We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Booking.comUS$129*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Invercauld Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 490: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 13 July 2015

The unmowed grass full of dandelions in a land of immaculately groomed, puttying green short lawns along with the peeling paint on the hotel's signs foreshadowed my hotel room. The dirty carpet that wasn't secured at the walls, water stains on walls and ceiling, a large bird "splat" on an already dirty window, chairs that were threadbare in places, and...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Tracy S
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

It seems a shame that you felt the need to leave a 1 star review. I’m afraid I have to disagree with your comments regarding the décor of the room and our bedroom doors as these are fire doors. Your feedback does not reflect the majority of other comments left on this site; it does seem our product is not...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

I have stayed in this hotel twice in the last 10 months. People say it is dated and I agree with this but if you look beyond the decor of the bedrooms you find a hotel with charming public areas and most important of all, you are given a warm welcome by the cheery staff who can't do enough for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank The-Welsh-Pirate
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review. Great to hear you found your holiday to be excellent value for money. Hope to see you again sometime soon. Regards Jane

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel is clean but it is tired and needs refurbishment - for instance the carpet in my room was very worn. The food is OK but the portions are small - probably designed for the elderly coach parties that would be their standard customers. WIFI is only available in reception, which is a bit annoying, especially as the mobile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, I’m glad you found the hotel to be clean, sorry you found the portions size not be enough, if you had ask for more the staff would have been only to happy to oblige. Regards Jane

LINCOLN
Reviewed 1 July 2015

What a delightful place ,we requested a room on lower floor and got a spacious room on the ground floor ,it was delightful .Staff very pleasant at all times well stocked bar enjoyable food and a quiet nights sleep,excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barbarasbistro
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely 5* review thank you, it nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed on your lovely comments to the staff regarding the service level they were thrilled, thanks again. Regards Jane

Reading
Reviewed 1 July 2015

This appears to be part of a change, but you would never guess it by it's exterior appearance. It has the look of a country hotel/pub with dining, rather than a chain hotel. There was no room in the main restaurant when we arrived without a reservation, but the staff offered us an adjacent room which was perfectly suitable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tud59
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a posting a wonderfully positive review of your stay with us, it was so nice to read you enjoyed your break with us, we do offer value for money breaks, I will pass on your lovely comments onto my stay. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Jane

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Arrived late on the Friday evening, having phoned ahead and pre warned the hotel. Waited 10mins before any staff available to check us in. Room was very good, clean, well presented, four poster bed, spacious, all the usuals but very thin towels. Our friends could not report the same - their room was the opposite. Walls very thin, you could...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank helen r
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, apologies you had to wait short period of time to check-in at reception, glad you found your room to be clean you where booked into our premier room, your friends booked into a standard room, sorry you found the walls to be thin it is an older building dating back to...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Were delighted when we found out we were going to Braemar. We went in March and were delighted with our room, well decorated, clean. Food was good, hotel staff very friendly. Always enjoy going to Scotland. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 655pas
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review; I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be comfortable. I will pass your comments to all my staff; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Invercauld Arms Hotel Regards Jane

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Very lucky to have one of the front rooms with a bay window. The food and waiting staff were excellent. Good choice of food and plenty of it. The entertainment at night was very good. The hotel is situated in a perfect spot in the village, only about an 8 minute walk or less if you walk faster, to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lavender20142014
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving a lovely review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was nice to read you will be back, thanks again. Kind regards Jane

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

With the only other large hotel closed for renovation, The Invercauld provides one of the few bars in the town. Having completed a good hill walk, we thought that we deserved some refreshments, so we dropped in. The rarge of beers and lagers on offer was pathetic, and nothing worth dirtying a glass for. There has been a rise in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George K
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am disappointed to read that you found out prices expensive for food, we offer value for money. However I am confused regarding your comment about out range of Beers and Lagers as we offer Tetley smooth, Carlsberg, Carlsberg Export, and also we offer range of 5 real ales which are from local brewery and bottle beer we certainly feel...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

just back from Braemar where we spent five lovely days with Shearings Travel, in a lovely peaceful area.The hotel was warm and welcoming, nice room overlooking the side garden was clean and had been recently updated with new shower and tv set and was quite any time of day also had,comfy beds. The dining room was very inviting with VERY...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jo w
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review of your recent stay with us, I am glad to read the staff looked after you so well and that you found the food to be good, I have a good bunch of staff here who work so hard so everyone enjoys their holiday with us. Thanks again for a lovely review. Hope to...

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.3 km away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
180 reviews
0.8 km away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
266 reviews
21.2 km away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
568 reviews
39.1 km away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
835 reviews
39.0 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Price Range: RM276 - RM1,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
tonbridge
over a year ago
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Bradford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
tonbridge
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we were on ground floor no.3 and it was fine”
MontgomeryS_12, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Road side rooms offer the best views, its not a busy road.”
960martinb, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had room 65 which was very quiet, but the hotel is a very quiet one anyway”
Suesheff, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at front of Hotel as the views are much nicer.”
collyboyFife, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not choose room 16 or 17 and check them first when you arrive.”
J3998PXmikea, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$129* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$129
TravelocityUS$129
Expedia.comUS$129
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates