We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Tarbet Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Tarbet Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bay Tarbet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 732: English reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

our room was awfull flakey paint cracked bath a double bed in a single room a out of date tv 2welcome packages with wine and only 1cork screw in the whole hotel and the scenic view we paid for was of a tree in the car park when we looked out the window damp stains on the ceiling and dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamkirkbride
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room, I only wish that we could have had the chance to rectify these issues that you say you had, as nothing was reported at the time, I am unable to do that. However I will look into these comments and take action if/where required. Regarding the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was are first visit to this area of Scotland and this hotel, we found the food very good staff in the dinning room were very helpful you did not wait long for service. The rooms at the front of the hotel appear to be the better rooms. The entertainment was good, all the staff at the hotel were happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johanne L
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and the food to be the highlight of your stay. I will pass those comments on to those involved. I hope your will visit us again in the near future,

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our 4th stay at a Bay/Shearings Hotel and we found it to be similar to the others. It's in a beautiful location on the shore of Loch Lomond and is an impressive building, although some parts of the interior are tired. Despite this, however, we enjoyed our stay and appreciated we had not paid for luxury. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GavinEdwardp
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. I will pass on your comments to all involved and I'm sure they will be very appreciative of your opinions. All the best and haste ye back!!!!

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from a stay at this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.Although the food was good and the staff friendly the rooms were awful.Our carpet looked very grubby and was ill -fitting.I wiped a patch of the bathroom floor with a damp tissue and it came up filthy As far as behind the bathroom door was concerned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine F
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and food, I will pass them on to our catering team. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your room, unfortunately they were not reported at the time and as such I am unable to rectify them for you. Had they been reported I am sure...

Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have just returned from a stay at this hotel. Although the staff were very friendly and welcoming the hotel we found very old and tired and we definitely would not return. It is in a lovely position on the loch and looks very imposing from the outside but I am afraid once you enter things change dramatically. the room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank June S
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post this review and acknowledging that our staff are very friendly and welcoming, I will pass these lovely comments on to the staff and I am sure they will be happy to hear your opinion of them. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with your accommodation, had...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This dream of a hotel in tarbet scotland is one of the best stays i and my wife have taken, the hotel itself has all the charm of old scotland kept extremely clean, the choice of food offered is unbeatable and very well presented by excellent staff who look after you second to none,it is one of the hotels throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joe w
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Wow!! thank you so much for this very positive and lovely review. I am glad to here that you enjoyed your stay and found all parts of your break with us to be to your enjoyment. I will pass on your comments to all the staff, who I am sure will be overjoyed to hear how much you...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I think our bedroom was the furthest from reception and facilities - one could feel the corridor becoming colder the further one went - our room whilst clean on the surface had long been in need of a deep clean (behind wardrobe, radiator under bed). The food generally was good but how the waitresses had to work to get the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E K
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, I will look into your concerns to establish what, if anything, had gone wrong. Unfortunately as these issues were not reported at the time it is difficult to resolve them now, If they had been reported at the time I am sure our staff would have been more than happy...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned from a weekend away at the Tarbet Hotel, Loch Lomond. The Hotel is ideally situated but unfortunately the weather was not very kind to us. The food was very good and the waitress service was excellent. The entertainment has a lot to be desired not to everyone's taste. This is the second time I have been to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed, for the large part, your stay with us. I will pass your lovely comments on to our catering and service staff who will be very happy to hear that they looked after you well. I will pass on your comments regarding the entertainment to the...

Whitstable
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have nothing but praise for the value for money that Shearings offer on their weekend deals. On this occasion we were up for the Commonwealth Games and noticed that this hotel was just outside Glasgow. In hindsight I wished we had stayed here and not been ripped off by the prices Glasgow charged! The Target is in a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 8Bubble
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review I am glad to read that you find our company and the hotel offers their customers excellent value for money, I could not agree more!!! I will pass on your lovely comments to all our staff especially Jan, who will be very grateful. Bay hotels continues to...

Lancashire
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Came here with our mother to celebrate her 84th birthday. She loved it. The food was lovely, with some excellent choices. My mother did have a fall due to the unevenness of the flooring on the second floor corridor - however, the manager provided us with a wheelchair for us to use all weekend and all was well. We found...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maryann73
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your positive review. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and found it such excellent value for money. I hope your mother is feeling better now and I was only to happy to assist in ensuring the comfort of you and your family during your break. Unfortunately there must have...

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
2.2 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,072 reviews
11.9 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
22.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
23.3 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.3 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Price Range: RM282 - RM437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't pay for a room with a view unless they can guarantee it will be a full on loch view”
 of 5 bubbles young1976, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loch views are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles maureenb995, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have to eat at Hotel or drive to get any choice of dining establishments”
 of 5 bubbles jedlots, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a lake view room if you wish”
 of 5 bubbles denis89, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“worth upgrading to have beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles JeanLo2, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5