We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

North West Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
North West Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 329: English reviews
Start your review of North West Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
tenerife
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the hotel direct with the mcmillan group page , I strongly advise anyone to go direct to the site as the offer was unbeatable ,I travelled alone to see family in Stranraer and was a bit apprehensive of travelling on my own from Tenerife , I managed to book when an offer on and got free included breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clipetyclop
catrine
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic staff, great food, room was spacious and warm, too warm at times, plenty of parking, pool was nice and the Jacuzzi was hot and relaxing, never used the sauna as it was busy. Very pleasant stay, the bonus was being able to watch the curling that was taking place that weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceres42
Medford, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, they have a curling arena. The first night we had dinner in the observation lounge and watched the curling competition. Fun. Rooms were clean & comfortable. View of the harbor from our room. Food was good. The hotel is beautiful. I usually don't take pictures of the hotel but here I did. Walking to town is only about a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We come 2-3 times a year for curling weekends which are superbly run. The dinners are varied with good choices and very enjoyable. Breakfasts are cooked to order with a good choice. The curling rink in the hotel has its own bar and viewing area and is the main focus of our stay, but the pool is a good size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank godfrey b
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Warm welcome, warm room, fantastic food (served on hot plates), tasty and filling vegetarian options, helpful and pleasant staff, enjoyable pool/sauna/jacuzzi, nice bar overlooking curling rink (in season), easy car parking, short walk to town centre (though a bit run down). I'm going to sell my house and move in as a permanent guest !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whoooooosh
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Stayed at the North West Castle Hotel for 2 nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Could not fault the service...rooms were spotless....customer service was faultless and the meals were delicious.....great value for money, would recommend anyone looking for a hotel in Stranraer to book into the North West Castle Hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
Coopers Beach, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Stopped overnight on the way to N. Ireland. Great facilities including a games room and an indoor curling rink. Arrived early but the room was available. The staff, food and services all were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndrewUK2013
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

I fell that you should all know about this wonderful place to stay, especially if you are getting the ferry and more so if you have kids. We highly recommend this hotel and here's is why: Parked outside front door Greeted by the charming Mr Mc Millian himself. Reception staff helpful and fast tracked for 11am after our 7 HR...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newlord
South West Scotland
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Having paid £30 for a party night, I was very disappointed to say the least with the hotel boasting 4 stars. The buffet food left a lot to be desired tough meat, cold veg and very uninspiring deserts that appeared to have been frozen and we're quite soggy. The new decor and furnishings are very nice but the damp smell...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Solusmor
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Not a good hotel very dirty my room had a very bad smell won't be back . Everything about the hotel needs up dating . Evening meals not to bad but that's the only positive about this hotel. Also wifi did not work .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at North West Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mr Greenwood We are sorry to hear that you have a bad impression of the hotel, but we are puzzled by some of your comments. We have placed a note in your room requesting that you make contact with Management to discuss them. We will be very happy to do what we can to make the rest of your...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
14.4 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.2 km away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
101 reviews
9.2 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
488 reviews
9.7 km away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
262 reviews
9.3 km away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Price Range: RM345 - RM447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North West Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from North West Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from North West Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Its best to call them to discuss any special needs you have,”
  • This is a family room with a single , double and room with two other beds in , was lovely
  • family room
 of 5 bubbles clipetyclop, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor are the best for peace and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewUK2013, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room where there is no noise from generator”
 of 5 bubbles Hazelmct, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors of original building are best”
 of 5 bubbles Lindum20C, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book direct with hotel always best.”
 of 5 bubbles 738hughk, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5