We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Exmoor White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Exmoor White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Exmoor White Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 429: English reviews
London
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

We stopped here for a riverside drink today. I was deeply disappointed when I asked what wine they had to be shown 2 wine taps with little choice. I opted reluctantly for a Chenin Blanc, more of a shameful plonk. My partner wished to pay by card. He was charged even for the use of a debit card even though...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Itinarent-sw19
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were saddened to read your comments regarding your visit and would like to make it clear that there was obviously a misunderstanding with regards to what we have on offer in our Bar for our wine selection. We have three wine taps in the Bar which offer a selection of 8 Wines By The Glass, all of which are...

Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Our car broke down half a mile up the road from this pub. Myself, my husband and our daughter were stranded at 11pm with no phone signal and a dead car. A lovely man stopped and called the owner of the White Horse to explain our situation and to find out if he had a room. He was so incredibly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cazzycaz1
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

True Exmoor Hospitality is what we pride ourselves on and we always like to think that we treat people in a way that we hope others would do to us. It was a pleasure to help you and try and take some of the stress out of your unfortunate situation. Thank you for all your kind words and we look...

Wareside
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

We visited Exford last week and found ourselves eating here 3 times in five nights. Quite busy at times the steak and ale pie was fantastic and good portions. The steak was just right, medium rare was medium rare. The staff were so helpful and the barman very thorough . This is a restaurant hotel that is really customer orientated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grahamtakats
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We really hope that people reading all the reviews here on Trip Advisor can see that this is what we really are: a Hotel, Restaurant and Bar that place great importance on customer service and satisfaction,offering quality and value for money, and going out of our way to make sure that all our customers leave here...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Stayed in Honeymoon room which was roomy and well appointed. Generally Hotel seemed very well maintained which isn't always the case with older private hotels. Ate in the bar and Wednesday night carvery which was tasty and reasonable. Being in the middle of nowhere theres no cellphone service which may or may not be to your liking, but the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark201105
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments, it is greatly appreciated. As far as the Wi-fi is concerned we have experienced problems covering all areas of a very large and old hotel but there are now very few areas in the hotel where there is no signal. However, we are reliant on a very small and old...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed here for 5 nights in early August.The building as a whole is very picturesque sitting next to the river.Restaurant we only tried on the first evening and didn't find it very good,however the bar meals were far better value.We had room 19 a double that was well furnished and clean however the bed a standard double meant that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atw11
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, all of which have been noted. With regard to the size of the room, unfortunately in a 16th century building some rooms do tend to be smaller than others, and hence we price accordingly, offering Classic, Luxury and Superior Rooms, The room you describe is one of our Classics, but...

Reviewed 8 August 2015

I never write reviews and honestly think this must be a complete exception...BUT ... we just popped in for a meal... and had our drinks and food order speedily taken and pointed to a table we could have... We ordered two Venison pies which looked incredibly tasty just in their description. We sat down and within probably less than 2...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonathan B
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We can't believe it either! To say that we were saddened by your review would be an understatement. We pride ourselves on offering great value for money alongside quality and true Exmoor hospitality, and it appears that we failed completely with regards to your visit.Chef's Exmoor Venison Pie is one of the most popular items on our Menu, and people...

Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

The barman was trying to run the bar and kept nipping of to assist kitchen which meant build up at the bar. When finally served the drink was flat due to pouring it in a hurry. The drink was a bottled beverage which was meant to be sparkling when I complained I was told it was meant to go flat...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan J
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were saddened to read your comments and you can be assured that this is not the type of service and hospitality that our customers can expect. The relevant staff have been spoken to about this.Please accept our sincere apologies

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights on a short break to Exmoor. It's a delightful setting next to the River Exe & the rooms are lovely - lovely furniture, comfortable beds and plenty of hot water (heated towel rails too - very nice). The staff were very friendly & went out of their way to make sure that we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tigris15
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all your positive comments, it is greatly appreciated. We really hope we can welcome you back for a return visit in the near future.

Exmouth
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We have stayed on Exmoor before, but never at the White Horse. The welcome was friendly as were all the staff. Our room was a superior double, which was fantastic with views across the village green. Well furnished with both settee and easy chair and squeaky clean. The breakfaast was excellent with buffet style and very good choice. We ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all your comments . We treat all feedback, both positive and negative, very seriously and we have passed your comments regarding vegetables on to Chef. We really hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Called in for a meal early evening last week. Thought we'd like to eat in the bar rather than the restaurant. Lovely beer, nice traditional bar room, comfortable seats. Good menu - we were looking forward to food. However, for whatever reason the whole ambiance was spoiled by having the television on the bar blurting out the 6.00 news loudly....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were saddened to receive your comments and can only apologise if the TV offended you, but we would like to point out that it is a very small TV that really does not impose on the bar at all, in fact it can only be seen by those very close, and the bar is very large with plenty of...

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Price Range: RM574 - RM856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Exmoor White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front for River view.”
boarder_12, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Main building seems a better choice vs lodge?”
alancook12, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have the babbling brook and the early morning tractor..!”
sarahm334, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask about size of room when booking.”
petermacloughlin, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the hotel and not the annex”
A8000KGjamesw, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5