We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Shore House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Shore House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Shore House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 220: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a bite to eat, bar service was good drinks were nice, sun was shining and the views whilst sitting outside was amazing. Ordered food to eat outside as it was such a beautiful day to find out you can only get pizza outside after 5.30 a bit strange and couldnt quite figure out the difference from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Lesley. Glad to hear you enjoyed your pizzas. Sorry you were disappointed we don't do table service outside in the evenings but the restaurant was fully booked and too busy for doing outside tables as well. We have a certain capacity for output from the kitchen and we reach that without serving on the...

Glasgow
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The restaurant has a glorious view down Loch Goil. The service was warm and friendly and we were kept up to date when our food was coming. Everything was freshly cooked and tasted so. The venison pie was delicious, chunks of venison and lovely gravy. The veg had a nice bite as I like it. Those who had the jerk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank yo very much Joanne for your great review of the Shore House. I am delighted you were very happy with everything. We really appreciate your positive comments and you will return to lovely Lochgoilhead soon. Gillian Curtis

Gairloch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Lovely to wake with such a spectacular view down the loch. Enjoyed an excellent full breakfast (son) and porridge (me) that were freshly cooked from good ingredients. Very impressive given the setting and remoteness. My son was welcome to stay in the restaurant area doing his homework that morning while I was working locally which was really convenient and highlighted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gacks
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your brilliant review of our little inn. We really enjoyed having you and your son stay with us and hope you will return soon. Gillian Curtis

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Good location with nice views, excellent service and friendly staff. Only let down is that for £5.50, I don't think it's unreasonable to expect a few more than 5 garlic mushrooms and four king prawns on a £9.50 pizza. Quality of ingredients good though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yellowmellow_01
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you for your nearly perfect review of the Shore House. I'm sorry, but a little surprised, that you felt your food was overpriced. The large fresh mushrooms were accompanied by a generous salad garnish and home made pizza bread. The king prawns on our home made pizzas are large, and of course you are not just paying for the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

The best view you could hope for. The food was excellent, and the staff even nicer, so accomodating despite being very busy. Great bar too, lovely atmosphere. Relaxed and friendly. Will definitely return it's just right. The room was one of the nicest we've stayed in, very good quality everything - Just great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you Sophie for your wonderful review. It seems the Shore House was very much to your liking and that's fabulous. Everyone here does their best to give guests an enjoyable time with us and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Hope we see you here again. Gillian Curtis

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a couple of drinks, in the very homely bar, and we're lucky enough to get a table for dinner in the very busy restaurant. The choice of speciality beers and single malt whisky went down a treat. Our meals were delicious and served by very friendly staff. We are hoping to return in the near future to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LillyDumfries
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your superb review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your meal and the delights of our 'wee bar'. I hope you can come and stay at the Shore House before too long. Gillian Curtis

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is at a lovely spot at top of the loch but unfortunately appears to be very rarely open. We visited on a Monday and the inn was totally dubbed up with no bar or anything. We did see a notice saying it was closed on Mondays and Tuesday's. So we phoned for a table on Wednesday to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven S
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Your review is not accurate. We are open five days a week Wednesday to Sunday and have chosen to operate our business this way for the last eight years. It works very well for us. You were certainly not told we were closed on a Wednesday but were most likely told the restaurant was fully booked, as it often is...

Reviewed 6 August 2016

Have just returned from a night at the Shore House Inn. It is now a lovely memory. The location is amazing, the food was fresh and tasty and served in a dining room with a gorgeous view and the room was elegant and very comfortable. We hope to return! M&E

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Shore House. It's very satisfying to have such good feedback from happy guests. I look forward to welcoming you back one day. Gillian Curtis

west yorkshire
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights! First night in a beautiful double room overlooking the loch WOW, a little bit disappointed on the second as we had to have a twin room! Was still a lovely room just without that stunning view! My fault may I add!!! If only I had booked sooner! Still no problems were encountered Gillian made sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthbarb55
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

That's a fabulous review - thank you very much. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I do hope you return soon (make sure you book a loch view room in plenty of time!) Gillian Curtis

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Visited here without booking on a Thursday evening, restaurant looked quiet but we weren't sure if a table was available by the way the waiter was huffing and puffing and a bit abrupt. Tasty starters and my pizza was beautiful and too much for one, desserts were a tad plain but the ice cream was lovely. Meal was tasty, hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh E
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Shore House. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and considered it good value for money. We do our best to keep our pricing at a reasonable level and enjoy a lot of repeat business because of this. Hope you will come back soon. Gillian Curtis

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
10.7 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
372 reviews
12.3 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,279 reviews
10.3 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.5 km away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
0.2 km away
The Goil Inn
The Goil Inn
#2 of 2 in Lochgoilhead
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Shore House loch-side guesthouse sits on the waters edge at the head of beautiful Loch Goil. Formerly an inn, the Shore House offers bed, breakfast and evening meals exclusively for residents only. There are four comfortable en-suite bedrooms, a residents bar and stunning loch-view lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shore House

Address: Lochgoilhead | Argyll, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Price Range: RM490 - RM553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Shore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Shore House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Shore House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 has nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles 468jant, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a loch view”
 of 5 bubbles gacks, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The loch view is so special”
 of 5 bubbles 496sophiew, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with a loch view”
 of 5 bubbles elainer563, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Some have better views - worth paying for the slightly better room although the public areas also have the view”
 of 5 bubbles P8227YXmarkm, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5