We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 3 hotels in Ashbourne

Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

1,626 reviews
Save
Traveller (238)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (17)
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“tayto park”(399 reviews)
“red bar”(85 reviews)
“swimming pool”(72 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,626)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,607 results
Traveller rating
795
446
186
112
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
795
446
186
112
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstayto parkred barswimming poolfamily hotelkids clubdublin zoofamily breakgreat pooltwo double bedsnext morninglovely hotelbar foodgreat facilitiesleisure facilitiesminute drivecouldn't faultsaturday night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
321 - 325 of 1,607 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We stayed in the Pillo recently as we were attending a wedding in nearby Ballymagarvey village(fabulous by the way) .When we awoke the following morning there was no hot water for a shower and only a trickle of cold to brush our teeth which was...More

Thank mpb275
Response from Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel AshbourneResponded 9 January 2017

Dear mpb275, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was obviously upset to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay due to a maintenance issue and our subsequent failure to restore your expectations even...More

Reviewed 29 December 2016

Very easily found - that's really were the compliments end with this hotel. On arrival there was a queue of at least 6 other parties wanting to check in. 25/30 mins later it was our turn which in fairness the ONE receptionist that was on...More

6  Thank Martine R
Reviewed 28 December 2016

This is my local hotel. Haven't beento visit it in a while. I called in here last Tuesday evening for a drink with my friend. We drank in the bar area, and the first thing I noticed was, how shabby and dirty the furniture and...More

Thank Annette D
Response from Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel AshbourneResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Annette D, Thank you for taking the time to offer some feedback regarding your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy our hospitality, but rest assured that this feedback has been communicated to the...More

Reviewed 24 December 2016

We booked two rooms and asked for them to be as close to each other as possible as one was for our 17 year old daughter. When we arrived we were shown to two disabled rooms very far apart that both stunk of urine and...More

Thank RJM1709
Response from Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel AshbourneResponded 9 January 2017

Dear RJM1709, Thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts regarding your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. The gesture is appreciated as it offers a genuine opportunity to evaluate our services and thus enhance or change same if needed. I was obviously...More

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on the 16th of December for the Christmas family experience. We had an amazing time from start to finish the santa experience was excellent an the kids had a ball. The meal afterwards was beautiful also. Staff very friendly and helpful from start...More

Thank stephanie o
Response from Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel AshbourneResponded 4 January 2017

Dear Stephanie O, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us on tripadvisor. I was very pleased to hear that you and your family found the experience to be amazing from start to finish. Your kind comments about the friendly...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
16364656667322
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice
2017 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$113 - US$192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$113 - US$192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (238)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (17)
Pool & Beach (2)
Hotel & Grounds (154)
Bathroom (24)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (7)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ciaranibhriain
19 January 2018|
Answer
Response from jimboirelandDublin | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can buy. It's gone up to 12.50 its a buffet and all you can eat really.
0
Votes
Gayle D
14 January 2018|
Answer
Response from boroimhe | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is a bus that goes to tayto park,passes hotel on the opposite side of the road,not sure taxi probably 10-15 euro,although it's not far from pillo and a great day out
1
Vote
Timhamill62
21 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from boroimhe | Reviewed this property |
Yes Family rooms do have a fridge
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Large rooms, super comfortable bed, super clean, fresh linen, extra everything, compared to normal hotels."
Read review
"Ask for a quiet room"
Read review
"Any room is good. I've stayed in many of them. At the back is a lot less noisy though."
Read review
"Get a room at the back of the hotel away from the road"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite