We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shieldhill Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shieldhill Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

583 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shieldhill Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 581: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I will do my best to give a balanced view of this hotel as it's actually a nice hotel just let down by pretty poor service and bad food. Firstly like many reviews have said we were taking our dog along which we had called in advance to confirm and were told we would have a courtyard room. On arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paul C
ShieldhillHotel, General Manager at Shieldhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul C, Thank you for taking the time to review Shieldhill Castle and please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced. I can assure you these are not our normal standards and your comments will be addressed within the team. I note that you mention the fact that your experience has not deterred you from visiting Shieldhill...

Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room was not ready on arrival and had to wait another hour or so until they were Stayed in one of the lodges which are semi detached and there can be a noise problem from through the wall depending on whose next door .., on saying this the lodges are modern smart clean and well appointed .. sleep quality was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank audzman
ShieldhillHotel, General Manager at Shieldhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear audzman, Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay at Shieldhill Castle. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and note your comments in particular about the food, which will be passed on to our chefs. We do believe that good food and the use of local ingredients are a key component of the experience...

Melbourne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had our wedding here recently and all the staff at Shieldhill couldn't have been more helpful. From answering our endless questions from day 1, to keeping my fiancée calm on the morning of the wedding, Janice and Emma in particular were exceptional. The food was amazing, all our guests commented on this and agreed. Couldn't ask for a better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IrishSmurf
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived at 2pm which we were told was check-in time, it was 3.15 before our cabin (which is basically a converted garden shed!) was supposedly ready. Not even a complimentary drink was offered as an apology. We asked for a second ice bucket for the cabin & we're still waiting on it! The floor was dirty, there is absolutely NO...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Scott D
ShieldhillHotel, General Manager at Shieldhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scott D, Thank you for the time you have taken reviewing Shieldhill Castle on this and several other public forums. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations during your visit. I can assure you that your comments have been thoroughly reviewed and action has been taken, were possible, to rectify the issues. It is a shame we...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this hotel as part of an Itison voucher. We were absolutely delighted with it from start to finish. Courtyard room because of our dog which was fabulous, clean, massive comfortable bed. Three course dinner was excellent, as was breakfast. Would definitely recommend and return

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jennifer19562015
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were given a two night stay at the above Hotel as a present from our family. The Hotel was very attractive in appearance and the staff were most welcoming and helpful especially a staff member called Anthony who went out of his way to provide assistance, advice and directions in response to our queries. The food was excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lotherrock
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as two couples, my wife and I and our good friends who travelled from Yorkshire to join us for the weekend, for two nights on a 5pm deal costing £125 per couple for two nights b&b and dinner on the first night, and if that wasn't enough we had a bottle of prosecco thrown in aswell. First impressions...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cloelanber
Clarkston
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night at Shieldhill castle in log cabin number 4. Log cabin is lovely and really enjoyed our stay. Food was tasty although not overly fancy. Hotel was very busy although dealt with efficiently but I would recommend booking a table for dinner before you arrive. Lovely place to stay for a romantic getaway would not really recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Allan H
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

On driving in the long drive way on sight the hotel looked beautiful. Then we went in! On booking we were told we would have a new court yard rom suitable to bring our wee dog. We were taken to what was described as I 'log cabin' - glorified garden shed. Filthy floor, decking at entrance covered in slippy wet...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank AnnEuan
Scotland
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night using Itison for 3 course dinner, breakfast and bottle of prosecco. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay as it was amazing value for money. If I had been paying full price then I would have a few minor complaints. Our room (in the courtyard) had several huge cobwebs and the toilet was not working properly when we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kerry M

381 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (380)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
5.0 km away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
231 reviews
5.2 km away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
300 reviews
6.7 km away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#3 of 3 in Biggar
173 reviews
12.9 km away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
23.9 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Castle dates back to 1199 and offers great character and charm. The principal building has 16 en-suite Bedrooms along with the Reception Rooms and a fully functioning Chapel. The recently converted stable block has a further 10 en-suite Bedrooms. An ideal wedding venue complete with permanent marquee with a capacity of 250. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shieldhill Castle Hotel

Address: Shieldhill Road | Quothquan, Biggar ML12 6NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Price Range: RM510 - RM829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shieldhill Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shieldhill Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shieldhill Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Shieldhill Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look on line. All rooms are named and you get a idea of layout etc”
JanetteG800, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“they also have converted stables, but you have to go outside to get to the restaurant, reception etc. Would recommend the suites.”
207GailM, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Seriously!! My wife & mother-in-law stayed there November 2016 and it's gone badly downhill.”
C7263OOscottd, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are nice. I have stayed in the courtyard rooms and the hotel and they are all nice.”
FrancesL52, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the lodges/log cabins”
fionaw473, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5