We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dryburgh Abbey Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 839: English reviews
Ewenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

My dearest booked this beautiful hotel for my 40th birthday. We had a fantastic time here and the hotel staff were very accomadating to our needs. Only slight negative is the room we had was a little tired and could have done with a spruce up. Aside from that we had a brilliant time here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nathan s
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nathan, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel. I'm and delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable visit to us celebrating your birthday. I note your comments about the room and please be assured that this will be picked up in our maintenance programme shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Larbert, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the most beautiful setting so quiet and peaceful. Our room was clean and fresh with an amazing view of the River Tweed and the adjacent Dryburgh Abbey. Restaurant service was great Wilfred was super so friendly and yet very professional. Food was very good breakfast was delicious and dinner was equally so. Only thing we would ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markcounter
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you fro providing feedback on your recent stay with us at Dryburgh Abbey hotel. I will share your comments with the team particularly Wilfred and glad that you had an enjoyable stay. I note your comments about your bed and please be assured that this is in hand. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dryburgh...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

One of our party got food poisoning from roast pigeon & when the receptionist was told all she said was "that's a shame, have a safe trip home" Also the staff in the restaurant/ bistro appeared in a flap & stressed all the time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheila F
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheila F, Thank you for your feedback and have notified the team. All suspected food poisoning matters have a strict set of guidelines to follow: in this instance our pigeon is pan fried until golden brown on either side and is served pink in the middle; I have contacted our supplier for traceability and will inform our local authority...

Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Lovely hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful surroundings. We had been to the races one of the days, were we had had a 3 course meal, so when we returned to the hotel we didn't need a meal and had not realised that the bistros was not open, however the bar staff were happy to organise a sandwich...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleyhw
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lesley, Thank you for your feedback and delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable visit to Dryburgh Abbey Hotel. I'm glad we could offer you a lighter snack on return from the races and hope you will return to us again in the future. Best wishes, Ken Buchanan

Thornhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

This is a distinguished, old hotel in a superb location. Having thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Dryburgh Abbey Hotel two years ago we made a repeat visit. Our room was not quite so grand as our previous one but still graciously spacious with a good view towards the Abbey and the river. The bed however, was disappointing being extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hamish F
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hamish, Many thanks for your comments which I will share with the team and our Head Chef. I also note that you felt the bed was disappointing and I apologise that you had an uncomfortable sleep I will look into this matter immediately and rectify. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dryburgh in the future. Best wishes,...

Reviewed 19 February 2016

The hotel overlooks the River Tweed on one side and the Dryburgh Abbey (National Trust) on the other. We stayed over the evening of the 13th Feb and arrived a bit later than we had hoped (due to the weather) but still had a chance to make use of the pool and sauna facilities before going to dinner. The special...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graeme M
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graeme, Thank you for your feedback and delighted that you had an enjoyable visit to Dryburgh Abbey Hotel for our valentine's package. I will share your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dryburgh in the future. Best wishes, Ken Buchanan

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

What a stunning location. We had breakfast in the morning served by the wonderful staff to a scene of two otters playing in the Tweed. Like something out of a Walter Scott novel. The rooms are great and surprisingly quiet for a house of this age and the facilities are excellent. Next time I'll bring the fishing rod. Top marks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Calumnies
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Calcumnies, Thank you for your feedback and delighted you had an enjoyable visit with us at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel. I am glad you witnessed otters playing in the Tweed which was certainly something special to savour. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back to Dryburgh again in the...

Hamilton
Reviewed 18 February 2016

I booked an overnight stay through 5pm for 13th February which fell over Valentines weekend. I was asked by the hotel to pay an extra £20 per head to attend their Valentines dinner which I duly did, the meal was extremely disappointing and certainly not worth the extra. I would also have thought that some form of entertainment would have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MagsBHamilton
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MagsBHamilton, Thank you for your feedback. I am saddened to learn that our valentine menu did not fulfil your expectation and can only apologise that we fell short in this way. We did offer our guests the opportunity who were on a dinner inclusive package to upgrade to our valentine menu being a special occasion and priced at £39.00...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Really impressed with the hotel, staff were welcoming and friendly and the room was brilliant (comfy bed). Food was exceptional and the location was perfect. Only reason it's a 4 and not a 5 is you can hear the dogs walking round on the second floor quite loudly (dog friendly hotel), and the receptionist didn't tell us where our meal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kgardne3
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kgardne3, Thank you for your feedback and delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us. I note your comments about dogs on our upper floor and the price of port and will look into this matter. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dryburgh in the future. Best wishes, Ken Buchanan

Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I recently had a problem with my booking for this Hotel and I found the manager Ken Buchanan very polite and helpful. A refund was prompt and very gratefully received. Whilst we probably won't be sending anyone there at the moment we will take another look when the refurbishments are complete.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank admin652016
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Admin652016, Thank you for your feedback and delighted to resolve this matter for you. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dryburgh in the near future. Best wishes, Ken Buchanan

292 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (242)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Boswells
1.1 km away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
37.8 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
710 reviews
38.6 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
13.5 km away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
4.9 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dryburgh Abbey Hotel sits on the banks of the River Tweed in the breathtaking Borders countryside. Next to the historic ruins of Dryburgh Abbey, Sir Walter Scott's last resting place, it offers a fabulous location for fishing, cycling, walking, or simply enjoying a relaxing leisure break. Quality local produce is served in the tranquil setting of the Tweed resataurant by friendly and attentive staff. The proximity of the hotel to the Abbey also makes it an ideal venue for that special wedding day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dryburgh Abbey Hotel

Address: St. Boswells, St Boswells TD6 0RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > St Boswells
Price Range: RM316 - RM881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dryburgh Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dryburgh Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dryburgh Abbey Melrose
Hotel Dryburgh Abbey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dryburgh Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Dryburgh Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask reception for the room best suited to your needs”
 of 5 bubbles jinty20162017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“In refurbished rooms are cheaper but ours was well appointed and clean.”
 of 5 bubbles JanWad365, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river or the Abbey first or second floor are best.”
 of 5 bubbles 883glynd, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with river view. Our friends got the suite at top of hotel, windows not as big as in our room.”
 of 5 bubbles LizC332, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think rooms on the upper floors looking over the grounds to the river would be better .”
 of 5 bubbles NeilD49, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5