Ridgeland House

Ridgeland House

101 Linrigg Road South Lanridge Farm, Motherwell ML1 5UE Scotland
Traveller (29)
camera primo piano
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 1 B&B in Motherwell
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

Ridgeland House is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Motherwell, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

National Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes, Carfin Grotto (2.4 mi), located nearby, makes Ridgeland House a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Motherwell landmark.

Ridgeland House is a romantic bed and breakfast offering a flat screen TV, a seating area, and extra long beds in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The bed and breakfast features outdoor furniture, baggage storage, and a picnic area. Plus, guests can enjoy free breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Motherwell. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

If you like Asian restaurants, Ridgeland House is conveniently located near Shalimar Indian Restaurant.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Dalzell House, which is a popular historic site amongst tourists.

Enjoy your stay in Motherwell!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
91Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Explore wrote a review Feb 2020
17 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our weekend stay at Ridgeland House. Margaret was a fabulous host and the room was so spacious and comfortable. The house is stone's throw from the motorway, but surrounded by attractive green fields and pure golden silence apart from the wind. A terrific refuge from Storm Dennis!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Margaret Lawson, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Ridgeland House. Sorry I can't do anything about wind. Hopefully when you return to this area the sun will shine. Hope you had a good journey home.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew H wrote a review Jun 2019
Halifax, United Kingdom117 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a find!
We booked this place as a group of 8, and initially there was a booking error with the type of rooms we requested (our fault not there’s) however this was not an issue with the owner, Margaret, who did a bit of magic and made enough room for us all.
Apart from he quality of the house, the one quality that really makes your stay are the hosts, Margaret and Jim. They really can not do enough for you, and really do make you feel at home. Perfect hosts.
The actual house is like a tardis, the rooms are very big - the pictures do not do the place justice, as a group we ended up with 2 double rooms, a twin and the external lodge. No complaints from anyone. There was a very good breakfast - Margaret and Jim were still cooking for us even after the 10.30 checkout that’s in place!
The last thing to mention is the location, you’re 20/25 mins from the centre of Glasgow, yet you feel like you could be in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by fields and a very peaceful spot.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Margaret L, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 25 Jun 2019
You were all very welcome and I am glad we could sort out the beds. We hope to see you all again to thank you in person for the great review. We hope you had a good journey home
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D C wrote a review Apr 2014
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom5 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm reluctant to add a good review for this place because I want it to be available for my next trip to Glasgow/Edinburgh, but that would be mean - especially to Margaret, who runs the best B&B we've visited in the area (and we've stayed in a few).

I can't add much more to the reviews on this page. All-round excellence.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: They're all good, as far as I could see.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
431DerekM wrote a review Apr 2014
Salzburg, Austria20 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ridgeland House sets the benchmark for how B&Bs should be run. Everything here is top drawer....from the quality of the accommodation to the quality of the food, not to mention the hospitality.

Margaret and Jim are the perfect hosts and any would-be hoteliers would benefit from doing some undercover work here!

I would recommend Ridgeland House to anyone and it is the perfect spot for those who want to explore Edinburgh, Glasgow, Sterling and the Clyde Valley.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DenRum wrote a review Nov 2013
Esentepe, Cyprus24 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well this is the 2nd time we have stayed at a Ridgeland House - the beautiful home of Margaret & Jim.
This time we stayed for 3 nights and everything was perfect - we arrived and Margaret showed us to our room. The first thing I asked was "where is the football", the room was huge, decor brilliant, views stunning, location perfect.

I have stayed at many 5 Star hotels and B&B's in my time but I know I could not find anything better than Ridgeland House.

Margaret & Jim, we will be back in the new year - can't wait for that Scottish breakfast !!

Jim is is the process of building a log cabin for guests - can't wait for that.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: ALL the rooms and en suite's are brilliant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SWright26 wrote a review Sept 2013
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely beautiful hotel. Unbelievable quality for a very reasonable price. Made to feel at home from the minute we a arrived. Rooms are very spacious, well kept and pleasantly decorated. Very clean. Cannot fault it! Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thibault S wrote a review Jul 2013
Badalona, Spain20 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent the last night of our trip in Scotland in the Ridgeland House. It was a last minute booking without any idea of what to expect.
The surprise was really good. The bedroom was really big and the owner was really nice with us.
I wish I could have spent more time there....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KimboCymru wrote a review Dec 2012
Cymru6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My career has afforded extensive worldwide travel throughout 20+ years. I have been fortunate enough to stay in some very exlusive hotels and not so lucky on times when only toilet accommodation was available. I have experienced the whole spectrum.
Ridgeland House B&B is simply amazing and puts a very big tick in every box; the quality, the welcome, the breakfast, the view, the beds, the bathroom, the cleanliness, the ample parking and especially the relaxed friendliness of both Maggie and Jim.
Ridgeland House remains beyond competition, even when compared to some so-called posh hotels. *****
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Choose any room - they're all top class.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Schaessens N wrote a review Aug 2012
Meulebeke, Belgium25 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
it was a very nice b&b at a reasonable price (we paid £ 80 for 2 adults and 2 children with breakfast)
we had a really big and beautifull room, also a brand new bathroom
we will certenly come back
a very big parking and close to the motorway
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ted S wrote a review Jun 2012
Devon uk42 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In 15 years of travelling throughout the UK this B&B has to be the best value ever.
Brilliantly situated just off the A8/M8 but in a rural location, it's so peaceful.
The rooms are extremely large, and in a newly built house. Well furnished- I was able to sit in a very comfortable easy chair looking out over fields while I caught up with my day's emails and work with the free wi-fi.
Breakfast was a well presented collection of quality ingredients, and Margaret is an affable and extremely friendly hostess.
Being rural, evening meals would mean driving out, or eating before you arrive.... But is that a problem to the vast majority?
If there was anything I felt needed improving, I would say so, but there simply isn't... Good luck Margaret- keep up the good work... You have a real gem here, and you haven't seen the last of me!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philip W asked a question Apr 2017
United Kingdom
Are dogs allowed
Answer from Margaret L
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Sorry we do not take dogs
Answer from Margaret L
Motherwell, United Kingdom
The cabin has 2 bedrooms with a shared sitting area. Depending when and how long you are thinking about booking the cabin I maybe able to close the other room. Please phone to discuss further. Kind regards Margaret
vashantpattni wrote a tip May 2018
Wellingborough, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are great but also has wood lodge. Superb all way round"
Read full review
smokeybrown1977 wrote a tip Oct 2017
Kettering, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Family room is huge!"
Read full review
Jazzydog4 wrote a tip Aug 2017
Bailey, Colorado20 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Loved our suite on the top floor."
Read full review
Kev B wrote a tip Jul 2017
exeter6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for the log cabin if possible - amazing"
Read full review
murphy64 wrote a tip Jun 2017
Isle of Man, United Kingdom25 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth going for one of the large upstairs room,if available,or maybe the log cabin."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Motherwell area.
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandNorth LanarkshireMotherwell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIDGELAND HOUSE: See 77 Reviews and 29 Photos (Motherwell, Scotland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ridgeland House
Which popular attractions are close to Ridgeland House?
Nearby attractions include Tinto Hill (5.1 km), National Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes, Carfin Grotto (3.8 km), and Railway Tavern (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ridgeland House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Ridgeland House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Ridgeland House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ridgeland House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ridgeland House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mad Batter Bakery And Coffee Shop, Dakota Bar and Grill, and Da Claudio.
Are there any historical sites close to Ridgeland House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hartwood Hospital (4.8 km) and Bellshill Academy (7.0 km).
All Motherwell HotelsMotherwell Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MotherwellHotels near Ridgeland House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire