The Gleneagles Hotel

The Gleneagles Hotel

Near British School of Falconry, Auchterarder PH3 1NF Scotland
Traveller (2686)
The Drawing Room
Room & Suite (474)
Birnam Brasserie Winter Garden
Dining (246)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Auchterarder
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
When Gleneagles first opened its doors in 1924, this magnificent countryside estate in the heart of Scotland was described as a "riviera in the Highlands". Today, as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World, Gleneagles continues to offer an unrivalled array of attractions, including luxury hotel accommodation, a range of bespoke suites, three championship golf courses, an award-winning spa, and Restaurant Andrew Fairlie, the only restaurant in Scotland to hold two Michelin stars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Tennis court
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Near British School of Falconry, Auchterarder PH3 1NF Scotland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Turnhouse Airport
44.5 km
See all flights
Dundee Airport
49.6 km
See all flights
5,495Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,303
  • 665
  • 309
  • 138
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Karoleann wrote a review Jan 2020
London, England54 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can only echo some of the comments made by previous reviewers. Our whole stay was absolutely fabulous. It was, of course, very expensive, but the whole package felt good value for the money (the majority of the meals are included as are some drinks) every meal was exquisite. There were so many activities to join in with, we took part in pottery painting, ice skating, shooting, the treasure hut was brilliant. Cocktail making was fun and sociable too.
We had interconnecting rooms 262 and 264(with an extra bed), both rooms were spacious and well maintained.
If you're thinking of going, you need to book well in advance (we booked in early February), you must also book activities and restaurants as soon as possible. The brunch at the Birnham Brasserie is a must on New Year's Day.
It's also very dressy, especially on New Year's Eve, the majority of women wore long and/or very sparkly evening dresses. The children who attended also wore suits/waistcoats. On the other evenings most of the men wore jackets for dinner (and a sizeable minority wore them for breakfast too!)
Staff and service was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGleneaglesHotel, General Manager at The Gleneagles Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thank you for sharing your glowing review of Gleneagles. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, from taking part in many of our festive activities to wonderful dining experiences. Ensuring that all of our guests leave Gleneagles with found memories is at the very heart of what we stand for. I will certainly share your feedback with the teams, who will be delighted and we do hope to welcome you back again this year! Kind regards, Conor O'Leary Joint Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott Nicol wrote a review Aug 2020
Bromley, United Kingdom4 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself, my wife and my 4 year old boy have just spent 5 days at the resort, we had a super time, however there is most certainly a lot of room for improvement.

Every hotel has challenges around COVID at the moment, however there was a lot of contradictory measures that the hotel has implemented, that even its own staff do not adhere to. Ask all guests to social distance but staff don't adhere to it when it comes to interacting with guests, keep to the left where possible but staff walk to the right and knock over kids, book a breakfast slot and then tell you they are full. Appreciate the climate is difficult but the resort could be managing COVID so much better.

The majority of the staff were extremely friendly, albeit some of the staff in the Strathearn restaurant were extremely rude (typically non-scottish), we had quite a lot hap hazard service at breakfast and dinner with the wrong food and food not turning up on several occasions - and then looked at like aliens when the matter is raised. The food service could be so much greater. The food itself was fantastic, albeit the cafe needs a menu revamp, stale sandwiches is not what I associate with a world class resort.

We stayed in Braid House, rooms were generously sized and well maintained, was very impressed with them. Extremely comfortable.

Grounds are impressive and well maintained. Spa was fantastic, had 2 x massages, quite probably the best I have had.

Some of the activities are great, albeit they are restricted at the moment, but enjoyable. More bikes need to be made available for guests to use for free, 4 is just not enough.

I feel that the hotel does need to cater a little more for kids, both on the amenity side and also the staff interaction towards them.

Despite a few frustrations, we had a great stay and will certainly be back. The fact that this great resort is in my home country makes me proud.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Braid House has generously sized rooms!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Conor O'Leary, Other at The Gleneagles Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit to Gleneagles. I am so pleased to hear that overall you had a wonderful stay with your family, despite a number of shortcomings you experienced with our new procedures and the service. Excellence and service, as well as the safety and wellbeing of our guests and teams is our top priority, and your feedback will certainly aid our training efforts. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your spa treatments, however I am sorry that you felt that we could have done more for the children. We do offer a family programme during the school holidays, specifically created for our younger guests. Our Resort Sales team can provide more information upon booking. I will share your comments with the teams and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Conor O'Leary Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stuart s wrote a review May 2020
Whalley, United Kingdom24 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister got married at Gleneagles in 2015 and since then my family and myself and my partner have been regular guests. I had three x 3 night stays in July, October in December 2019, had booked for Easter 2020 but cancelled due to COVID but have rebooked for a week in summer. As you can tell we absolutely love the hotel. It is great for all ages from my 2 year old nephew right up to my 93 year old grandmother. For all of us it is our favourite hotel and we are a family who have high standards. My top tip is to book an Estate room as for a small extra cost these rooms are far larger, much better appointed and have great views, having all been recently renovated. The Braids Estate rooms are particularly good and ideal for families. I have to say that the renovations over the past 3 years are absolutely exceptional and to the most exquisite taste and standard. The ambience is relaxed and informal luxury. What we like is that the prices around the resort for food and beverages are really good, so you do not feel like you are paying anything other than a reasonable price for the quality and surroundings. I have two nieces ages 5 and 8 who love all ths activities and we can relax because of the safe environment. This really is a place to make special memories for so many reasons and the resort has everything you could want from a holiday and then some. Can't wait for the hotel to re-open and I can't over emphasise that Gleneagles is supreme in every sense.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Conor O'Leary, Other at The Gleneagles Hotel
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Thank you for reviewing your return visit to Gleneagles. I am delighted to hear that you had another fantastic stay with your family. We're fortunate to welcome a variety of guests from corporate clients to individual families with children and ensuring that each and every one of our guests leave with fond memories is at the very heart of what we stand for. I am so pleased to learn that our refurbishments are to your liking. We have taken great consideration in every area to embrace our heritage while including a touch of luxury and glamour. I will certainly share your feedback with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Conor O'Leary Joint Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scotscouple99 wrote a review Feb 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom193 contributions697 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Although Gleneagles is listed amongst the Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel does not reach the expected standards of this marketing organisation. Admittedly the facilities of the hotel are excellent: 1. The golf course is justifiably a jewel in its crown. 2. There is the choice of several activities during your stay, mostly targeting overseas visitors, such as shooting and whisky tasting. 3. The leisure facilities are excellent, including a wonderful lap pool area that is adults only, a large pool for children and an onsen. 4. Some excellent restaurants including justifiably the best restaurant in Scotland.
So where does the hotel fail? First of all, it is the quality of the staff. The check in was very slow and it took them several minutes to locate our reservation. There was no apology offered for this delay. The restaurant staff where the breakfast is offered are not very attentive and they do not take the correct order. However, the major let down are its rooms. Admittedly we stayed in one of the standard rooms (Manor room) which is of adequate size although a bit crammed with unnecessary furniture. Our room overlooked the inside courtyard of the hotel, as this was cheaper. The bathroom is of average size and there is no separate shower other than in the bath tub. The main disadvantage of the room was the thin walls which were shaking everytime the doors from the rooms next door were shutting. There were several children in our floor as well and we could hear everything from the corridor. The noise insulation is zero!
The hotel does not seem to care about its green credentials. For example, plastic cups are used in the spa and they create a lot of waste. The bathrooms still use small size toiletries and in general there is a lot of waste in all the hotel functions.
The hotel is certainly above average, but the lack of attention to detail does not justify the price or indeed its inclusion amongst the Leading Hotels of the World. We have stayed in several properties listed in the latter; Gleneagles is not of the same standard as most of them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid room 215 at all costs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGleneaglesHotel, General Manager at The Gleneagles Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Gleneagles and I am pleased that you enjoyed a number of our facilities including, the golf courses and the wellness area. I am naturally disappointed to hear that your overall stay was marred by challenges you faced with the noise and space in your bedroom. I will certainly share this feedback with the relevant teams. I am also sorry to hear that the service you received did not meet your expectations. Excellence and service is one of our utmost priorities and your feedback will certainly aid our training efforts. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Conor O'Leary, Joint Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Safari562125 wrote a review Aug 2020
Derbyshire, United Kingdom6 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The service provided on the site of the hotel is not run by Gleneagles hotel. So do not expect that level of accommodation for your dog.
It is not a luxury kennels, I would describe it as more of a holding cell for your dog. Dogs are held inside a small pen, with no natural light or outdoor space. The dogs are expected to go to the loo directly where they eat and sleep. Your dog will only be let out by the staff for a short time in the morning whilst they hose down the kennel. It is up to you to take your dogs out very regularly, if you do not want them sitting / stepping on their waste. When the staff are not in the kennel hut area, the dogs will literally be in pitch black darkness, which can be from early afternoon. The hotel gun dogs are kept outside during the day in pens, right next to the inside kennels. The dogs are very hyper, and bark and try to get out of their pens when other dogs come by. Every time I walked by to get my dogs, during the day, the gun dogs went crazy, and extra crazy when I had to go pass them with my dogs. Not nice.
The staff when I arrived were unprofessional, they said they had no record of my booking, after I had sent all the details. They even told me there was no one around to check in, and the girl acted as if she was doing me a favour checking us in, and walking us down to the kennels. Once there we found our dogs names on the kennel waiting for us. However the next day I encountered an even ruder women called Chris. I have two small dogs, and they had feed them with large dog dried crunkles. One dog had been sick, and the other hadn't touched them. I asked if they had dog food for small dogs, and with curtly told, "no", and when I questioned this, I was told I could buy my own food. I was also told they had never had a problem giving small dogs, large dog food. Anyway too much to go on about, but for a very expensive kennel... It was horrible. Only grace was how Gleneagles hotel handled my complaint. They kindly arranged for the kennel to have a light on, during the day, and arranged for the kennels to provide small dog food. They also did look for alternative dog kennelling for me.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Conor O'Leary, Other at The Gleneagles Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the kennels at Gleneagles. I am naturally disappointed to hear that the conditions of our kennels did not meet your expectations. Our partners who operate the kennels have a dedicated team, who keep a watchful eye on each dog in-house to ensure they are relaxed and content throughout their stay. Each of our indoor kennels adhere to the regulations stipulated by the local kennel licencing authority and are cleaned every morning while the dogs exercise in outdoor paddocks. The lights are left on throughout the day and turned off at night to allow the dogs to switch off and fall asleep. I am sorry that you felt the dry food provided was unsuitable, they use CSJK9 which is deemed suitable for all sizes of dog, however if dogs have any special requirements we do advise our guests to bring this with them. All guests have access to take their dogs out of the kennels until 10pm, should they wish to walk around the estate. We also offer a dog walking service for an additional cost should this be preferred. Please rest assured that our kennel staff are unstinting in their efforts to take the best possible care of all dogs in their charge. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Conor O'Leary Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim C wrote a review Jun 2021
Wadebridge, United Kingdom5 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have always wanted to go to Gleneagles and maybe that was the trouble I had such high hopes.

The situation is beautiful with wonderful scenery and excellent facilities. There are outdoor games which are fun , great tennis courts, golf, mini golf, riding, shooting and archery. Also, a nice "Tipples bar" outside.

We ate in all the restaurants including Andre Fairlie and the food and service was excellent.

Breakfast was a very very hit and miss affair with a wait to be seated and poor table clearance. Room service for a bowl of soup was poor and took an hour to come and then only after after a reminder. The soup that arrived was very poor and extremely expensive. Wine mark up is absolutely huge I would say the largest I have ever known and I have been to some very fancy hotels.
.
The rooms are ok, not what I would call luxurious and the decor throughout is rather drab and dated. Room cleaning was not great and toiletries and tea coffee etc were not replenished as I would expect.

The spa and gym are good with a range of robust equipment, and booking was easy.

We did some wonderful walks and cycles and it is a lovely location if you are "outdoorsy".

I did archery which was fabulous, but the next day I had an enormous bruise on my left wrist ( photos can be supplied) despite having worn two layers of clothing. Having chatted to a friend who has done archery before she questioned why I was not given a wrist guard. As such I popped to customer service just to alert them to make sure that these were given or at least offered going forward. I emphasised I was not complaining as I had enjoyed the archery but wanted to raise this. The customer service person ( I think Sue) was dismissive and suggested I bruised easily, I don't. She did ring the archery centre and said she would send an email, but I am not convinced that they took this seriously at all, which did make me feel like complaining! This is a five star resort and this should not happen. Many people like me have not done these sort of activities before and care should be taken, and warnings given. As a medical family we were also concerned as you never know if a person may have an underlying condition or medication which may exacerbate this.

So all in all do I think it was worth It, no Gleneagles is living on the past and I will not return.

