We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Caledonian Hotel

Booking.comUS$48*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Thank you ever so much for the fantastic christmas day dinner. Great friendly service meal course timings were first class .The food quality was first class . We enjoyed it so much . For all of you to give up your Christmas day so everyone else's is special is much appreciated . Nothing was too much trouble .Will be back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandyrangersl
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this very positive review. I am so glad you had a wonderful Christmas day with, its means a lot to us when guests choose to spend there Christmas day with us. Until next year. Lauren

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Our party of 4 had a Xmas lunch here and the food was awful on every course, we were not offered any compensation considering this was a much looked forward to lunch' we have had Sunday lunch here which was good, but this time it was terrible!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 621retired
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, I am really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your Christmas lunch with us. If you would like to get in touch with more details on your visit I would be happy to respond accordingly. Thank you Lauren

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Just returned from a two night stay whilst visiting friends and have to say it was great. ok yes the rooms are a bit dated however they are clean and a good size with a very comfortable bed. The hotel is situated very central so ideal for our stay with shops and bars a stone throw away. Could'nt say anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRENDA D
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi BRENDA D, Glad you had an enjoyable visit to our hotel recently. We hope you choose us next time you are visiting family and friends. Lauren

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Went for a quick lunch. Ordering at the bar should have been smooth but the young girl was a lot slow, and polite smiles with customer service was clearly off her menu that day. Food arrived fairly quickly, was well served by a charming young man. Presentation was good and the lunch was very good. Drinks prices are also reasonable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee337337
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate all feedback and always discuss with staff at our meetings. I am really glad you enjoyed your lunch. Lauren

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Stayed here for a couple of nights in at the beginning of November with our two dogs. Staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed a comfortable stay. The hotel was central and a great base to explore the area. Good choice at breakfast and excellent value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel A
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hazel A, thank you for taking time to give us a review, All the staff enjoy reading them, thanks again, hope to see you soon. Lauren Turnbull Asst Manger

Reviewed 30 October 2016

went in at 5 pm for a meal lots of tables reserved waitress told us we could have the table till 6pm .ordered soup and two mains ,and waited and waited 25 mins for soup !.waitress told us 2 large tables were in tonight ? largest table seemed to have 6 diners . not very civil .mains arrived on cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tansy L
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you didn't have a pleasant experience with, I will certainly take this up with the staff on shift on how best to avoid this happening again. Lauren Turnbull Asst Manager

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stopped for one night only whilst visiting a relative in the local hospital, the hotel was lovely, large comfy bed and room, tea/coffee provided, lovely shower also. We had a meal in the hotel also, which was delicious, the staff were so friendly and attentive, even created a salad for me, which was perfect. A sound nights sleep had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marksarah2014
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review and comments, we do hope to see you again soon. Lauren

Fife Scotland
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Was in tonight as we usually are on a Friday , table 1 left at 18.20 (yes i`ve written this right away) So ordered fish and chips for me and my partner. As they were being brought out , the girl serving dropped one of the fish on the floor.So she served my partner hers and served me a plate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gunny_Scotland
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

I have spoken to all the staff that were on this shift. I have spoken with the girl who dropped the fish and the other manger who was on shift (the girl that served you the replacement fish). Before I go on I would just like to make you aware that I had not been informed that you asked for...

Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Me & my partner stayed here a few times, the hotel decor needs updated. The Hotel staff are very friendly & polite. The hotel was clean. The food was good, basic pub food. Definitely would stay here again. Great place & area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deano1912
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you deano1912 for the lovely review, hope too see you soon Lauren

edinburgh
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in September, the place is full of noise from the very creaky floor to the shops on the side street taking delivery at five in the morning. We ate in the bar one evening we thought the portion size was on the small side and the presentation was poor. See attached photo of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bdcedinburgh
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi bdcedinburgh, I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a very relaxing stay with us. I can only apologise that the shops had to take delivery's that early in the morning. I will ask, if in future that they get them a little bit later as not to disturb our guests. Asst Manger Lauren Turnbull

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
2.8 km away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
487 reviews
9.8 km away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
10.7 km away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
11.1 km away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
11.6 km away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: 81 High Street, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Price Range: RM241 - RM363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caledonian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Leven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't come here.”
  • Decor room 16
907jackiee, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“One with clean windows”
  • Basic
tori4187069, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are probably better”
derekmunro41, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The hotel was very quiet so any of the rooms would have been acceptable.”
HazelA428, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“None don't go!”
wishbonemusic, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$48* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$48
Hotels.comUS$48
Agoda.comUS$48
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates