We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

793 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Duke of Richmond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 755: English reviews
ABERDEEN
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Just returned from this wonderful hotel. All the staff are very helpful & friendly. The restaurant staff work extremely hard & nothing is too much trouble. Olga especially deserves a mention. She works so hard, keeping the restaurant running smoothly. Our bedroom was on top floor overlooking Candie Gardens & had a great view of the harbour. Bathroom was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAVA56
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CAVA56, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel with others. I was delighted that had an amazing time with us and appreciated the helpful and friendly service from all our staff. I was also very pleased to read that you found your...

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

My wife & I checked into "The Duke" for one night, with dinner, an upgraded room (the Duchess Suite) and breakfast included, for our 1st wedding anniversary. What a weekend! Excellent service, marshalled brilliantly by Orlando & his wife Olga. Superb facilities. Would we repeat next year? Certainly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KPR62
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KPR62, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay celebrating your wedding anniversary at our hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our fabulous Duchess Suite and the excellent service from Orlando and Olga. We cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel for another enjoyable...

North West England
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. The room was a decent size at the front of the hotel with no street noise. The staff were all very good, friendly and made our stay. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast, we had dinner twice, something we rarely do at hotels, so it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hampeter
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hampeter, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel and for recommending us to others. I was very pleased to read that you liked your room and the friendly service from our team. It is wonderful that you have chosen to dine with...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

The hotel is about 10mins walk up the hill from St Peter Port. It can be quite physical for some. On arrival we were told that parking is limited and may have to find on-street parking nearby. We were upgraded to a King room which was very nicely decorated as with all the rooms there. Room is on the small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheong80
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheong80, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience at our hotel with other travellers. It is wonderful that you thought your King room was nicely decorated, with modern bathroom and good pressure in the shower. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the professional and friendly...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 August 2015

From the friendly greeting on arrival to the spacipus and excellently pointed room this is a must stay and we certainly hope to return The decor is bold and clearly from the designer collection and the breakfast is really excellent, served in a stunning conservatory which sits above the pool area Just a short walk to town and with everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue S
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue S, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel with other travellers. I was very pleased that you had such an amazing time with us and was delighted to hear that, not only did you receive a very warm welcome from our team but that you...

Reviewed 23 August 2015

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed. I usually never stay in luxury hotels but the fact that my company allocated me at The Duke was a great pleasure. The staff was great and really knew how to offer the service you would expect. Breakfast and dinner were fantastic and of great quality and variation. Must stay when in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margarita S
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margarita S, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner and felt that you received a perfect service whilst staying with us. We hope that we may have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel next...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We have just finished a wonderful relaxing week at this fabulous Hotel. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. First class service given from all members of staff, nothing too much trouble. Food excellent. Would recommend. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katzgalore1
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katzgalore1, I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us. My team and I were thrilled to read that you enjoyed our attentive service and excellent food. We will be looking forward to your next stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel and it will be my greatest pleasure to help you...

Austrian Alps, Austria
Reviewed 22 August 2015

The hotel has been amazing ! As I celebrated the 40 anniversery of my wedding day there, I had a very nice surprise in my room---unforgettable !! And all the tiny treatments have been excellent. The friendly people at the reception helped us a lot with many suggestions and ideas. Don`t miss the afternoon tea--a delight !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria61149
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria61149, I would like to thank you for such a fabulous review . I was delighted to hear that you had the most amazing time celebrating your 40thWedding anniversary at The Duke of Richmond Hotel and that my colleagues ensured that day was special for you. I was very happy to read that you loved our afternoon tea and...

Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed at dor for an amazing week. Wonderful, happy, attentive staff , especially Olga and Orlando. Food couldn't ask for better. Opulent decor, every need catered for. Can highly recommend everything about this hotel. Thank you for a wonderful week. X

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry Y
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Garry Y, It has made my team and I very happy to learn that your recent stay at our hotel left such special and happy memories of your holiday. It is wonderful that you loved the food served in the Leopard Restaurant, elegant décor and a friendly service from all our staff. I will be especially pleased to pass...

Suffolk
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

So we booked a Double Room with sea view. On arrival we were given a lovely room but oh so tiny.....I did not feel I could live in such a tiny room for four days and asked if they could do something. We were very prepared to pay to upgrade and I have to say Ben on reception went out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomsGrandma

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (190)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.4 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
713 reviews
0.5 km away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
1.4 km away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.0 km away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Price Range: RM598 - RM1,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Duke of Richmond Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Duke of Richmond Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Junior suites are spacious and comfortable!”
 of 5 bubbles sarkanglican, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ideal to get into the town”
 of 5 bubbles barbadoslady, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms nearest the front of the hotel are odd-shaped, but still plenty big enough.”
 of 5 bubbles NathanT520, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a good-sized room and if you want a sea view make sure you're on an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles RoamerWestSussex, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“King twin rooms were fabulous”
 of 5 bubbles juliedaly, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5