. The room looked freshly painted and the...

1Thank exmish
Ovid, Michigan
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Its a place to rest your head- just as the title says. Being on the road until later in the evening, amenities were not on my list of needs, I just needed a place to sleep with the family. They have a pool for those who want one, a snack machine for those not wanting to travel away from the...

Thank Todd B

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (28)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (15)
Bathroom (6)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (14)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Bathroom (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
3.1 km away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
2.6 km away
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
3.0 km away
Super 8 Mitchell
Super 8 Mitchell
#11 of 18 in Mitchell
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
585 reviews
2.3 km away
Corn Palace Inn
Corn Palace Inn
#16 of 18 in Mitchell
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Mitchell is located near shopping and dining. Visit Middle Border Museum, Oscar Howe Art Center and Enchanted World Doll Museum. Relax in our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Free WiFi in all modern guest rooms or use our coin laundry facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Mitchell

Address: 1309 S Ohlman St., I-90 at exit #330, Mitchell, SD 57301-4143
Region: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Price Range: RM242 - RM411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Motel-6 and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Mitchell
Mitchell Motel Six
Mitchell Motel 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Mitchell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room without bugs!”
  • Thank you! We appreciate Gideons for doing this.
  • One of the bugs in our room we found crawling up the wall in Rm 244.
  • Another look at the shower stall in Rm 244
  • Shower head pointed away from the bathroom door. Cool shower. Rm 244
  • Cool shower stall. Never saw anything like this before. Rm 244
  • Stains on bedspreads in Rm 244.
  • Room 244... looks pleasant enough, but needs a good cleaning and had a lot of bugs.
ShanOC, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“With aarp wifi is free”
GMBerg, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 115. The door does not close properly.”
carolmR7229ZK, 28 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Ask for rooms away from stairways and ice machines...also maybe ask to see how clean the room is first.”
501JANETS, 14 Aug 2014 | Read review
“First come, first serve.”
rosemaryd861, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
US$56* /night
View Deal
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates