We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shieldhill Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shieldhill Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

580 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 578: English reviews
Start your review of Shieldhill Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights on a voucher deal. Great value. Checked in quickly and showed to our room, nice touch! Bottle of Prosecco included which was a nice quality one.Stayed in court yard room. It was a very nicely decorated, large room, great bathroom and tea/ coffee making facilities. Iron, small iron board and hairdryer in room also. Courtyard area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doobles14
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was a lovely hotel with amazingly friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were nice, especially for dog friendly rooms. The food was good and we enjoyed our evening meal and the breakfast the next morning. It is a very scenic location and we will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is on voucher which included dinner and breakfast. Couldn't believe our eyes when I walked into the Scone suite! Jacuzzi in the room and a four poster bed. Castle is very traditional and in a lovely setting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elvis199024
ShieldhillHotel, General Manager at Shieldhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elvis 199024, Thank you very much for the 5 star review, we are delighted you enjoy your stay with us. The Scone is definitely a fantastic room, often commented on. Your comments will be passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Shieldhill Castle.

.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner & I had a wee night here on arrival we were met by the lovley receptionist she showed us to our room we stayed in the stable block very modern lovley decor & great shower only downside noisy people next door banging doors going in & out as they smoked beautiful meal & bottle of prosecco as part...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LizMaxw
ShieldhillHotel, General Manager at Shieldhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LizMaxw, Thank you very much for your glowing review, we are happy that you have enjoyed your visit to Shieldhill Castle. Our classic rooms in the Stable Block are full of character and often the preferred choice of some of our returning guests. If next time you wish to try staying in a room in the castle, please just...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I returned to Shieldhill on another itison deal, £89 for DBB and bottle of prosecco on arrival. We have been before and stayed in the Wallace room (highly recommended with its large bed and double jacuzzi), but, this time we were on a tight budget so had just opted for a classic room in the castle with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well how do I start, This nights stay with dinner, a bottle of bubbly and breakfast was a gift from our family and we were really looking forward to it. As seasoned travellers we stay in hotels 2/3 nights every week, this is the first negative review ever. Upon arrival we were met by a lovely lady at reception who...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Joe W
ShieldhillHotel, General Manager at Shieldhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe W. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Shieldhill Castle. Firstly, I would like to apologise, also on behalf of the whole team, for what was clearly a substandard experience. This is not what we aim to achieve, and is not what we normally deliver. Although your review is not devoid of a large...

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got a voucher for Dinner, Bed & Breakfast with a bottle of prosecco from itison. Used it for a wee anniversary trip away. We chose to upgrade to a suite. Arrived around half 2 and were shown to our suite... unfortunately there had been an error and the room hadn't been serviced... so my hubby went to inform them and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gail M
ShieldhillHotel, General Manager at Shieldhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gail M. Thank you for kindness in giving us such a lovely 5 star review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay so much. The Scone is indeed a lovely room and the combination of 4 poster bed and jacuzzi is almost sure to be a winner. Resta assured that your compliments will be passed on to...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I will do my best to give a balanced view of this hotel as it's actually a nice hotel just let down by pretty poor service and bad food. Firstly like many reviews have said we were taking our dog along which we had called in advance to confirm and were told we would have a courtyard room. On arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paul C
ShieldhillHotel, General Manager at Shieldhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul C, Thank you for taking the time to review Shieldhill Castle and please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced. I can assure you these are not our normal standards and your comments will be addressed within the team. I note that you mention the fact that your experience has not deterred you from visiting Shieldhill...

Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was not ready on arrival and had to wait another hour or so until they were Stayed in one of the lodges which are semi detached and there can be a noise problem from through the wall depending on whose next door .., on saying this the lodges are modern smart clean and well appointed .. sleep quality was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank audzman
ShieldhillHotel, General Manager at Shieldhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear audzman, Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay at Shieldhill Castle. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and note your comments in particular about the food, which will be passed on to our chefs. We do believe that good food and the use of local ingredients are a key component of the experience...

Melbourne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had our wedding here recently and all the staff at Shieldhill couldn't have been more helpful. From answering our endless questions from day 1, to keeping my fiancée calm on the morning of the wedding, Janice and Emma in particular were exceptional. The food was amazing, all our guests commented on this and agreed. Couldn't ask for a better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IrishSmurf

381 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (380)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
5.0 km away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
230 reviews
5.2 km away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
300 reviews
6.7 km away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#3 of 3 in Biggar
174 reviews
12.9 km away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
23.9 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Castle dates back to 1199 and offers great character and charm. The principal building has 16 en-suite Bedrooms along with the Reception Rooms and a fully functioning Chapel. The recently converted stable block has a further 10 en-suite Bedrooms. An ideal wedding venue complete with permanent marquee with a capacity of 250. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shieldhill Castle Hotel

Address: Shieldhill Road | Quothquan, Biggar ML12 6NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Price Range: RM513 - RM834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shieldhill Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shieldhill Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shieldhill Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Shieldhill Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“they also have converted stables, but you have to go outside to get to the restaurant, reception etc. Would recommend the suites.”
207GailM, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Seriously!! My wife & mother-in-law stayed there November 2016 and it's gone badly downhill.”
C7263OOscottd, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are nice. I have stayed in the courtyard rooms and the hotel and they are all nice.”
FrancesL52, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the lodges/log cabins”
fionaw473, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid Bannockburn if you want to sleep!! It is above the bar!!!”
413alistairc, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5