To try and be fair I am sure the pandemic has cased many difficulties for them but at this level is should have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Chose on near stairs and overlooking park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Baernreuther, General Manager at The Gleneagles Hotel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent visit to Gleneagles. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience in all our restaurants, including Andrew Fairlie, however I am sorry that you felt this level of service was not maintained across the estate. I am also thrilled to read that you had such a fantastic time at archery, however I am disappointed that you didn’t receive the correct equipment for this activity. All our staff at The Shooting School are Archery GB trained and I can assure you we do take health & safety protocols very seriously. Nevertheless, on this occasion due to human error, a wrist guard was not provided. My colleague Helen who you dealt with did indeed follow up with the Shooting School to address this matter which has now been raised and I can guarantee that this won’t happen again. As a whole, I am naturally disappointed that your overall experience was marred by a number of shortcomings and that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations. I will certainly share all of your feedback with the relevant team leaders. I would love the opportunity to restore your faith in us and I would be delighted if you made contact with us prior to planning your next trip. Kind regards, Daniel Baernreuther Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scotsguy31 wrote a review Feb 2020
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom330 contributions169 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Completely blown away by the scale of the manor bedroom, almost three times the size of an ordinary hotel room. There were two luxurious seating areas, a fabulous bathroom with under floor heating and a huge, comfortable bed. Such a big bedroom, the trip from the nespresso for milk from the fridge felt like a walk down to the shops ! Classically appointed, it was like staying in a bedroom in someone’s (stately) home. Top quality classical furniture alongside a thoroughly modern television offering entertainment apps galore. Only disappointing aspect for the amount of money paid was an unsatisfactory view of the inner rear. The Dormy Restaurant was the better of our evening meals. Twists on Indian classics were a great choice and service was very good. Unfortunately, the Birnam Brasserie completely let the side down. Despite the feel of Edinburgh’s Ivy, it could never compete with Scotland’s best brasseries. Food was decidedly ordinary and service was not what you’d expect from a 5 star establishment. If you’re not going to serve our wine then at least leave it on the table for us to serve ourselves ! Despite it not being busy we were abandoned in an empty part of the room next to the kitchen. Service was slow and after a lengthy wait we cut our losses and decided not to choose a sweet from a menu that never arrived. Although well staffed they were more intent in getting together to chat than serving customers. Disappointing to say the least. However breakfast in the Strathearn was an experience out of this world. It really was ‘an experience’. Quality of food and service was exceptional and there was a wide range to choose from. With chefs on hand to provide freshly cooked food, this was a breakfast buffet like no other. We’d go back for the breakfast alone ! The range of pursuits offered across the estate was phenomenal, we could’ve spent an entire week there and never been idle. On the whole, Gleneagles was a lifetime dream and aside from the Birnam experience, it surely did prove worthy of its 5 star reputation. Hotel staff offered a warm and friendly welcome in a refreshingly down to earth, Perthshire sort of way. This was a special treat for a special birthday and an experience I’ll never forget.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGleneaglesHotel, General Manager at The Gleneagles Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Gleneagles. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your spacious and comfortable room. I am naturally disappointed to hear that your experience of The Birnam Brasserie did not meet your expectations, however I am delighted to learn that you had a fantastic dining experience in both The Dormy and newly refurbished Strathearn restaurant. Excellence and service is one of our utmost priorities and your feedback will certainly aid our training efforts. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Gleneagles in the near future. Kind regards, Conor O'Leary Joint Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrfastidious wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom138 contributions203 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never been on a cruise ship but I imagine it to be not dissimilar to Gleneagles. Overcrowded and lacking intimacy, the hotel is a warren of restaurants bars and shops all of which need to be prebooked.

Our room was very nice with lovely views over the surrounding hills but sadly despite being on the third floor we could still hear the downstairs bar music late at night and the dividing door between our room and the next offered little noise insulation from the family staying next door. Very poor room management in my mind putting an adult couple next to a young family. And so to a much earlier breakfast than anticipated..here we queued for several minutes to be seated only to be moved as table was “reserved”. It became apparent some guests are more equal than others when an England footballer and his family took our table. To be fair the breakfast buffet is impressive and very tasty.

The gym and swim areas were very good, although we were disappointed the outside pool area was closed and the wife enjoyed her massage. All in all though if it cost half what we paid it would still be overpriced. There are much better options available. Still box ticked.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGleneaglesHotel, General Manager at The Gleneagles Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Gleneagles. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wellness areas and that your wife had a lovely massage in the Spa. I am naturally disappointed to hear that on this occasion we are unable to deliver the overall experience you were looking for. During the holidays and summer months we do see an increase of both residential and non-residential guests around the hotel and estate as people come to enjoy our glorious playground. We do recommend pre-booking activities and dining to avoid any disappointment. For any advice and for booking activities while you are in house, our Playground Planners are on hand in the Playground Snug to help. I will share your feedback with the relevant teams and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Conor O'Leary Joint Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonny R wrote a review Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We love Gleneagles, always a total pleasure to stay! During our recent visit the government lockdown came into force on our final day and night. As a results all restaurants and bars had to close and we were required to dine in our rooms with room service.

How the hotel responded to these unusual circumstances is a fine example of their commitment to guests. A new (great value) room service menu was created and hand delivered combining dishes from all restaurants which was greatly appreciated.

To our surprise we then opened our bedroom door in the evening to find a mobile cocktail bar outside with the offer of a cocktail on the house. After much showmanship and a few laughs we were left with a dial-a-cocktail menu for later. It brightened up our evening and made us feel less isolated in our rooms!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Conor O'Leary, Other at The Gleneagles Hotel
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience of Gleneagles. I am sorry that your stay was affected by the governments decision to close restaurants and bars, however I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your in-room meal and our portable cocktail bar. Excellence and Service are our utmost priorities and your feedback will be hugely encouraging for the team. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Conor O'Leary Joint Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott Sibley wrote a review Mar 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom398 contributions83 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
HOTEL - SCOTLAND ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

One of my favourite hotels is Gleneagles, I have stayed on many occasion, this particular visit we received a complimentary room upgrade, which came with a separate lounge / dining room, corridor and large bathroom. Very traditional style however we didn’t really make use of the separate rooms. I have stayed in many rooms and in my opinion the state rooms are the best.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGleneaglesHotel, General Manager at The Gleneagles Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Thank you for sharing your review of Gleneagles and I am delighted that overall you had a fantastic stay. Ensuring all our guests leave us with fond memories is at the very heart of what we stand for. I will certainly share your feedback with the team and we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Conor O'Leary Joint Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from 782DebbieW782
Oswestry, United Kingdom47 contributions14 helpful votes
Thank you for the question. We took our dog last summer and it was a wonderful experience for him. The staff were great with him and there are lots of bowls for drinking etc. Obviously, you have to pick up poo etc You need to take your own food. There are only certain rooms that you can stay in and you need to arrange for the dog before you arrive. There are extra costs associated with the dog as well. We did not leave him for long, in the evening, but, he was tired as we had been on the long walk. Suggest, pick up the phone and talk with the staff. Wonderful place and fabulous staff!! Kind regards
Laura W asked a question Nov 2022
Chepstow, United Kingdom35 contributions15 helpful votes
Can anyone turn up and have a walk around the grounds followed by coffee at The Garden Cafe. Thanks, Laura.
Answer from GaryC288
Annan, United Kingdom127 contributions89 helpful votes
Yes, the hotel allows for this and would provide an excellent coffee afterwards.
Reading, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
Pretty sure they do, but I was on champagne, lager, whisky and cocktails
jo w wrote a tip Apr 2024
falkirk20 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book dinner and spa reservations ahead of arrival "
Read full review
donaval wrote a tip Apr 2024
Brighton, United Kingdom6 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid half terms or busy holiday times"
Read full review
melissacheyne wrote a tip Mar 2024
Turriff, United Kingdom13 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book any evening meals and activities when booking to ensure first choice."
Read full review
Carolann H wrote a tip Mar 2024
11 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"make sure you ask for a room with a view and make dinner reservations in advance of your stay as there may not be room for you on your stay."
Read full review
GillianLennox wrote a tip Mar 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom180 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pre book activities and dinner to avoid disappointment"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auchterarder area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 3,187 - RM 3,974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gleneagles hotel auchterarder, gleneagles resort auchterarder, gleneagles hotel scotland
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossAuchterarder
NUMBER OF ROOMS
233
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GLENEAGLES HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Resort Reviews, Price Comparison and 2,765 Photos (Auchterarder, Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Gleneagles Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Gleneagles Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Phoenix Falconry (3.3 km), The Niblick (3.1 km), and Ardoch Roman Fort (7.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gleneagles Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Gleneagles Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Gleneagles Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gleneagles Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Gleneagles Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jon and Fernanda's Restaurant, Andrew Fairlie, and Delivino Auchterarder.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Gleneagles Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Gleneagles Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Gleneagles Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Gleneagles Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Gleneagles Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Gleneagles Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Auchterarder HotelsAuchterarder Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AuchterarderHotels near The Gleneagles Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire