We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Caledonian Hotel

Hotels.comUS$49*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Me & my partner stayed here a few times, the hotel decor needs updated. The Hotel staff are very friendly & polite. The hotel was clean. The food was good, basic pub food. Definitely would stay here again. Great place & area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deano1912
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you deano1912 for the lovely review, hope too see you soon Lauren

edinburgh
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in September, the place is full of noise from the very creaky floor to the shops on the side street taking delivery at five in the morning. We ate in the bar one evening we thought the portion size was on the small side and the presentation was poor. See attached photo of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bdcedinburgh
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi bdcedinburgh, I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a very relaxing stay with us. I can only apologise that the shops had to take delivery's that early in the morning. I will ask, if in future that they get them a little bit later as not to disturb our guests. Asst Manger Lauren Turnbull

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst working in St Andrews , i wont be back . Reception was deserted , musty smell , room needed airing , restaurant was slow and food average an all round poor experience . There is no car park specifically for the hotel , there is a public car park next door which was full , a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birmingham123456
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry to hear that you were not impressed with your stay. Asst Manager Lauren Turnbull

Aldershot
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Originally where going to stay 6 nights. Ended up staying 9 nights. Yes as others have stated decor a bit tiered . Staff went above and beyond, nothing was too much trouble. However my husband was disappointed he didn't get Eggs Benedict for a variety of reasons. Other things on the menu were not always available or not as advertised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purrr123
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank you so much for your lovely review. Glad you had nice stay with us, and do hope we see you both very soon. From all the staff

Somerset
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This is the second time we've been on holiday and staying in a guest house in Leven that only does bed and breakfast, so this was the nearest place to get an evening meal. It's a "chain" restaurant, similar to Wetherspoons, so you pretty much know what to expect. Food orders are placed at the bar which can be an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gizmo2brian
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, sorry for the delay in responding. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant, much appreciated. Hope you visit us next time you are on holiday. Lauren

fife, scotland
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Really friendly service and nice chicken burger and chips. Boss had fish and chips as they'd ran out of all day breakfasts. We didn't have long but it was filing and good value and food disn't take long at all. Toilets were clean and tidy and place had a good family vibe to it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lippykels
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Lippykels, Glad you enjoyed your meal, hope to see you soon. Lauren

Moray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Arrived after travelling a seven hour journey to find nobody at reception. Waited 10 mins to then go and find someone in the restaurant to check us in. Got to our room to find it quite dirty and below standards i expected. Went to the restaurant which was really busy to try and find a table. Eventually we found one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delart33
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

delartspence, I am really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you would like to discuss further you can call me on 01333 424101 Asst Manger Lauren Turnbull

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

On arrival the receptionist was on the telephone taking a booking. Her attitude to the customer was inconsequential. When she put the phone down she asked me to wait a minute while she took care of her computer. 5 minutes later after doing god knows what she acknowledged I was there. I'll leave that one to your imagination. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wishbonemusic
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, First of all let me apologise for the inconvenience of having to wait while the receptionist was on the phone to another customer. There is usually only one member of staff on a time that handles the reception, and this may mean that they are handling guest bookings over the phone an/or at the front desk. Again the...

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Dirty. Our bedroom had shards of glass all over the carpet. Not even up to Weatherspoon standard of accommodation. Leven is awful. Please don't book. Food basic chain pub food. When we arrived, mid afternoon there were bales of washing everywhere. Mold in bathroom. DISGUSTING

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moto1963
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, I am rather concerned that not only one, but two rooms had smashed glass all over the carpet and still the house keepers failed to notice this, of course I will be looking into this very serious breach of Health and Safety. We are part of Greeneking, who own a chain of pubs, restaurants and hotels. I'm sorry...

Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Went for breakfast on Sunday to see a notice on the door saying they were closed for breakfast due to staff training, that's fine I can accept we wasted our time going there & went elsewhere. Went back again on Friday night for our tea, after standing @ the bar for about 10 minutes was told that they couldn't cook...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carol G, thank you for taking the time to write your review. Staff training is very important to us and unfortunately we do have to close for a period of time and we try and do this on days when we are quiet and cause the least inconvenience to our customers. I am aware of the issue with the...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
2.8 km away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
495 reviews
9.8 km away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
10.7 km away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
11.1 km away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
11.6 km away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: 81 High Street, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Price Range: RM245 - RM365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caledonian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Leven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't come here.”
  • Decor room 16
907jackiee, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“One with clean windows”
  • Basic
tori4187069, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are probably better”
derekmunro41, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The hotel was very quiet so any of the rooms would have been acceptable.”
HazelA428, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“None don't go!”
wishbonemusic, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$49* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$49
Expedia.comUS$49
LateRooms.comUS$49
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates