We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monterey Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 574: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I visited here in October, We booked on a half board basis, which was good. The food was very nice. We had a superior room, which was nice but thought it may have been a bit more " superior" A nice walk into town from here , about 15 mins taking it steady. Staff were polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c a
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us at our AA three star Monterey Hotel. It is wonderful that you enjoyed a nice break. We are pleased that you enjoyed our half board catering in our restaurant. We have both an all day bar menu as well as our Gordini's restaurant being available each evening. Your comments are...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

this was my 3rd stay at the monterey it is a lovely hotel, rooms are clean as expected the beds comfy, we had a family room this time and it was very spacious, food is great with an excellent buffett style full english breakfast and all the continental style too if you wished, with waiter service for tea an toast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Firstpastthepost1
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your repeat stay. It is a great recommendation in our opinion that you choose to stay with us so often. We are a full service hotel with an all day bar menu, modern restaurant, indoor leisure facilities and free parking, close to St. Helier's town centre. Our Free WiFi throughout also adds to the attraction...

Kent
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a superior room. Found it very clean & spotless, Bed was large & comfortable. Tea/ coffee tray well equipped & fully replaced every day.Would like to have had a safe in the room. The only other criticism I have, is that the room was looking tired & needed re decorating.The restaurant provided first rate food, with a good choice.The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chasber
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our Monterey Hotel for your Golden Wedding celebration. Congratulations once again. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and hope you will consider re-visiting us in the future. Thank you and best wishes.

Worstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a week at the Monterey and were very unhappy that we had to leave. The staff were great, the food ( both breakfast and dinner ) was of excellent quality and the facilities of the hotel were superb. We had an issue with our room as soon as we arrived in that it was far too hot but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarek12000
Dinard, France
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We took our grandson for a little break to Jersey, The hotel and staff were excellent,the only thing that was lacking was the quality of the fish on the bar meal, but when I complained they offered to cook a fresh one, I would recommend the hotel to anybody, very clean the pool area excellent, but above all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolla J
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you would recommend our hotel to anyone. Thank you and we are pleased that you had a lovely break. In respect of the one fish menu item mentioned from our bar menu, we are sorry that you did not enjoy the item and are pleased that you acknowledge that we offered to replace the dish. Thank...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

For what we paid we can't grumble but aside from the public rooms, the hotel needs a makeover. Our bedroom was very 1980s and the bathroom seemed even older. Paying extra for the half board option was very good value (£120 for two over four nights) and the food & staff can't be faulted. Having said that, though, three course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tidmaj
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you feel we are value for money with staff and food that cannot be faulted. Respectfully, none of the fit-out at the hotel is from the 1980's but is more recent and we are a more traditional full service hotel in style. Thank you for your custom which is appreciated...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Though initially pleased to get this hotel at a good rate, I found the hotel to be poorly located for easy access to St.Helier town centre. I arrived at the main bus station at 7.30pm and arrived at the hotel at 8pm using main roads (on foot). Though the management refer to a route through Millennium Park, this isn't the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rheydon
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and the various points which are noted. We are located where we are located and this suits the vast majority of our guests choosing to stay with us. By way of note, many town centre hotels do not enjoy the large car park we offer as a free facility and this makes a difference to...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is superb. Maybe not the most modern but that's what makes it so charming. It's very clean with every facility one would need....parking, wifi, modern tv.....nothing was missing. The location is perfect and very convenient to just about everywhere one might want to go. In all areas the staff were superb and could not have been more attentive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Studio202
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely and thoughtful comments. These are appreciated. You would of course be most welcome on any return visit. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Monterey. Thank you once again.

London
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Stayed here at very short notice, October 2016 for two nights for a quick trip to Jersey with my wife. I have been to Jersey many times before, as my parents had property there, but now that that has gone, have had to use a hotel. I basically made my decision on price and location as I wanted to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottLondon
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

A short 3 day break. Good onsite parking. Rooms ok, with the full bar menu available as room service which is a great asset. Breakfast is buffet style, very clean offering, no grease at all. Overall yes, an old building but would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant C

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (159)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (26)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Room with Patio Acess (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
1.2 km away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
1,523 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 31 in St Helier
753 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 31 in St Helier
1,368 reviews
0.9 km away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#7 of 31 in St Helier
1,019 reviews
0.9 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Price Range: RM407 - RM695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monterey Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Monterey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor rooms get very hot even in winter.”
 of 5 bubbles chasber, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay for half board option - good value.”
 of 5 bubbles tidmaj, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room overlooking the pool is the quietist”
 of 5 bubbles Cas62, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Wary not to be facing the road because of traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles hercules007, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“by the pool,away from main road traffic”
 of 5 bubbles M1638CIjohnw, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay