We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chandlers Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Ascog
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Chandlers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chandlers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This was a return visit to this hotel which i and my wife really enjoyed.Its quiet location with lovely views over the water is very nice .We upgraded to a sea view room which offered a super outlook with the sound of the waves thrown in! The room was well appointed and the bed as on our previous visit very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jgx2016
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We recently stayed one night at Chandlers Hotel. We booked the "Montgomery Suite" and paid £170 for Bed and Breakfast. We also requested dinner on that night and the whole booking was confirmed. Upon our arrival we were informed that the kitchen is closed on Mondays but no-one had bothered to notify us. The "Montgomery Suite" was just one large...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 114Rosie
Alloa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We went on a 5pm deal and to think people actually pay the prices on their website is laughable. The room we were in (Buchanan) is very gloomy due to its position in the house and the amenities in the room are basic. A couple of coffee /tea sachets; complimentary shampoo and shower gel. No cotton wool (I'd forgotten mine!)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sa_leach
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Can't actually comment on the venue because my booking for Chandlers, as a holiday rental, was cancelled due to the owner taking a booking after mine and then cancelling me out! Absolutely disgusted - had already invited family and friends! Had booked via a rental website company who were aghast at the owners behaviour - I assume they'll make much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frecks33
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Had a 2 night stay here and the hotel and location are stunning. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We got an upgrade to a beautiful sea view room and even got a lift into town from the manager who passed us as we were walking. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, this was only £5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GMN_RENF
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel with really friendly staff. The breakfast was a highlight: lots of fresh fruit, pastries and cereals. Nice cooked breakfast and really reasonable price. Good location, not too far from the centre of town although it's definitely easier to drive in. The interior was really tired looking. Our room was quite small but the bathroom was lovely although the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HayleyJaneWishaw
Escocia
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We had 3 nights in this hotel early July. No one at reception despite calling. Got a man on the phone. Our room was to the rear. Very little light as the rear wall was about 9feet from our window. Luckily the lights worked. We asked for a room to the front to be told that would be an extra...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tourist01Escocia
allisongibb, General Manager at Chandlers Hotel, responded to this review

How dare you complain about my business when your stay here was absolutely FREE OF CHARGE??? You were a guest in my home, simply because your friends had a discount voucher that they had paid £21.00 per night for and were unable to use it. I BENT ALL OF THE RULES TO ALLOW YOU TO USE THE VOUCHER, WHICH WAS...

glasgow
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed on a coupon deal earlier in the year . Positives , great views. Everything else negative . Over priced food and drink , poor quality breakfast . Owners not interested . Would never go back. Bute itself is lovely with some great Scenery and good things to do . Friend bars and restaurants . Don't be put off by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phil67
allisongibb, General Manager at Chandlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm at a loss as to why you've waited so long to complain and also at a loss about your comments. It was your choice whether to eat or not in our restaurant. Nobody forced you to, it wasnt part of your discount deal. My recolection is that you didn't spend a penny with us...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Just back from a weekend break in this hotel, gorgenus hotel, welcomed by Alison who was lovely and felt as though you were being welcomed into someone's home. We were a bit late in getting there but this wasn't an issue, we had a delicious meal and service was excellent. We met other people there who were staying and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhona S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We stayed at the Chandler's last month and had a fantastic stay. Not only is the location idyllic but Alison (Owner) went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. We travelled with our 5 month old daughter, which as anyone with kids knows can be challenging, but Alison insured we were well looked after and nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarosa R

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascog
1.7 km away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
840 reviews
2.1 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
224 reviews
13.1 km away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
80 reviews
1.8 km away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
226 reviews
1.8 km away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#12 of 19 in Rothesay
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Chandlers Hotel

Address: Ascog Bay, Ascog PA20 9ET, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Ascog
Price Range: RM351 - RM504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chandlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandlers Hotel Ascog
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chandlers Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chandlers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Kennedy Room best”
 of 5 bubbles RnM_McEwan, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Although not beach front it is on the coast with views over to the mainland”
 of 5 bubbles LuJam, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We upgraded from the basic room, and I guess this meant we got the lake view and possibly a bigger room.”
 of 5 bubbles 45gailp, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Titus0ates, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The montgomery suite”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay