We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Poolewe Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Poolewe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We arrived to our pre booked room at about 5pm. Our twin room in the annexe was spacious and scrupulously clean. Large bath in bathroom accompanied by 2 sets of towels and 2 sets of toiletries. We were checked in and asked if we wanted to have dinner - we opted to eat in the bar. Food was superb -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donald M
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay at Poolewe Hotel during your NC500 trip. It is pleasing to hear that you appreciated your spacious room in the annexe and particularly enjoyed your meal in the bar. Also that breakfast was superb and the service excellent. As I have said in answer to other reviews, it is... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Visited with my partner for five nights, was great value for money, fantastic service and very comfortable rooms. We didn't spend much time in the room as we were out and about for much of the stay but would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Cwilk1988
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your five night stay and found the rooms comfortable, service fantastic and good value for money. It is always pleasing to hear when we have achieved our aim. We are ideally located for sightseeing and taking part in many activities on offer in the... More 

Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for an overnight stay during our North Coast 500 trip. Our room was clean and comfy and mainly fine. The main issue was the lack of mirror in the room for doing hair and make up. There was a mirror in the bathroom but that's no use when using the hairdryer. We ate in the hotel in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daisy_2510
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Poolewe Hotel after your overnight stay during NC500 trip. I am pleased that you found your room clean and comfy and the food good quality with plenty of choice on the menu. We do appreciate all feedback and your comments regarding lack of mirrors in the room for doing hair and make up,... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stayed one night as a stopover on our NC500 drive and O what a nice little hotel ! It is situated on the main street but it is very quiet with beautiful surroundings. We had a room on the ground floor facing the sea. Very nice view. The room is spacious, exceptionally clean with lovely fluffy linen provided. The bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank 9552095
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed your over night stay at Poolewe Hotel whilst taking part in NC500 drive. We receive many visitors who are enjoying the NC500 route, as Poolewe Hotel is ideally located. It is our aim to provide guests with comfortable accommodation, good food locally sourced, relaxing atmosphere and all the facilities necessary to make... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed here as a base for a midweek break in Wester Ross. The hotel is well located for sightseeing, and particularly for the nearby Inverewe Gardens. Our rooms were comfortable, breakfasts and dinners were fine, and the service was good. However, the dining room closes once students go back to college, so the bar/'bistro' is the only dining option... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob C
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your midweek break and found your rooms comfortable and the food and service good. As you rightly point out, the Hotel is ideally located for sightseeing in the Wester Ross area and particularly the World Famous Inverewe Gardens, which is less than a mile from the Hotel (just... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
389 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We called in for Dinner, and they have quite an extensive menu with some great Scottish dishes, we all had something different and all were excellent. There is a well stocked bar with a variety of local real Ales. 2 minutes of the main road towards Inverasdale, tahke a break for some great fayre.

Helpful?
Thank Charles G
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at Poolewe Hotel and appreciated our extensive menu with local dishes as well as the local real Ales on offer. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and we hope we will see you again when you are next in the area. More 

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

En route to the nearby Russian Arctic Convoy Museum, four of us stopped off here for a quick lunch. A more-than-ample menu, including a good selection of local produce, from which we chose the Cullen Skink & Tomato & Basil soup and Prawn & Smoked Salmon salad. The soups were really tasty, and the salads served on a trencher --... More 

Helpful?
Thank Les M
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate all feedback but it is always pleasing to receive such positive comments. We do use local produce whenever possible and pride ourselves in offering good value for money. I do hope you enjoyed your visit to the Russian Arctic Convoy Museum and hope that you will visit us again when... More 

Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We called in for dinner I had the gammon steak which was very nice, but my husband ordered the steak and ale pie but unfortunately his was more like a mushroom pie, which is unfortunate because he hates mushrooms. He counted the mushrooms and there was 16 and only 6 pieces of meat very disappointed. For desert he ordered the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SandrS10
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Poolewe Hotel. I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed your gammon steak but sorry that your husband was not happy with his steak and ale pie. I understand you did not express your concerns till the end of your meal, which is a shame as we would... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Spent four nights here recently having booked on line. Whilst the hotel rooms were clean there was always a fusty smell in the sitting/dining areas of the hotel as if the windows were needing to be open to let fresh air in. Do not be fooled by the online photo of the hotel! It looks as though it is sitting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda L
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Poolewe Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our freshly cooked food and found the facilities clean and comfortable. I am however a little bewildered with your comment "do not be fooled by the online photo of the hotel" as our website and all our third party websites, do contain... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This is not a fancy hotel, the room we had was in an outside building, big room, great comfy bed, well furnished, in good condition. Shower a little weak but acceptable. Dog friendly which was essential for us Great staff, without exception they could not have been better, good quality food, basic comfort food type like steak pie, burgers etc,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angus F
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words; it's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us. More 

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
9.7 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
115 reviews
8.1 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
198 reviews
7.4 km away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
514 reviews
24.3 km away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
150 reviews
37.8 km away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional highland hotel and restaurant, on the shores of Loch Ewe in sight of Inverewe Gardens. Poolewe Hotel is a 16th-Century coaching inn in the picturesque village of Poolewe on the shore of Loch Ewe near Gairloch on the NW Coast of Scotland. Just 90 minutes of beautiful easy driving from Inverness Airport. Set amidst dramatic Highland scenery, Poolewe Hotel is ideal for anyone wishing to explore this wild and beautiful corner of Scotland. Guests can choose from twelve en-suite bedrooms and suites, most enjoying spectacular views most of the sea or mountains. In addition, Poolewe Hotel boasts a reputation for excellent food with a restaurant, a conservatory dining area, and a bar. Log fires in all the public rooms contribute to the friendly atmosphere of this historic inn. The hotel welcomes dogs; there is ample parking and free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Visit Poolewe whether to relax or to enjoy an active holiday, or a combination of both. • Visit the world-famous National Trust for Scotland Inverewe Gardens situated less than a mile from the hotel, clearly visible from the hotel dining room. • Enjoy hill walking. There are maps available in the hotel outlining the various routes, catering for a wide range of abilities. • Trout and salmon fishing, whale watching, deer stalking, canoeing, climbing, mountain biking, pony trekking, golf are all on offer in the area. • Take in the beautiful and inspiring scenery. • Visit a traditional small highland distillery. • Witness the amazing wildlife of Western Europe's last true wilderness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Poolewe Hotel

Address: Main Street | Highlands, Poolewe IV22 2JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Price Range: RM489 - RM747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poolewe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Poolewe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Poolewe Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Poolewe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the annexe”
  • More early morning
  • Early morning from room
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with sea view. It's worth every penny.”
 of 5 bubbles 9552095, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms above the breakfast room may hear the morning radio playing downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles BobC159, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You can book a room with sea view or an annexe with family accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles 441brendal, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good to dogs”
 of 5 bubbles 115angusf, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay