We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Braemar Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Braemar Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Braemar Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 162: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Firstly the waiting staff were very sweet, but Im afraid the waitress we had at our table was very inexperienced. Part of the meal was great but the other was part was inedible. Don't bother complaining as I was shouted at by the manager for doing so (Not really the experience you want to encounter when you are 6 months...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmalgriff
bailey1Braemar, Owner at Braemar Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly you and your 3 friends came in to the Hotel and all seemed fine Then it all changed when the waitress was giving you the menus she told you we had run out of Lamb Shank,(with a busy Restaurant 80 - 100 meals per night this can happen) your attitude changed demanding to know why you were not told...

Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great. However the restaurant, bar and lobby needs some refurbishment. The welcome by the owner was rather cold and unpolite. We stayed in one of the chalets, which were ok and clean. Breakfast was below average. The house misses some soul and looking after. It is a real shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tirol76
bailey1Braemar, Owner at Braemar Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Restaurant Newly built Spring 2014 just 2 year past Fully OAK panelled interior with traditional Scottish Tartan carpets including New Bar with over 350 + bottles of Malt Whisky & a large variety of Gins / Vodkas / Spirits / beers etc. The Hall / Lobby are also Oak Paneled with Tartan Carpets This is Traditional for a Scottish granite...

Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We were up for a wedding at Mar Lodge and this was very conveniently located. All the staff we came across were excellent and the owners seemed very friendly and accommodating. I guess we met owners and possibly their son (?), who was likewise very helpful. We only ate once in the restaurant but food was very good. If I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justiciar
Yorkshire
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Our room was well appointed, comfortable and clean - we had a good night's sleep. Food of high standard for breakfast and evening meal, but drinks were pricey. Great location for exploring surrounding countryside.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank applefox
Bebington
Reviewed 3 July 2016

whilst we stayed elsewhere we treated ourselves to Sunday lunch here and were not disappointed. Food was very good quality, served nice and hot and staff were very nice. We had made a reservation, as advised but the dining area was fairly empty whilst there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We made a late booking for a family meal on a Sunday night and we were pleasantly surprised. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, warm and clean surroundings and the hotel itself has is so charming! Good selection of wine and food, which is of good quality. Balmoral chicken was lovely as were the steaks. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theroamingfifer
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

After a long day walking I had a super evening meal at this handy spot in Braemar. Seafood platter to start was excellent and very good fish and chips after. Local ale very nice and plenty choiced avalabke. Staff were all pleasant and all the courses were well timed. The bill wad very reasonable given the quality of the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgewalker000
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We've only ever used the restaurant and all times have been good with very generous portions. Most recently we tried their Sunday carvery which was better than any of us had ever had elsewhere. Whilst many carvery's are often stingy with meat the same could not be said here. Great quality of meat with plenty of sides to choose from

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trina1505
Perth
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Warmly welcomed at front door by one of the owners who was a very charming lady.we were shown to our room which was beautiful & like the hotel was full of character & spotlessly clean,all was explained to us about food times etc. food was exceptional & the sunday carvery a must !. all staff were very knowledgeable & professional...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the area to go on a few walks. The owners are very helpful and nothing is too much hassle. The rooms are comfortable and newly refurbished with added touches such as freshly cooked chocolate brownies to welcome you back from a day on the hill. Although it is only a B&B the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eurotraveller1977

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.1 km away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
16.4 km away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
346 reviews
31.4 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
537 reviews
39.1 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
31.1 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel located in an old Scottish hunting lodge two minutes from the center of town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Braemar Lodge Hotel

Address: 6 Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5YQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Price Range: RM474 - RM762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braemar Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Braemar Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar Hotel Braemar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Braemar Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 2. 4 poster bed very comfy great sleep”
 of 5 bubbles N3712KOstevec, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Maybe the lodge is better than the cabins, but I doubt it”
 of 5 bubbles glasvegan, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“It doesn't matter which room or cabin you are allocated the quality is high throughout.”
 of 5 bubbles Arny_Sacknusem, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“cabin 5 had a lot more sunlight than cabin 4.”
 of 5 bubbles y1yp480, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The lodges within the hotel grounds are awesome for staying in, they sleep up to 6 and are fully equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles 314annc, 7 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay