We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Port Askaig Hotel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Askaig
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Port Askaig Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My work booked us this hotel "THANKFULLY" as i wouldnt have stayed. Why is there NO Tv in room STAFFA ??? Very poor wi-fi to add and my wash hand basin was too small. Went down to see the bar meals menu. Shock horror!! The cheapest meal was £12.95!!! WHAT IS ALL THAT ABOUT!! Had to drive 10 miles to...

3Thank craig c
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 October 2013

It's a shame that the quality of the accommodation is so poor here. We had a room that looked like it was last refurbished in the 70's, and it was totally lacking in the facilities you would expect like a TV, tea/coffee etc. The room was not serviced during our short stay. Very poor value for money it has to...

Thank Rover022
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

I take it firstly that this review is wrongly dated or has someone actually sent in a review a year late? More than half of our rooms have been refurbished recently and those that have not have had the benefit of new carpeting linen etc. and while slightly dated are warm clean and comfortable We are refurbishing on a rolling...

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Tempted by the board at the bar offering scones, butter and jam, generally a favourite of mine, I ordered one along with my coffee. The microwave treatment was not enough to disguise a very stale scone, probably one of those that I'd seen on the bar counter the evening before. It was biscuity dry. I was going to leave it,...

1Thank IonaMac2013
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

Re - hard scone - obviously staff member had used the microwave to heat the scone and left it too long - this can happen in a few seconds - but why oh! why did you not simply hand it back and ask for a fresh one. I think perhaps you just like to have a rant - so unnecessary...

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Visited the public bar after a hiking / biking trip on Jura whilst waiting for the ferry. Lovely spot , service not fast but only one staff on late afternoon. Loved the darts - machine counter the best! Discovered on returning home had dropped rucksack rain cover - contacted hotel and gentleman arranged for it to be collected by visiting...

Thank ltfMinard
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We would have booked anywhere that would have us, as we were determined to climb Beinn a' Chaolais on Jura, but completely incapable of doing all the Paps ( which we would have done from Craighouse). We had a wonderful view of our destination from the bedroom we were eventually allocated after a party of geologists moved out. The hotel...

Thank Squiz0071
Biggar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We called in here for a drink and a bite to eat while we waited for the ferry to Jura. The hotel has a nice little bar and we sheltered from the rain. It's a habit of mine to order Cullen Skink if it's on the menu and I'd had a few during our trip, so seeing it listed as...

2Thank DaydreamE10
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

Probably a misunderstanding between waitress and kitchen for which I apologise. - we serve two portion sizes and you obviously got a starter portion. I would be happy to send you a refund if you e mail your full name and address to hotel@portaskaig.co.uk. Our apologies.

Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We called here for lunch while awaiting our ferry back to the main land with a party of eight . The hotel is in the most beautiful setting imaginable near the sea and facing the island of Jura . We found a table and ordered and paid for our meals this was two hours before our ferry was due to...

4Thank Scotchboy
sammy253, Owner at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly sorry your table did not get served - we always regret any customer being disappointed at Port Askaig. However by way of explanation, on an average day we serve something between 25 - 40 lunches and are staffed accordingly. On the day in question our 2nd chef on his own cooked over 70 lunches - and not one of...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have to admit we weren't expecting much after reading some of the previous reviews. Though we've been fascinated by this place and left with great holiday experience. It's a cozy hotel by the water with probably the best view in Scotland. It offers excellent food and great selection (and collection) of whiskey. It's situated near the ferry terminal to...

3Thank bobyjill
Clare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here for a week,and thoroughly enjoyed the excellent breakfasts and evening meals,very well cooked using local produce. The fish was particularly good(not surprising as the fishing boats came in 20 yards away).The service was really good, and above all, everybody would go out of their way to help.Our ensuite room was quite adequate and spotlessly clean. Friday night...

Thank turtle9
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stopped by at the Port Askaig Hotel for lunch as a last minute decision and what a find! It was absolutely fantastic. My husband and I shared a seafood platter and it was the best I have ever had. Half a lobster, languistines and scallops. All 100% fresh and cooked to perfection. The chef in their kitchen really knows...

Thank Aileen B

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (57)
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Dining (5)
Room/Suite (3)
View from Room (4)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Askaig
20.9 km away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
251 reviews
11.7 km away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
18 reviews
25.2 km away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
366 reviews
11.3 km away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
126 reviews
15.2 km away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Port Askaig Hotel is a picturesque, family run Highland Inn on the shores of the Sound of Islay, overlooking the pier at which daily car ferries berth on arrival from the Scottish mainland. Due to its proximity to the ferry, it offers easy access to Jura, Colonsay and the mainland. Our Starboard Restaurant offers Bistro style dining, with a full meal service in both bars and hot snacks available out with main meal times.Menus feature the best of Islay's Larder from both land and sea with 'catch of the day' fresh from the harbour here a speciality.Our hotel garden provides organic vegetable and salads to compliment your choices. Our Port Bar is the oldest licensed premises on Islay and features an excellent selection of Islay Malts and a display of old and rare bottles. In season live traditional music is oftenplayed in the Old Port Bar. Enjoy a beer or a malt whisky in the garden- relax and watch the boats sail by. Islay and it's goodbye to care ...... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Port Askaig Hotel

Address: Port Askaig Isle of Islay | Argyllshire, Port Askaig PA46 7RD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Askaig
Price Range: RM157 - RM506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Askaig Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Port Askaig Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Port Askaig Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“did not have a room but did see one, it had amazing views.”
Canjo1829, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Not sure, all I can tell you is that all of the rooms are named after an island.”
688alexj, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a family room at the back. Big room. No view.”
The_McTravel_Clan, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor, middle of front.”
basilhoward, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear to have their own character, but tmany stairs and corners, so confirm when you book that access is suitable for you”
70janetw, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5