We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Poolewe Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Poolewe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Poolewe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Stayed here for one night as part of our North Coast 500 tour. We booked at fairly short notice. Our room was in the annex to the hotel, accessed through the bar or from the carpark. The room was fairly small and the decor and furniture dated, however it was adequate for what we needed. We ate dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elle L
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and found the service friendly and attentive. As you pointed out the Hotel is right next to the loch and less than a mile from the world famous Inverewe Gardens. I am sorry however that you thought the room décor/furniture...

Walton on the Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016

This was to be the best night of our North Coast 500 (the most expensive overnight accommodation) but it was a disapointment. The room was cramped, and although the towels etc were clean the furnishings and fixtures and fittings were not. The shower hose was broken, the floor boards creaked dreadfully, the lino in the bathroom was curling at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linda r
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. I have spoken with the Manager and he has checked the room in question and cannot find any problem with the shower hose or lino. Some floorboards in the main Hotel building do creek a little due to the age of the Hotel, however we have never...

Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

My friend and I booked to eat in this hotel. It was quite busy the evening we went. The food was 'pub grub' style. But a little later after eating our meal a couple came in with their dog and sat down in the restaurant, much to our amazement. We were not happy at all to be eating our meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindatrimblett
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I have discussed your comments with the Manager who informs me that you ate in the conservatory not the restaurant and the dog was in the bar area, after you had finished your meal. We are very much a family and dog friendly hotel and appreciate that many guests wish to bring their dogs with...

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We stayed here for one night during our World Tour of Scotland. After a long day of motorcycling the Poolewe Hotel was a welcome refuge. Check in was swift and we were shown to our "room" in the annex building across the car park. As it was a Bank Holiday and the hotel was quite full, we had booked a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barneston5
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you found your stay with us so enjoyable, particularly after a long day of motorcycling. It is important to us that our guests receive a warm welcome, good food with varied menu and good selection of beers and comfortable, clean rooms and I am delighted to...

Reviewed 10 June 2016

We stayed at the Poolewe Hotel on day 2 of our North Coast 500 trip. We are now somewhat mystified the the good reviews. Whilst there is nothing especially wrong with the place it could benefit from deep cleaning and our room (maybe others ?) could do with some repairs and light modifications to improve upon things (example, smashing your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian G
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay, we do appreciate feedback from our guests. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable bed and clean linen/towels and could not find anything 'especially wrong' with the Hotel, but disappointed to read that you were ‘disappointed’ with your stay. Over the Winter months the Hotel...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I had one lovely night at the hotel. Having a dog limits the choice of accommodation available to me but both of us were warmly welcomed. My room in the annex was pleasantly decorated, had what I needed and was quiet, being a few steps away from the main building. I ate in the bar, good food, good portion size,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay and received a warm welcome. We do aim to provide our guests with friendly service, good quality food and facilities and I am pleased to hear that you were able to experience this during your visit. We...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The good: Beautiful location at the water edge. Stunning views in the morning of the mist floating over the water with green hills behind. The in-house restaurant had a fair selection of vegetarian dishes. The bad: We requested breakfast at 7.30 instead of the 8 am starting time which the hotel apparently had. The manager said they would only be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Manoj S
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stunning location of the Hotel. We are indeed very fortunate to be in such a lovely location offering guests spectacular views as well as ideally located for many activities on offer in the area. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food on...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

Stopped one night here so we could visit Inverewe Gardens which is only just across the bay from here. We were put in the annexe. It was a ground floor room with a lovely sea view out of a large picture window. The room was a little small, but perfectly adequate for one night. We ate in the bar,which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth E
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Poolewe Hotel. Feedback is extremely valuable to us and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the lovely sea view from your bedroom window, had a good meal in the bar and found our staff to be friendly and obliging. I am sorry that there was...

Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

1st of 2 trips of the year to poolewe hotel good to see Gary and staff again still got same chef food still wholesome and fresh we have found nothing is to much trouble hope to be back at our normal time sept.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie m
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and Gary and staff were delighted to see you again. We look forward to your return in September. Very best wishes.

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Lovely bar lunch, friendly service, beautiful outlook. Well worth a stop! We didn't stay in the hotel as this was just a break in our journey, so I can't comment on the accommodation, but the hotel had the appearance of being well cared for, good range of bar meals which were well cooked, with generous helpings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
PooleweHotel, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your bar meal and found the menu varied, food well cooked with generous portions and the service friendly. We strive to provide good quality locally sourced food throughout the Hotel, in the bar, Restaurant and dining area and always welcome our customers feedback. Sorry you did...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
9.7 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
115 reviews
8.1 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
198 reviews
7.4 km away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
514 reviews
24.3 km away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
150 reviews
25.5 km away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional highland hotel and restaurant, on the shores of Loch Ewe in sight of Inverewe Gardens. Poolewe Hotel is a 16th-Century coaching inn in the picturesque village of Poolewe on the shore of Loch Ewe near Gairloch on the NW Coast of Scotland. Just 90 minutes of beautiful easy driving from Inverness Airport. Set amidst dramatic Highland scenery, Poolewe Hotel is ideal for anyone wishing to explore this wild and beautiful corner of Scotland. Guests can choose from twelve en-suite bedrooms and suites, most enjoying spectacular views most of the sea or mountains. In addition, Poolewe Hotel boasts a reputation for excellent food with a restaurant, a conservatory dining area, and a bar. Log fires in all the public rooms contribute to the friendly atmosphere of this historic inn. The hotel welcomes dogs; there is ample parking and free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Visit Poolewe whether to relax or to enjoy an active holiday, or a combination of both. • Visit the world-famous National Trust for Scotland Inverewe Gardens situated less than a mile from the hotel, clearly visible from the hotel dining room. • Enjoy hill walking. There are maps available in the hotel outlining the various routes, catering for a wide range of abilities. • Trout and salmon fishing, whale watching, deer stalking, canoeing, climbing, mountain biking, pony trekking, golf are all on offer in the area. • Take in the beautiful and inspiring scenery. • Visit a traditional small highland distillery. • Witness the amazing wildlife of Western Europe's last true wilderness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Poolewe Hotel

Address: Main Street | Highlands, Poolewe IV22 2JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Price Range: RM491 - RM634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poolewe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poolewe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Poolewe Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Poolewe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the annexe”
  • More early morning
  • Early morning from room
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with sea view. It's worth every penny.”
 of 5 bubbles 9552095, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms above the breakfast room may hear the morning radio playing downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles BobC159, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You can book a room with sea view or an annexe with family accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles 441brendal, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good to dogs”
 of 5 bubbles 115angusf, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay