We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Harbour Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowmore
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Start your review of The Harbour Inn
 Click to rate
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Exceptional breakfast cooked to order with many choices such as bennedict and so on. Rooms are nicley decorated but quite small Location and service were great. Only thing that needs improvment is some help with the luggage on arrival would have been nice :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omer_Gazit_Shalev
Harbour_Inn_Bowmore_, General Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, really please you enjoyed your time with us and the Loch View you had from your room. I am sorry you were not offered assistance with your bags I will ensure that I address this with the team. something so simple can make all the difference. I hope you get another chance to come back...

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic wine -fantastic food fantastic views fantastic staff Just lovely ! Food light perfectly cooked healthy and delicious - views amazing - seafood so very fresh - it is the best of the best There are a few great food destinations on islay - this is one of them!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate p
Harbour_Inn_Bowmore_, General Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, I am so please you enjoyed your time with us, I will pass your comments on to the team! Tahnk you Kind regards james

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were made to feel very welcome, as was our dog. Thank you, young Andrew, for your great service. Dogs are allowed in the Snug at the front. In the main restaurant there are great views across to the Paps of Jura. The Inn felt very clean. We went back a second time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Harbour_Inn_Bowmore_, General Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, It lovely to hear such good feedback. I will be sure to let Andrew know of your review and kinds words. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards James

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Easy parking although not allocated to hotel. Lovely rooms and very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Food excellent, especially the oysters if that is what you like. The view from the breakfast and dining rooms is exceptional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle2812
Harbour_Inn_Bowmore_, General Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time write your review and your kind your words. I will be sure to pass them on to the team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards James

Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I (and my wife) had booked as part of a group to visit this hotel. We considered it to be rather expensive but hoped that the experience of value would turn out to justify the high room rate. Because of an unexpected operation I had to cancel and notified the hotel within the time they specify. I was required to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnGrant
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Visited for a meal with friends having been staying in the Harbour Inn's Maltman's cottage. For the meal everything was good except the cranachan dessert and the restaurant service. The cranachan cream was a thick soup like consistency with some granola simply sprinkled on the top and also had no taste of whisky. I left 3/4 of it and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickyG1986
Harbour_Inn_Bowmore_, General Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your evening meal, I am please you enjoyed the first two courses of your email but was disappointed to read your comments on the cranachan and how this was dealt with. I hope that you will give us another try the next time you are on Islay. Many thanks and apologies Kind...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We dined here last evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We found the menu a little ordinary but the food was excellent and well cooked and presented. Don't go expecting small portions! We both had the battered haddock and chips but I couldn't possibly have eaten it all. Even my husband had to leave some. One piece of fish would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudithandTrevor
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I went with friends who live nearby expecting good pub food but it's much much better than that. Fantastic fresh fish seafood and meat cooked by a serious chef. Everybody's dish was really tasty and the staff were so nice. We had intended to stay in and I'd made a rhubarb pie. I told them and they told me to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simonmtp
Harbour_Inn_Bowmore_, General Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we were so pleased you enjoyed your meal and your kind words on the night. We were all envious of the Rhubarb Pie you made. I hope to see you back this year when you are visiting Kind regards James

Reviewed 21 September 2016

Perhaps it is the end of the season or that we sat in the restaurant instead of the pub, but we were disappointed. Our tour guide had reserved for us and let them know it was our anniversary. The staff were going to have us sit at a table for four near other tables. There was a table for two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank partyonward
Harbour_Inn_Bowmore_, General Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. In 2015 we had a major refurbishment of the building and I am disappointed that the decor was not to your liking. On booking your guide requested a window seat and inquired about oysters, we always advise window seats cannot be guaranteed and that this is done on a first...

england
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Lovely little restaurant over looking the working harbour. The menu us small but really nice, local food. Lovely decor done out in the Bowmore tartan. It stops serving lunch at 2.30. Great views of the working harbour especially on a sunny day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottkelly53
Harbour_Inn_Bowmore_, General Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I hope you enjoyed your time on Islay as much as you did your lunch at the Harbour. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon, we even offer a menu between 2.30pm and 5pm. Kind regards James

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmore
6.0 km away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
246 reviews
0.1 km away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
69 reviews
15.6 km away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#10 of 13 in Bowmore
81 reviews
4.0 km away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
117 reviews
3.7 km away
Islay House
Islay House
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the incomparable loveliness of the Inner Hebrides - visit ISLAY – a destination for all seasons. Let the loveliness of this beautiful island wash over you – and experience the special atmosphere that is part of Islay's heritage – “Islay and its goodbye to care“ Whatever the weather and whatever the time of year, there is always the added attraction to Islay that comes from visiting an island – the feeling that you are cut off from the rest of the world – yet , it's much closer than you can imagine.And here, at The Harbour Inn Hotel and Restaurant, we hope to be part of that overall experience – offering superb accommodation, high quality award winning food and excellent service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Address: The Square | Isle of Islay, Bowmore PA43 7JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Price Range: RM536 - RM902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Bowmore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Harbour Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Harbour Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel front rooms I think are best.”
Isabelle2812, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 is amazing”
Helenaf86, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Sorry we only ate in the restaurant and could not comment on the hotel, but it does look lovely and have a sea view.”
cuddles1108, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The best rooms overlook the harbour”
AncientmarinerUk, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 7 at the back with views onto the beach”
pamelar170, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5