We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Portpatrick Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Portpatrick Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Portpatrick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 469: English reviews
Settle, UK
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Lovely roomy room. Very comfortable bed. Fabulous setting. Meals done on rock bottom budget - fine, but not haute cuisine. Decor in hotel trying to be trendy but it doesn't really work. Strange blinds over every window in public spaces though when sun shines one understands why! Lovely walks available all around the hotel. Hotel has newly painted front but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel W
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

The rear of the hotel is being painted in June. This will make a huge difference to the weather beaten building. It’s not an easy task keeping on top of the wear and tear of a building that is so exposed to the elements. As you say it’s not “haute cuisine” but nor is the price charged. I do believe...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Short break /deal with freinds. On arrival noticed what has been said by many reviews both on tripadvisor and the hotels own web site. Needs a coat of paint outside on the downpipes and rust running down walls. The windows in the hotel require ripped out and replaced with Double glazing since most of the wooden frames are visibly rotted.That's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dopey45
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments and constructive criticism. We are continuing our refurbishment programme as we speak. We will also complete the re-decoration of the external area, starting next month.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2015

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend in February and had a lovely stay. We were upgraded to a superior sea view room which overlooked the harbour and the view was just perfect. Our room was very comfortable, with a lovely bathroom too and had all that we needed for our stay. The food was good and plentiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet T
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

It was kind of you to write. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

Just got back of a fantastic shearings coach trip to portpatrick hotel portpatrick the hotel was beautiful perched on a cliff top overlooking the bay rooms n food n service were outstanding.our coach driver Morris was a mine of information and local history and gave commentary every where we went the holiday was brilliant and most enjoyable and will b...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann G
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review. I do hope you visit again sometime soon.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

A quiet hotel with very nice views across Portpatrick. I think they are trying to refurbish the hotel as the reception areas/hallways and bar/restaurant areas are all very good quality. I can only speak about my room, but I feel like they need to start to do up the rooms as they were cold and the paint/wallpaper was not brilliant,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are continuing or refurbishment programme this year with more bedrooms & bathrooms being upgraded.

Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Have visited PortPatrick many times & always wanted to stay in the hotel ,I was not disappointed when at last I got to stay there . The staff were both friendly & helpful, & the food very good .Spectacular location & views although I do think nearly £40 a night extra for a room with a sea view a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sueandianf5863
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. The £40 is per couple and is for the superior, larger rooms. You can get a sea view from £7.50 per person.

Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

Having just returned this hotel I wouldn't recommend it . Driving up to the front entrance , it's definitely needing a lick of paint, but to be fair it will get the brunt of the weather due to it's location. When we checked in we were given a key to our apartment , when we opened the door there was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BevLove
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

It was unfortunate that the apartment you were first allocated had not been serviced. Oversights like this do happen in hotels from time to time. It is not something that’s done intentionally. You were issued another apartment within seconds of bringing this to our attention. You did pay £95 for a “Self Catering” apartment which can sleep up to 6...

Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2015

A very spacious contemporary self catering apartment ( No 1) directly overlooking the beautiful village of Portpatrick, harbour and sea. Weather was so good could see Ireland every day. A well appointed 2 bedroom apartment allowing you to cook or eat well in the hotel ( good bar menu) or locally as you choose. I didn't eat in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank adnilyesac
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind comments on the staff, accommodation and facilities we provide. I would also like to thank your for informing other Trip Advisors users how nice a place Portpatrick is. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Another great stay at this hotel. Warm comfotrable room very clean with plenty of hot water - essential after a day's walking. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food excellent with plenty of choice. This hotel provides excellent value for money and is situated in a lovely position above the harbour providing spectacular views.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathryn440
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we see you again

Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2015

My wife and I visited this hotel on 23rd March 2015. It's a lovely hotel in a wonderful position. The views from the lounge and the terrace are out of this world. The hotel is only a short distance from the village, where there are a couple of pubs and restaurants. It's a quiet and restful place, weather permitting. This...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tony5998
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I’m glad you enjoyed not only the hotel but also the village. It is a restful, peaceful place to visit. Please call again.

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
300 reviews
0.3 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
222 reviews
0.3 km away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
250 reviews
18.4 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
9.4 km away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Price Range: RM484 - RM813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Portpatrick Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Lichfield, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Ayr, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Coleraine, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Portpatrick Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always have had a comfortable room”
 of 5 bubbles mrsvalerieb2016, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good seaview rooms, although cold weather did cause a lot of condensation.”
 of 5 bubbles 47Vonnie, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a turret room, I have heard they are great.”
 of 5 bubbles Elvis210814, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Its worth getting a upgrade if you like views.”
 of 5 bubbles JackieA284, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I believe you can pay an extra one of payment of £10 and choose your room. Sea view being the most desirable of course.”
 of 5 bubbles moragn692, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay