We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Tarbet Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Tarbet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bay Tarbet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 732: English reviews
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

After a week in a motor home we needed some extra comfort , having stayed at Bay Tarbet 6 years earlier we decided to phone and book a nights stay , great room lovely staff both restaurant and bar great entertainment will surely return , thank you all at The Bay Tarbet .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank michael s
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff involved. Please do not leave it so long to visit us again! Kind regards

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

this hotel is not brand new or newly refurbished, but is clean and comfortable (and warm!) Room 143 is a decent sized double - it overlooks the car park at the back - bathroom has a full-sized bath with plenty of piping hot water. The tv could do with tuning in! The food was very good, with lots of choice...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank moira g
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post you review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food/service to be of a very good standard. I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed the stunning scenery located around the local area and I am sure you cannot wait to...

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We Have travelled with Shearing for years, First time we have had to complain, our room 128 was above the Speakers in the Entertainment Lounge , for 2 night it was after Midnight we got to sleep, asked for another room on Weds, was given keys to room 211, Apart from traffic on road outside our window it was quieter,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank margaret c
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am disappointed to read that you had some issues during your stay, this was very unfortunate. Usually Room 128 is not prone to such a level of noise that it disturbs up until midnight. The entertainment finishes as 10.45pm most nights and background music is played after that for a small period of time, with generally little...

birmingham
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The driver was good and the I liked the hotel. The room was of a good size however the bathroom could do with a makeover, it is too small for a bath and toilet really as the handle was touching the wall, i would suggest a nice shower in here. The staff are great and make the hotel, very friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cartersam
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post you review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have given us your seal of approval by stating you would happily return. I will pass on your lovely comments regarding the staff and could not agree more that they are a excellent group. Regarding the Breakfast...

Welshpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

we have just returned from a four day three nights stay at the Tarbet Hotel. which included New Year. the trip down was very nice driver very interesting, but he must of been very cold as a number of times asked to turn the heat down on the bus and declined to do so.so journey very hot and uncomfortable.The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracey C
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time top post your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and found it to be well worth the visit. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the "New Years Nags" tournament but I think the other 60+ people who played had a...

Brampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed at the Tarbet as a couple for 5 days over Christmas,something we have been doing for the last few years. We stayed in room 123 which has wonderful views arcross Ben Lomond and the loch,the room is large with bathroom with bath and shower over,and was presented to the usual high standard we've come to expect. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wardle22
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review. I see this is your 4th Christmas break with us and I think that is testament to the excellent programme we provide over the Christmas period. I am glad to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and found everything to the standard you expect and beyond. I am...

Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We have just returned home after spending 5 days at the Tarbet over the Christmas period and my review is our own personal thoughts of our experience and I am sure someone who is able to create their own entertainment would write a totally different review - "another man's meat is another man's poison". We have stayed at this Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kevin H
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post this satirical review of your stay. Having read the review several times, I am unsure as to what information you seen in any brochure or advertising to say that we provide entertainment all day everyday. We are clear that we provide entertainment every evening and the management also provide quizzes...

lancashire
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings coach holiday at the Tarbet Hotel read a few mixed reviews before we went but we could not find anything to complain about hotel is tired in places but given its age ,the staff we're always pleasant and it was very clean food was very good and our beds were fine slept like...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jackie100
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will keep your promise of returning to us if you are in the area again. Take care and all the best for 2017!! Kind regards

pendle
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Just returned from a four night stay in this lovely hotel we came with shearings travel, must say our stay was great from start to finish, the bedroom, bar, restaurant and reception were clean and well kept the staff were always friendly and the service was quick, We enjoyed all our meals and had a good selection on the menu,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pawson_c
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your lovely review I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend to family & friend, this means a lot to us and is much appreciated. I will pass on all your lovely comments to all the staff involved, I am sure they will be very satisfied to hear...

Abergele, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I am disabled with a damaged spine, I phoned the hotel and asked for the manager after reading all the poor reviews. I was extremely concerned about the comments about the matrasses been warn out. I was told that if I was to report this at the reception they do have spare matrasses and would change them right away. On...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank portfolios4u
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, With regards to the issues you have listed, I would like to clarify a few points that seem to have been missed out. We were aware of your request and fulfilled it, every effort is made to fulfil requests that are supplied. Your friends mattress was replaced immediately as the complaint was lodged and no further issues were...

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
2.0 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
394 reviews
2.2 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,080 reviews
11.9 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
22.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
23.3 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Price Range: RM293 - RM436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't pay for a room with a view unless they can guarantee it will be a full on loch view”
 of 5 bubbles young1976, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loch views are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles maureenb995, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have to eat at Hotel or drive to get any choice of dining establishments”
 of 5 bubbles jedlots, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a lake view room if you wish”
 of 5 bubbles denis89, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“worth upgrading to have beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles JeanLo2, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5