We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

North West Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
North West Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 325: English reviews
Start your review of North West Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Warm welcome, warm room, fantastic food (served on hot plates), tasty and filling vegetarian options, helpful and pleasant staff, enjoyable pool/sauna/jacuzzi, nice bar overlooking curling rink (in season), easy car parking, short walk to town centre (though a bit run down). I'm going to sell my house and move in as a permanent guest !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whoooooosh
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the North West Castle Hotel for 2 nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Could not fault the service...rooms were spotless....customer service was faultless and the meals were delicious.....great value for money, would recommend anyone looking for a hotel in Stranraer to book into the North West Castle Hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
Coopers Beach, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stopped overnight on the way to N. Ireland. Great facilities including a games room and an indoor curling rink. Arrived early but the room was available. The staff, food and services all were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndrewUK2013
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

I fell that you should all know about this wonderful place to stay, especially if you are getting the ferry and more so if you have kids. We highly recommend this hotel and here's is why: Parked outside front door Greeted by the charming Mr Mc Millian himself. Reception staff helpful and fast tracked for 11am after our 7 HR...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newlord
South West Scotland
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Having paid £30 for a party night, I was very disappointed to say the least with the hotel boasting 4 stars. The buffet food left a lot to be desired tough meat, cold veg and very uninspiring deserts that appeared to have been frozen and we're quite soggy. The new decor and furnishings are very nice but the damp smell...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Solusmor
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Not a good hotel very dirty my room had a very bad smell won't be back . Everything about the hotel needs up dating . Evening meals not to bad but that's the only positive about this hotel. Also wifi did not work .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at North West Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mr Greenwood We are sorry to hear that you have a bad impression of the hotel, but we are puzzled by some of your comments. We have placed a note in your room requesting that you make contact with Management to discuss them. We will be very happy to do what we can to make the rest of your...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This hotel looked promising in the pics online etc. But its basically a 1970's hotel with a lot to be done to bring it up even to 3*. We didn't get much information on checking in. Not even on how to access pool or how breakfast would be served. Quite shocking. Just given our key and told to go in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazelmct
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at North West Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hazelmct We are sorry you were disappointed by your recent stay. We are aware that some public areas and guest rooms at the hotel are rather old fashioned and we have a programme in place to bring them up to date. Our newly refurbished function suite is an example of many such projects in the pipeline. We are also...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We've gone once or twice a year for an evening meal, but this time we opted for DB&B. The room and breakfast were very good but the dinner was lamentable. At one time, there was an a la carte and a table d'hote and a large eclectic wine list; not now, just the TD and a much reduced, erratically presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindum20C
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at North West Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindum20c Thank you for the kind comments about our friendly and enthusiastic young staff. We were sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your most recent dinner at North West Castle, having enjoyed previous ones so much. Our two menus are both very much in operation. The DBB package you bought on this occasion included dinner from the table d’hote...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

This a comfortable and pleasant hotel although a bit dated. The rooms are a good size and have good facilities, however the trouser press in my room didn't work. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The pool area is nice but again the changing area could do with updating. I will be going back and I will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EldoH
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

had to leave as member of family was sick, so unable to take breakfast and meal Staff were very good and I had no charge only lost my deposit. Will definitely use this hotel again as this shows excellent customer care. Had similar problem at Marine hotel Troon and they charged full amount because that is the rule. Well dine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh K

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
14.4 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.2 km away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
101 reviews
9.2 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
254 reviews
9.4 km away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
483 reviews
9.3 km away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Price Range: RM351 - RM435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North West Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from North West Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from North West Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the second floor are the best for peace and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewUK2013, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room where there is no noise from generator”
 of 5 bubbles Hazelmct, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors of original building are best”
 of 5 bubbles Lindum20C, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book direct with hotel always best.”
 of 5 bubbles 738hughk, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the top room, have private balcony at the front with the view of the sea Loch ryan and balcony at the back the view of the town”
 of 5 bubbles whiteflower2630, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5