We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Highwayman Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sourton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Highwayman Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 184: English reviews
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We've just moved to Okehampton, and are so pleased to find this wondeful pub only 5 miles away. We went to the open mike night tonight and had such fun. Bruce is such a lovely chap. Would defiantly recommend the inn to everyone. Top marks!

Helpful?
Thank beightonnick
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for participating in the night. Bruce loved it. I had to go early but heard about it. Some very talented people participated. It is amazing what is hidden in this county. In appreciation of you all Sally. More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

As a novelty pub it's got lots of character. Dark corners, little hideaways, objects to capture your imagination. As a pub, don't think I would visit it again. We dropped in for a quick bite as we were passing. Service very slow, two bars run by one person and you could see people getting frustrated. food expensive for a limited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barrie59
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you werent happy with us. I was unfortunately away that day unavoidably. Normally two of us run the bar and it is not so slow and it was a rather busy day. As for the cost of the scampi, we do buy in the better quality ranges of products and the scampi is battered not crumbed so it is... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

4 of us popped in today for a light lunch. Sandwiches were great. The inside of this pub is so amazing so much to see and the hosts are chatt and friendly. We were also fortunate to see the angel room. Been about 2 years since we last came and glad to see Sally and Bruce still the same. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank redbabe999
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you my lovelies. Look forward to seeing you next time. Glad you liked and 'get' the inn. More 

Teignmouth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was one of four that visited on Sunday 6th Nov, yes the pub is interesting and a little different, but you really can't justify charging £5.50 for a small microwaved Pasty even if it is part of a combined meal which we didn't want. We wanted a snack but charging £22 for 4 pasties is nothing short of RIP... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cludasdulac
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Just to put things in context, I have just paid £3.50 for a hot pasty from a reputable company which was served in a paper bag to take away at Clapham Junction. I ate it standing up in the station. There was no seat, no table, no cutlery, condiments or plate. No interesting room, no waiter service, no heating, no... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in today for a drink and a snack, and the novelty soon wore off when we were charged £11 for 2 small, poor quality, microwaved pasties, which were just about edible. Total came to just over £20 with a few half pints of coke and larger on top, and in addition to this they charged us 50p to pay... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Joe B
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointrd with your experience at the inn. I thank you for your comments and would like to address a few points you have made. Our pasties are combination cooked and are normally served with chips and gravy or mash and vegetables but I believe you didnt want those and we reduced the price accordingly... More 

Empingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was here in 1978 with my family and friends now I'm 48 and I've taken my wife and daughter here and they was just as amazed as I was back then you must go here if you are in this area good food about 12 mains all priced £ 10 and the beer is good and they have a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FREDBENTON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As if you need more reason to go to the Highwayman other than the fact that you can drink a pint of Dick Turpin's very own beer. After the Dartmoor opening hours thwarted my first attempt at wetting my whistle here, I returned by way of a detour off the A30. My wife and I explored, drank and marvelled at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Will P
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Passed here many times with work. But never stopped in. So when going to cornwall with wifey i just had to stop off !! glad we did. What weird & wonderfull deccor inside & out. We didnt eat but there were many there who did so guess it is good. we did have a local cider each & tasty &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave j
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Having visited The Highwayman on many occasions over forty years, I can only discribe it as unique in the most qwerky way possible. It feels as if you are stepping back into time as soon as you enter the Inn through the old Okehampton Stagecoach door, (see photos of the Inn). This Inn has been passed down from the former... More 

Helpful?
Thank SandyElinca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Just had a meal for a family of four. Nice varied Menu. The Chips (if you are a chip person) are above and beyond. Ample portions. Well cooked. Good prompt service. Good value for money. Would most certainly return. Make sure you phone and make a reservation to avoid dissapointment. Please try this eatery, I feel you will be pleasently... More 

Helpful?
Thank RandomWelshTraveller
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. Really liked the concise way you explained your experience. It was clear, kind and showed objectivity. Your visit was appreciated. Hope to see you again. Best Wishes SallyT More 

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sourton
7.1 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
81 reviews
8.7 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
351 reviews
12.1 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
15.7 km away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
431 reviews
22.3 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The highwayman is considered England's most unusual inn. It is filled with eclectic curiosities and artefacts housed in a tasteful surreal and atmospheric setting. Nestling on the edge of Dartmoor it provides. A romantic and interesting environment to enjoy simple lunchtime fare or a more sophisticalted evening menu for residents that encompasses lobster and steak dishes. Three four poster rooms with ensuites and more practical cabin boat rooms suitable for cyclists and walkers exploring the area on foot or bike are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Highwayman Inn

Address: Okehampton | Devon, Sourton EX20 4HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sourton
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Highwayman Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Highwayman Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles FREDBENTON, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Minimal rooms, but all feel as if you're stepping back into time. Wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyElinca, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are furnished with antiques. The Angel room has a slipper bath”
 of 5 bubbles RogerB85, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“more of a pub then somewhere to stay”
 of 5 bubbles debbiegQ6439SU, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we didn't actually stay here”
 of 5 bubbles King_Druid, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5