We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 461: English reviews
MOUNT HOLLY
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we like best western ,because it has a lot eating places.And Walmart is next to it.you merico place to eat at next door.And the food is awesome.Also it is between tn and miss.Also right off 1-40,you can't miss it.So check it out you will love it

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAMES C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed over TTU December graduation weekend. Very convenient. Clean. Bathroom has no heat so we used hotel shower to warm up room. Mexican joint across courtyard was handy and saved a trip out to eat. Breakfast is nothing to write home about but at least it was something. I'd stay again. Price was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy, We thank you for writing us a review here on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

conway nh
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Why would I think that a very poor quality motel would improve over a 6 week period....the beds are horrible, everything is worn out and the place is very run down....on the plus side it is on the outskirts of Nashville and pet friendly [although they make no area available or preparations for pets except a fee]. This is my...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve w
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here on TripAdvisor. It saddens me to read that you were not happy with your stays with us. We strive to keep our rooms in excellent condition and we are met with positive comments regarding this from the majority of our guests. However, not everyone's idea of...

Crossville tn
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I recently took a long weekend for our anniversary and stopped in at the Best Western in Cookeville. We were pleasantly surprised with what we found. The place was very clean and well kept. Clean crisp sheets and a clean room all around. The complimentary breakfast was good, it's not biscuits and gravy but it is fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Tim, We thank you for taking the time to write up a nice review for us here on TripAdvisor! We are happy that your stay at our hotel was a positive experience for you two during your anniversary! We hope to see you again soon!

Arlington, Texas
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I live in Arlington, TX and drive to Maryland to see my 92-year-young mom on a 6-7 week basis. The Best Western Thunderbird hotel is a little over halfway and convenient for a stop. The staff is wonderful and the bed awesome! I usually ask and get my favorite room. I recommend this hotel, especially to those who like Mexican...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SHURELLE
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing us such a great review here on TripAdvisor! We're so glad to hear you've had such good experiences with us! Thanks for being a continued customer at our hotel and we look forward to your next stay!

Erin, Tennessee
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Motel is well kept, very good Mexican restaurant next door and shopping options were close and plentiful. For summer stays, it offered a great pool. Staff was very helpful regarding directions and tips on eating.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnpO1327VA
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you very much for writing us a wonderful review on TripAdvisor! We are fortunate to have a great staff to maintain our property and for being located where we are. We love hearing that your stay was a pleasurable one and we do hope that you come check out the pool next summer if we don't see...

Princeton, West Virginia
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Stay here when i am back in the country and working on my property. I enjoy the staff and service I am offered. The convenience of the hotel to places to eat and all around needs is great. Tired of writing but needed 12 characters

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear David, We thank you for taking the time to write up a nice review for us here on TripAdvisor! It's great to hear that you enjoy our hotel enough to be a returning customer. I'm glad that your stays with us were pleasant and we look forward to seeing you again!

Jellico
Reviewed 8 November 2016

we only stayed at this hotel overnight after we flew in from Vegas to Nashville on our way home to east TN.....all we did was sleep.....the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.....it did have a stale smell and needed to be aired out, also the whole motel needs redecorating.....the staff was attentive and professional.....the breakfast area...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Connie, We thank you for writing us a review here on TripAdvisor. I do apologize for you having an issue with an odor in the room. I’m not sure if you let our front desk clerk know about it, however we would have gladly let you switch rooms if we had one available. We are constantly renovating and redecorating...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff, close by to Cummings falls. Lots to nearby. Kids had fun in the pool, other guest were also very friendly. Clean and welcoming environment. Room was a little small, but everyone slept well, and had waffles for breakfast. No complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindy k
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Cindy, Thank you very much for writing us a wonderful review on TripAdvisor! We are glad you had a fun time at the pool. We hope you stop by and see us again soon!

conway nh
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Cookeville BW is on the out skirts of Nashville....so depending if you are going east or west the advantage of saying there is improved or decreased. the hotel is average, not aging gracefully. The breakfast area and selection is poor - there is a Mexican Rest. next door so that saves walking after check in...- food OK nothing special. We...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve w
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here on TripAdvisor. We have been working very hard this year to make many improvements on our property. We just installed new door locks on our rooms, revamped our exercise room and we are planning on remodeling the bathrooms next year as well. We are always trying...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 17 in Cookeville
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
4.5 km away
Alpine Lodge & Suites
Alpine Lodge & Suites
#9 of 17 in Cookeville
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Address: 900 South Jefferson Ave., Cookeville, TN 38501
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Price Range: RM357 - RM415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cookeville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
#5 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“non smoking”
 of 5 bubbles mommysbored, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 315joew, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“several restaurants around the motel ice cream parlor across the street pet friendly,,”
 of 5 bubbles toneydolls, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Less than a mile from I 40”
 of 5 bubbles mnawaz12, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“natural light from frosted high window in bathroom was great early morning.”
 of 5 bubbles H767OZcarolp, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay