We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Invercauld Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 466: English reviews
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The Invercauld Hotel is currently the biggest hotel in Braemar and is the first building you see on the left as you enter the village along the long straight coming in from the North side. It wears a slight air of neglect now, although the bar still feels smart and snug. We took a very large party over over 40...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frankribs
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have your group, and im so glad your group enjoyed them self, i've passed on your praise to the team, hope to welcome you back back in the near future. Thanks again. Regards Jane

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We stayed at the Invercauld Arms Hotel for 5 nights commencing 25th September. Having read a few reviews which weren't very favourable, I rang The manager Ann before our journey commenced, to ensure we had been allocated two rooms with a bath and a shower as we were travelling with friends. Ann assured us our rooms indeed did have a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ronaldreed
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. I've passed on you kind comments to my staff. Regards Jane

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Invercauld Arms Hotel with Shearings Holidays. Saturday 17th September to 24th Traveled from Bolton with several stops to pick passengers up before arriving at Gretna Green where we changed coaches for our journey to Braemar. Our driver was Gary who had a dry sense of humour, he was very informative throughout all our journeys and certainly added to our break...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandeesBolton
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, apologies regarding the fire alarm, glad the staff dealt with this quickly. TV signal went off due them switching the 4g signal on. We provided extra entertainment in the evening due to this, glad you found the food to your liking. Regards Jane

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

I had a prebooked lunch at the hotel with a group of friends last Thursday. We were met and shown to our seats by friendly and polite staff. We had a lovely big bowl of carrot and coriander soup with a crusty roll and a large selection of sandwiches and tea/coffee. The sandwiches were freshly made and set out on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shen22
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this lovely review, we are happy that you enjoyed your lunch break with us and that you have found everything to your liking. We would be happy to see you in the future if you are in the area. Regards Jane

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Tried here for dinner whilst in Braemar. Ordered a veggie burger and partner ordered scampi from the exceptionally limited bar menu. The scampi was passable but could tell it was a pre-prepared frozen meal. Nothing special. The veggie burger though was terrible the grease was running down my hands with each bite. Was so bad I returned it and got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scotchick06
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, the bar menu is not limited, sorry the veggie burger was not to your taste, i do not agree with you title but we are all entitled to an opinion glad the staff did not charge you for the veggie burger. Regards Jane

Clydebank, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

This was a first class establishment, 32 ladies booked in for a light lunch. Soup was hot and plentiful, sandwiches were freshly made and a wonderful selection and plenty of them. Tea and coffee was good. Served by pleasant friendly staff. We will definitely be back if we are in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this lovely review, We are very happy that you had enjoyed your lunch break with us. We are looking forward to your next visit if you are in the area. Regards Jane

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Staff were very friendly but overstretched. Food on the first evening was not very good but got better as the days went on. On the whole we enjoyed our stay. Weather was perfect and the scenery was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheila S
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write this review, Glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Jane

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Stayed on a Shearings 5 day break.Hotel was clean,comfortable and warming although public areas seemed to be very dark and need more lighting. Lucky to have a spacious room on the first floor which appeared to be in better condition than some other rooms.Food was good.Service OK although it appeared the hotel was understaffed.Poor lady on bar duties after 9...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doncar2016
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for the lovely review, glad the staff looked after you during your stay. Regards Jane

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

On arrival with my husband and inlaws we were not made to feel welcome by reception. Shown to 2 rooms with what can only be described as charity shop furniture at best. Husband sat on bed and went straight through it!! Asked to move rooms as could not sleep there and we were moved to ground floor, asked for room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sherryscreations
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Cool place. The bar was almost Self servicing except the beer. Food was what to expect from pub food. The entrance made is not to be there. But when a waitress told us we could sit in the pub bar, we stayed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulf S
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review, glad you decided to stay in our lovely bar. Confsed to what you mean by self servcing in the bar, we do not offer table service in the bar, but im sure if you had asked we could have took your order at the table. Regards Jane

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.1 km away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Braemar
170 reviews
31.5 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
337 reviews
22.2 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
772 reviews
16.3 km away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
346 reviews
39.2 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Price Range: RM323 - RM758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
tonbridge
over a year ago
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Bradford, United Kingdom
9 months ago
tonbridge
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms very widely in facilities and there's no lift.. But hotel management will do their best to make you comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffAdams, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had only an evening bar meal there but will go again.”
 of 5 bubbles 572robertg, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 36 is set more to the side of the hotel as opposed to the front.”
 of 5 bubbles marinersd, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms on first floor the Hotel has a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles johnmZ3572PH, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet so not sure it would matter.”
 of 5 bubbles kazmd444, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay