We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Summer Isles Hotel

Booking.comUS$160*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Summer Isles Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Summer Isles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 399: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2014

While the views are certainly lovely and the dinners and wines more than satisfactory, we were disappointed overall with what we got for our very large bill. We expected a level of luxury, comfort and elegance which we did not receive. Our standard sea view room upstairs had the sea views but was fairly modest and the toiletries were unbranded....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonathan C
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan C Thank you for taking the time to write a review on here, I am however sad that you have not felt the hotel to be value for money. We take all feedback, negative and positive very serious and welcome the opportunity to address it. I am saddened that you have felt unable to express your views to...

Highlands, Scotland
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just come back from a two night stay at the Summer Isles Hotel and what a treat we had. We stayed in the cottage at the back with another family to celebrate a birthday and it took me all of two days to realise that I didn't have to walk over the cattle grid. Epic fail on my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank champgagneguzzler
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Champgagneguzzler Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor, it was very king of you. We are so happy we are able to accommodate you in Matthews Cottage and have 7 of you one place without any discomfort It was really nice to laugh and have a nice time talking to you in the restaurant...

Framlingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is wonderful. The food is just delicious and the staff so well trained we were so impressed especially as the present owners had only been there for a few months. Our room had everything in it that you would want and more. It is a long drive from the main road but well worth it as the views...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2dales2016
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 578dale2 It really is very nice to open my computer and read such nice words. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy that we have left you such lovely lasting memories. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Chris & Julia Webb

Edinburgh
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is lovely spot and worth the journey, which in our case was in lashing rain after 5 hours from Edinburgh. Just as we arrived the rain stopped and the sun came out! We stayed in the log house as were two couples with 3 dogs and it was great, lovely and cosy with a wood-burning stove and comfy sofas....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HowieEdinburgh
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HowieEdinburgh Thank you very much for writing this review, it really is nice of you to take your time to do so. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and had the opertunity to experience our wonderful taster menu and wines. We do hope you fine your way back up this way again soon. Regards Chris & Julia...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The situation of the summer isles hotel is second to none, with superb views over the summer isles seacliffs and magnificient rugged land. I came to the hotel for a meal at 7pm and we ended up staying until closing with singing dancing and great banter in the bar. The hotel has a great team this year who have a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ron D
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron D We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it really means so much to us to receive such a positive feedback. It is great that you had such a nice time in the Bar with such great banter and singing. We look forward to seeing you again during the...

Dunblane
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I had a drink in this hotel 20 years ago and vowed to come back one day to stay. We finally got round to doing so and enjoyed our 2 night stay very much. Everything about the experience from the moment we arrived until we left was top class. First of all, a mention for the staff....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phantomfoodie
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phantomfoodie Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very kind of you. We are so happy you found the experience so go and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Chris & Julia Webb

North Berwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Well done, Summer Isles, you're back! Fantastic food and superb friendly service. Chris, the manager, has done a wonderful job in resurrecting this fabulous hotel. We have been coming to this part of the world for over 20 years, firstly to the hotel itself then progressing to a rented cottage, but always eating at the hotel. What a difference from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jan T
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David and Jan Comments like yours are priceless, thank you so very much for putting them online. It really was a pleasure having you in the restaurant every evening along with Graham and Maggie, the lack of your presence in the days that proceeded where surely missed. I am so happy that after all the times you have been...

Lorton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We are regular visitors to the hotel and this year was fantastic with the new chef providing outstanding food and the manager & his well trained team providing that wonderfully warm Highland welcome and superb service. A memorable experience with great attention to detail and must visit hotel! Graham and Maggie Lamont

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Graham L
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham and Maggie Thank you so much for writing this on Tripadvisor, it really was very nice of you. As regular visitors to the Summer Isles Hotel it is so nice that you feel that you can write such pleasing words about your stay. Between Julia and Myself we aim to make things better and better. Can't wait to...

Hertfordshire, UK
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for two nights, DB&B in Tenera Beg Room. When arriving, Julia rushed out with a brolly and welcomed us in, explaining how everything worked and showing us our room. Tanera Beg overlooks the sea, superb bathroom, great big bed. I like the bed, my wife found it slightly uncomfortable, maybe too soft. The room is quiet. Dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank willymiles
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Willymiles Thank you so much for the time you have taken to write such lovely things, it really was a pleasure reading it. I would like to thank you for putting across every aspect of the hotel so nicely you have really done it justice. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Chris Webb

South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I last visited the Summer Isles Hotel in October 2011 and decided to return with my two children as I found it wonderful the last time. It was even better this time around! We stayed in the Boathouse suite which is a lovely size for a family and it enjoys great views of the Isles from both downstairs and upstairs....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KalShearer
SummerIsles, General Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KalShearer Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us on Tripadvisor. It really was such a pleasure having you all stay with us here and make the most of both the bar and restaurant. We will always do whatever we can to make sure anyone who stays with us is made to feel at home...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achiltibuie
16.0 km away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
346 reviews
17.3 km away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
533 reviews
20.9 km away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 km away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
215 reviews
24.5 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
210 reviews
32.0 km away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originating in the 19th century as a fishing inn and crofters' bar, the hotel has been developed over the last 4 decades into an oasis of civilisation in one of the most remote and beautiful parts of Britain. Renowned for its fine food and wine, it is a destination for foodies as well as those who enjoy walking, climbing and exploring in exotic landscapes. There are 13 letting units ranging from simple log cabin rooms to a sophisticated cottage with 3 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Summer Isles Hotel

Address: Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Price Range: RM535 - RM1,645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Isles Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summer Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Isles Achiltibuie
Hotel Summer Isles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Summer Isles Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Summer Isles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the Main house”
florianw340, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room with sea view”
64rossw, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't worry if you are not in the main hotel the rooms just off are lovely, very quiet.”
LWH1963, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Log cabins, noisy from the rooms next door and damp floors”
854josephd, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room at the front - great views”
happybagger, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$160* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$160
PricelineUS$160
Agoda.comUS$161
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates