We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 717: English reviews
Sutton Coldfield
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been coming to the Woolacombe Bay Hotel for 10 years, my wife 24 years. It never fails to disappoint. We are staying in The Turret which has an amazing view of the panoramic sea. The staff are all charming and the food is of a great quality. All the team go above and beyond to make your stay relaxing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonMWilson
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is really lovely to hear that your returning to the hotel year after year and that after all this time we haven't been able to disappoint. I am glad that the team look after you so well and I will make sure they are aware of your kind words. Thank you...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Woolacombe Bay Hotel is highly rated however on my second stay I was disappointed with the room and choice of food offered. I have stayed here before on business, out of season, and was impressed with the price and the room so I wanted to share the good experience with my other half. This time for the price the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anny B
WoolacombeHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay. We are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience in both your bedroom and the food offering during your stay. As you have mentioned had we been aware of your upset with your room we could have moved you to a room that would have been more...

Lancing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is simple - charming staff in all departments. Very pleasant room with a fabulous view. The Breakfast is sensational. The seaside location almost unbeatable for this country. My only criticism is that the prices to stay were a tad high. Otherwise brilliant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
WoolacombeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we will see you again soon! Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered the roast chicken for £14 and was presented with 6 very small roast potatoes 2 very small pieces of chicken and a piece of collaflower taking the p##s or what!one of my friends asked for a burger with no sauce and got it covered in sauce and for what was charged really nothing special

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
WoolacombeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments from your recent visit. We very much appreciate your feedback of which will be discussed in detail with our restaurant and kitchen team. We hope that we will be able to see you again soon to restore your faith in us and our restaurant. Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Delightful Hotel, well appointed rooms. Went for a Spa break truly one of the best I have experienced. Delightful staff & experienced. bright and airy Bedrooms. Easy walk to beach and great coastal walks. Most enjoyable part of North Devon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RylandHelen
WoolacombeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your Spa break and felt truly relaxed. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you again, Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

Bayeux, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice hotel, Victorian style (made me think of some buildings found on the Côte Basque - Biarritz) with a lot of character The room was splendid, nice dinner at the Brasserie/Pub, good quality cuisine A good option for my guests as we travel back in time and history For a family, a couple, I would recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudy P
WoolacombeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed you and your guests enjoyed your stay. We hope that we will be able to see you again soon. Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel with friends for two nights . The hotel looks really ordinary from the outside which is in direct contrast to the rather grand interior. It has wonderful views of the bay and beautiful views. The welcome from the staff was warm and professional. We booked a standard double room with land views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
WoolacombeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted that you loved the hotel, facilities and that our team looked after you. We really do hope that we will see you again soon. Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reasonably comfortable hotel. Breakfast and dinner food and service quality was very good, even though most staff had difficulty speaking English. We received an e-mail after booking non refundable that the room had no shower, just a roll top bath. Hotel owner has a form over function problem, as we found there was plenty of room in the bathroom to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank j0llyjumper
WoolacombeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed some of your stay. We are however disappointed that you were not pleased with your bedroom that you were allocated. We do have so many different styles of rooms with various bathroom configurations and so I sorry that we didn't have the opportunity of changing this...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of five visited recently. The staff were very helpful and we were made to feel like welcome guests which was lovely. There was plenty of room to relax and the grounds are gorgeous. We will go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fersmeare
WoolacombeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt so welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have used the woolacombe bay hotel for short breaks for a number of years this trip was a little different for us as we would normally leave the dogs at home but against my wish I was convinced by my partner to bring them along. So contacted the hotel and was advised this is not a problem but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ED M
WoolacombeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and even more delighted that you are booking your wedding with us too! We very much look forward to welcoming you and your guests back next year! Kindest regards Michelle Worsfold

822 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (251)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (544)
Viewed
Amenities (109)
Viewed
Classic Family Room (41)
Viewed
Din Sands (48)
Viewed
Luxury Sea View Room (30)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Potters Hill (53)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Sea View Balcony Double (27)
Viewed
Standard Classic Double (27)
Viewed
The Bay Lido (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
The Loft - Luxury Sea View Suite (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.9 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
684 reviews
6.0 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,589 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
496 reviews
4.1 km away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
13.3 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Price Range: RM767 - RM1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Woolacombe Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Delabole, cornwall United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Woolacombe Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check room before you accept it, ask if any maintenance in progress.”
 of 5 bubbles 339annyb, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles RylandHelen, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view....”
 of 5 bubbles RodolpheP, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are several family rooms and two different layouts”
 of 5 bubbles fersmeare, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for luxury sea view”
 of 5 bubbles ExeterSunflower, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay