We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Beacon Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Beacon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Beacon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 284: English reviews
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

My wife and I booked a 1 night stay to watch beach competition. The building is old and the carpets are a little frayed but some would say it gives the place character. Our room was large, clean and the linen was decent quality (I like nice sheets to sleep in). The bathroom had been recently refurbished I think and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAGJAN
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cagjan We are extremely grateful for the positive remarks and feedback you have provided on this popular website. Please be assurred a copy of the remarks has been passed onto our housekeeping team. Our hotel has terrific location and we provide a great selection of offers to suit everyone, when choosing where to stay. Thanks again for the feedback...

Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Lovely hotel to stay in, really friendly staff, nice clean room, 5 mins walk from an amazing restraunt ( Les saveurs ) and 5 mins walk from the seafront. We would defo stay here again. Only downside was it rained quite alot and from our room it sounded like we were staying next to a waterfall. Think the gutters could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian F
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julian F It is always pleasing to read favourable comments from our guests, so thank you for taking the time to send your comments. Our hotel is in a wonderful location and proves very popular, for the reasons you have described. Thank you again. John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Stopped for 3 nights with my father,and we were in the budget room (court yard;room 407)). To say the room was poor was an understatement. The window looked in need of repair,we had no tv reception for 2days,the bulb in a light over the one bed needed replacing,the toilet holder was coming away from the wall,the shower doors didnt shut...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shaun S Thank you for your valuable feedback and I was sorry to read that our budget £59 room did not meet your standards, please accept my apologies for your disappointment. We are delighted that you did enjoy the service from our staff and I have passed a copy of your remarks onto the relevant team members. Car parking...

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

We were warmly greeted by the hotel manageress Kim on our arrival which was a lovely start to our little family holiday. Through out our stay we were met with smiles a polite conversations from all the staff. Very accommodating hotel, with a lovely family atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassie R
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cassie R We are grateful for your compliments after your recent stay with us, it is always pleasing for all our staff to read such feedback. All such remarks are fed back to our team, at our weekly meetings. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

After a busy few months, me and the other half decided to take a well earned break. We wanted to do absolutely nothing. Royal Beacon Hotel seemed to be the one we were looking for, so we decided to go for the Double Room. The Price of £105 per night including breakfast seemed reasonable too. We arrived on the Tuesday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jen b
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jen B We are always grateful to receive feedback from our guests after they have stayed with us. All the points that are brought to our attention, whether it be by guests who speak with us at reception or by comments received through this extremely popular website, are discussed at our team meetings, to ensure we can always improve...

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Stayed at the hotel 2 nights with my son. The room was a large twin room, there was a iron burn print on the floor, the room was a little cold so needed the fan on. Saying that the room was comfortable as it had 2 chairs to sit on while watching TV etc not having to lie on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesley1440
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lesley Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback after your recent stay with us. It is pleasing that you will chose to the Royal Beacon Hotel, if you return to Exmouth. We discuss all such comments with our team, so we can improve the facilities we offer. Thanks again John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed in the beacon for three nights in august 2015 and on balance was happy with the hotel Pluses : minutes from.beach and town centre so did not need car. Bed very comfy and room quiet. Substantial breakfast. Large room big enough for me to practice yoga ! Mostly friendly obliging staff. Minuses : the decor is very dated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vata68
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vata68 Your report is quite extensive and provides some valuable feedback for both ourselves and for guests reviewing our hotel, via this popular site. So thank you for taking the time in providing your comments. Obviously there are restrictive areas around a building, that is over 200 years old, that limit both access internally and with our small car...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Visited for Sunday lunch. We opted for the set lunch menu allowing you to choose either a starter and main course or a main course and dessert for a brilliant price. All 5 of us chose a main course and a dessert. The food was simply sensational. I ordered the chicken Sunday lunch. The chicken was so juicy and succulent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BabyRaven
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helena Thank you for the lovely feedback you have provided after dining in our 1810 Restaurant. Sunday lunch is extremely popular with a large number of guests who return regularly. I have passed a copy of your comments onto the relevant staff, as they are always pleased to read our guests' comments. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

been here several times its never been great but priced reasonable so for 1 or 2 nights its sustainable this time had a nice room but tatty old bath with shower attachment but no means of turning shower on so bath only bathroom was really tatty very lumpy old mattress very tired and dated however food this time was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bill S We are delighted to read the the value and location of our hotel attract you to return on a regular basis. Your comments are greatly appreciated and have been fed through to our team of staff. The bath / shower valve has now been loosened and works far more smoothly, sadly our car park cannot be extended...

Aberdare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Stayed for 4 nights in a budget room in a separate building from the hotel. Felt on arrival that carpets had seen better days and room was quite small. However our stay was very enjoyable. Window in room only opened a small amount and bathroom window had no way of keeping open also there were no towels in our room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corrina J
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Corrina J We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed a lovely break at our hotel and that you would return. Thank you for providing this valuable feedback on both our hotel and Exmouth too, your review will provide a valuable overview to anyone considering visiting this region of Devon. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.5 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
162 reviews
13.6 km away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: RM326 - RM586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Langley, Buckinghamshire
1 month ago
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A seaward facing room is the best, but I had a rear facing room overlooking the Estuary which was still pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles 956stephenj, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 304 is at the rear of the build but has a great estuary view”
 of 5 bubbles MrsA28, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably best not to book a budget room if you are looking to impress or relax in comfort. Upper rooms at the front would have a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles D8390LBpeterh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“sea view are the best but in need of attention”
 of 5 bubbles Oyster545, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are staying for more than a couple of nights go for the main building, front facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles N0rahB, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5