We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bay Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 438: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

This is truly a sea front hotel on an unusually quiet part of the Exmouth sea front so it is reasonably undisturbed by revellers and traffic. The best way to describe the hotel is "faded grandeur" as undoubtedly it was really grand a generation or more ago. It's OK, comfortably cosy in both our room and the bar and lounge....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnHowardNorfolk
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have a on going refurbishment plan in place, and each year we do a number of projects to help with our guests experience, we do offer exceptional value for money. and we do get a very high percentage of repeat guests who return year after year, our guests do love the entertainment provided...

chilton co.durham.England
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I have no idea why this hotel gets some poor reviews, true there are minor niggles but overall it cannot be faulted. The hotel itself is in the process of being refurbished and I would hope a little ore attention given to disabled facilities. Be difficult to get a wheelchair up the front steps for a start and as there...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank marnie50
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review, It is really pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, I will take on board some of the things you say we could improve on, and once again a big thank you.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We stayed December just before xmas 2016 ,the hotel is on seafront but at this time of year the area is deadand I wouldn't go back to exmouth ..the hotel evening entertainment was good bingo quiz and singer, lounge comfortable but no heating on so very cold, the breakfast was good and plenty of choice, the evening meal was ok...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda O
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you found the break good value, and also the staff efficient and friendly. I will look into a couple of the comments which you raised, all comments are useful in helping us improve the service we give our guests. kind Regards Kenny sharp

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Food good but breakfast could be warmer but price paid great if you want 5 star pay for it staff great manager top notch some people are never happy and moan about everything we had one very nasty man nasty to staff not needed

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 771jenwal
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and I agree that for the prices charged these breaks are excellent value for money. Hope to see you again. Kind regards Kenny sharp

Repton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Not my usual holiday but a coach trip with 4 friends. Good basic food, excellent staff. Entertainment could be improved. Good base to explore the area. Draught through newly fitted double glazing. We were given a radiator which was a pain in the smallish room. Action promised, but no repair done. Also low pressure on shower was a nuisance. Water...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carolina359
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I will investigate if we have not already done so the problem you encountered with the new window. We hope that you will return for another stay with us as many others do. Regards Kenny sharp

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We had a fantastic holiday here, one of the best ever. We were put in a sea view room, which was absolutely perfect, no complaints whatsoever. The food was lovely and tasty and meant at lunchtimes all we needed was coffee and cake in the lovely town of exmouth. Entertainment was exactly as expected, sometimes good sometimes awful but entertaining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sammiejj34
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review all feedback is welcome, it is really pleasing when we get such a fantastic review like yours, it gives the team a terrific boost. Thank you once again hope to see you again soon.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

On arrival I was given room 75, unfortunately it smelt as if a chain smoker had occupied the room previously so I could not possibly have remained . The staff being unaware of the state of the room was rather disturbing given the fire risk. Surely the smoke alarm should have alerted them, or even the cleaning staff! However, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I do apologise for the fact that the first room allocated to you smelt of smoke, however I am pleased to see that you were promptly moved to another room. We do have guests who ignore the rules, and some do continue to smoke in the rooms, We make every effort to ensure they don't smoke in their rooms, the...

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

The staff at the hotel are lovely and could not have been better ... The food was fair and always well cooked and presented...our stay was awesome and the best break we have been on... full value for money and got more than expected 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baron28
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its great to read that this was your best trip yet, this really gives the hotel team a big boost, We do try to give all our guests a great experience when staying with us here at the Grand. From myself and the Team have a great Christmas and a very prosperous New Year.

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

My wife and I were on a 5 day midweek break with Shearings, and everything went swimmingly well. Good choice of food at dinner and breakfast, excellent waiting staff, very efficient and patient bar staff. The icing on the cake was the four drinks vouchers a day, a real bonus! The room though smallish, was adequate, particularly as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnyno3
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your honest and lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to welcoming you back sometime. Merry Christmas and happy New Year David Bourne

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I stayed at this hotel recently with a group of people (not on a coach tour). I have mobility problems and had requested a room with a walk- in shower. Unfortunately, this was not provided and we were given a room with a very small bathroom, containing a bath with a shower over it, which I was unable to use,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SueMMarshall
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I feel it is rather unfair to give a 1 star rating as this does not give a true reflection of the situation. If people make specific requests; such as walk in shower due to mobility, we will try our very best to allocate a room with a walk in shower. As this is a request we can not guarantee...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.6 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.4 km away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
303 reviews
0.0 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: RM319 - RM423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Aylesbury, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 51 sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 984peterf, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Premium Room / Sea View Number 54.2nd Floor”
 of 5 bubbles R4047JKjamesm, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We certainly found the seaview room was well worth the additional cost.”
 of 5 bubbles JP1Surrey, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room didn't have a view but it didn't matter .”
 of 5 bubbles vivienbrindley, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles EXGRANGE, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5