We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Rhu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 509: English reviews
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Three adults stayed here for one night. Our first reaction was a bit apprehensive as we had arrived when a wedding reception was in full swing. No need to be concerned about excessive noise at all. Rooms were away from the guests staying overnight and were quiet. Our meal was taken with no disturbances at all. Everything was great and... More 

Helpful?
Thank thetraveller435
Eastry
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The people here are really warm and welcoming. The rooms are generally really good, clean and well-appointed, as I've tried a few now. Its better if you're on an upper floor, as those on the ground floor suffer from noise carried from the reception area and also the regular sound of church bells. Staff are brilliant and accommodating and really... More 

Helpful?
Thank squiddyEastry
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had our wedding here on the 5th Nov. The full day was amazing, the attention to detail is second to none. Every staff member was well trained & enthusiastic to their roles. The food & drink was absolutely gorgeous. Cannot wait to come back & stay again. Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone 😀

Helpful?
Thank Suzie A
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Suzie, Thank you very much for this fabulous review. The opinion of our guest's matter to us and it is through feed back we get the opportunity to improve. I am delighted that you both had a great time and thank you for sharing this very special event with the team at Rosslea. I'm sure we will all... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had booked a table for family meal for my wife's birthday but should have realised that on a Saturday evening they may have had another function on in the large hall and as luck would have it there was a wedding on. The guests were outside the restaurant window sitting on the window sills having their smoke breaks and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank William N
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Rosslea hall. I am so sorry that the behaviour of other guests at the wedding celebration spoiled your birthday dinner. We try our utmost to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable experience but totally understand that the ambiance can be disrupted when another large party... More 

Paisley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Highly disappointed in this hotel, I had heard from the bride how lovely it is,but I was left disheartened. I will start with the only 2 good parts that I can mention was the Staff they were lovely and the food was nice however when I asked for a 2nd roll for the soup I was told they could not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashalee83
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am disappointed to read a review such as this and sincerely apologise for the shortfalls you encountered but feel I need to point out one or two things. You failed to mention that prior to checking in you were upset and complained at quite some length about our payment policy because you would have to pay cash... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Fantastic place to stay, warm friendly and attentive staff. Had a great view from the room, looking out on to the River Clyde. We had dinner in the bar and breakfast in the dining room, the food was excellent with a good selection to choose from, would definitely recommend staying!

Helpful?
Thank Iael
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Iael, Thank you for your very good review, your opinion matters a great deal to us and thank you for sharing with others through tripadvisor. Reviews such as this make it all worth while and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Thanks Again... More 

Warton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

10/10 for this hotel. Perfect relaxing setting. Quiet, Clean, Spacious room. Shower room with pedestal sink and toilet well laid out, more than enough matching towels, tiled from floor to ceiling. . Bar is spacious and hold many single malts. Breakfast in the pleasant surroundings of the Garden Room with no white noise background music, perfect. Should be at least... More 

Helpful?
Thank 12nigel07
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with others through Tripadvisor. I gives me great pleasure to read a review like this. We are in this industry because we are passionate about customer service, it is through reveiws good or bad that we learn which areas require development. It is fantastic to learn... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Loved this hotel staff very attentive and upgraded to get sea view and it was well worth it. Food was first class we were on a bed, breakfast and evening meal offer and although they have a set menu we opted for taking the £20 off main menu as more of a choice so did not mind the extra cost... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie M
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann-Marie. Thank you for your very kind words and for sharing with fellow travellers through TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience, I will ensure all of the team see your positive comments. I am so sorry about the chimes from the church bells and yes I have tried on numerous occassions to have these reduced... More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2016

An excellent hotel in a lovely location. All the staff go that extra mile for you and really make you feel special. The food was delicious,rooms are comfy,oversized bed,and lovely hot shower. good parking facilities. ,

Helpful?
Thank Jan142014
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Jan, Thank you so much for your really good review. Comment like yours are what makes it worth while to us as hoteliers. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you have shared your experience with fellow travellers. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Don More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

I was at this hotel for a good friends daughter wedding ,we all had a fantastic day and night .staff and food was great would definitely recommend this hotel .we staff overnight beautiful place to visit .

Helpful?
Thank Catherinekaney
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Catherine, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others, your opinion matters a great deal too us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Rosslea hall. Kind Regards Don More 

330 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Family Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Seaview Room (16)
Viewed
Single Room (14)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Suite (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhu
4.9 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
11.0 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
26.8 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
4.3 km away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
108 reviews
12.8 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the picturesque village of Rhu overlooking the Firth of Clyde, near Loch Lomond. The Rosslea Hall offers you a choice of traditional elegance and modern facilities. Our award winning Restaurant and wedding venue are famed for the quality of food and service. Built in 1849 by Architect Daniel Walkinshaw, who was so enamoured by Italy in general, decided his house should be italian in style and built on the shores that most resembled his loved Bay of Naples. To this day, with its bell tower clearly visible from the peninsula in Rhu Rosslea still has the Italianate flavour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Ferry Road | If Travelling by Car Please Use a Neighbouring Post Code of G84 8RL, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rhu
Price Range: RM516 - RM707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslea Hall Country Hotel
Rosslea Hall Country Rhu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a front facing room to get best views.”
 of 5 bubbles thetraveller435, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not room 2 unless you have mobility issues, due to church bells”
 of 5 bubbles squiddyEastry, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No problems with noise..rm2 groundfloor is lovely (and accessible),large room and huge ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles 597patsyj, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles ag6120, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not exactly beachfront but on the shores of a loch.”
 of 5 bubbles jennys371, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay