We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monterey Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

688 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monterey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 587: English reviews
Kent, England
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed for 6 nights over Christmas, and were very well looked after. We were on a B&B basis, although we did book our Christmas Day dinner in the hotel. Food was very good - breakfast had a varied choice, and the carvery dinner we had was excellent - very difficult not to put too much on your plate (though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onholiday57
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

We have been to the Monterey today 25/12/2016 for Christmas lunch it was amazing food and ambience great value for money we will deffo go back in the new year well done to all of the staff were so friendly and professional

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawnwindsor73
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments. These are much appreciated by our team at the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and the ambience of the Monterey. You would of course be most welcome to visit us in the New Year and we thank you sincerely for your custom and respectful thoughtful review. May we wish...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We had a lovely long weekend break staying in this hotel over the La Fête dé Noué weekend. The staff are extremely friendly and the food in the dining room is superb. Towels changed every other day. One question - why is there only 1 plug socket in the bedroom? In this day and age where most people have mobile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 83Smudge
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

My husband and I visited here in October, We booked on a half board basis, which was good. The food was very nice. We had a superior room, which was nice but thought it may have been a bit more " superior" A nice walk into town from here , about 15 mins taking it steady. Staff were polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c a
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us at our AA three star Monterey Hotel. It is wonderful that you enjoyed a nice break. We are pleased that you enjoyed our half board catering in our restaurant. We have both an all day bar menu as well as our Gordini's restaurant being available each evening. Your comments are...

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

this was my 3rd stay at the monterey it is a lovely hotel, rooms are clean as expected the beds comfy, we had a family room this time and it was very spacious, food is great with an excellent buffett style full english breakfast and all the continental style too if you wished, with waiter service for tea an toast,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Firstpastthepost1
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your repeat stay. It is a great recommendation in our opinion that you choose to stay with us so often. We are a full service hotel with an all day bar menu, modern restaurant, indoor leisure facilities and free parking, close to St. Helier's town centre. Our Free WiFi throughout also adds to the attraction...

Kent
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Booked a superior room. Found it very clean & spotless, Bed was large & comfortable. Tea/ coffee tray well equipped & fully replaced every day.Would like to have had a safe in the room. The only other criticism I have, is that the room was looking tired & needed re decorating.The restaurant provided first rate food, with a good choice.The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chasber
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our Monterey Hotel for your Golden Wedding celebration. Congratulations once again. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and hope you will consider re-visiting us in the future. Thank you and best wishes.

Worstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We spent a week at the Monterey and were very unhappy that we had to leave. The staff were great, the food ( both breakfast and dinner ) was of excellent quality and the facilities of the hotel were superb. We had an issue with our room as soon as we arrived in that it was far too hot but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarek12000
Dinard, France
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We took our grandson for a little break to Jersey, The hotel and staff were excellent,the only thing that was lacking was the quality of the fish on the bar meal, but when I complained they offered to cook a fresh one, I would recommend the hotel to anybody, very clean the pool area excellent, but above all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolla J
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you would recommend our hotel to anyone. Thank you and we are pleased that you had a lovely break. In respect of the one fish menu item mentioned from our bar menu, we are sorry that you did not enjoy the item and are pleased that you acknowledge that we offered to replace the dish. Thank...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

For what we paid we can't grumble but aside from the public rooms, the hotel needs a makeover. Our bedroom was very 1980s and the bathroom seemed even older. Paying extra for the half board option was very good value (£120 for two over four nights) and the food & staff can't be faulted. Having said that, though, three course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tidmaj
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you feel we are value for money with staff and food that cannot be faulted. Respectfully, none of the fit-out at the hotel is from the 1980's but is more recent and we are a more traditional full service hotel in style. Thank you for your custom which is appreciated...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Though initially pleased to get this hotel at a good rate, I found the hotel to be poorly located for easy access to St.Helier town centre. I arrived at the main bus station at 7.30pm and arrived at the hotel at 8pm using main roads (on foot). Though the management refer to a route through Millennium Park, this isn't the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rheydon
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and the various points which are noted. We are located where we are located and this suits the vast majority of our guests choosing to stay with us. By way of note, many town centre hotels do not enjoy the large car park we offer as a free facility and this makes a difference to...

264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (159)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (26)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Room with Patio Acess (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
1,742 reviews
0.9 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
682 reviews
1.2 km away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 31 in St Helier
771 reviews
1.2 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
1,412 reviews
0.9 km away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 31 in St Helier
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Price Range: RM426 - RM824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monterey Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Monterey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor direct access to outdoor pool patio doors on each room 1st and 2nd floors all look on to outdoor pool”
 of 5 bubbles postmanGlasgow, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Maybe ask for a room at the back if you think road noise might disturb.”
 of 5 bubbles Sharpeset, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are very hot, but we solved this by turning the radiators off and leaving the windows open.”
 of 5 bubbles brendasU8635VX, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms get very hot even in winter.”
 of 5 bubbles chasber, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay for half board option - good value.”
 of 5 bubbles tidmaj, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5