We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harbour Lights Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Harbour Lights Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Harbour Lights Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Everything that has been said about this beautiful guest house is true. We too had an overnight stay and i agree with other reviews you would not find a nicer couple. The room was lovely, very clean and of a good size. Bottles of water, chocolates and biscuits as well as good selection of tea/ coffee in the room -...

Thank MarJue
Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked the double room and family room for an overnight stay. The rooms are lovely, very clean and are of a good size. Bottles of water, chocolates and biscuits as well as good selection of tea/ coffee in the room - excellent. Breakfast was lovely with good selection on offer. I would definitely recommend this little gem of a guesthouse...

Thank Alison g
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We ended up driving 8 hours to get to Stranraer so that we could stay overnight to take the morning ferry to Lorna. Due to road construction we took the back roads which were stunning but they turned out to be too bumpy and curvy for our two year old. He got sick all over the car and Colin and...

Thank 714Blondie
Irvinestown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Everything about my stay here for just one night was perfect. Rhona and Colin are both welcoming and oblidging. My room was clean,comfortable and had those few extra finishing touches to make it feel special. Scrumptious breakfast with everything healthy and decadent on offer. Have stayed in another guest house in Stranraer which was awful and an expensive hotel too...

Thank Eleanor W
CRBR, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, we truly appreciate all input that we get. Hope you were not to late getting home. Thank you once again Rhona.

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here with a few girls from University while we were on placement in Stranraer. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts every morning; the salmon bagels were amazing! The guest house has lovely views onto the harbour and is in a great location in walking distance of everywhere you could want! Despite all of this the...

Thank Mairi2506
CRBR, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this review

You were all brilliant and we were very lucky to have you all stay with us. Good luck with any future placements and we hope to see you and all the girls again. Rhia say's hi x

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Myself and my friends have just returned from a two day motorcycle ride, enjoying a nights stay at the 'Harbour Lights' Bed and Breakfast, Stranraer. We were made to feel very welcome upon our arrival, and found our rooms to be very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great, setting us up nicely for our return journey home. would highly recommend...

Thank CandCStewart
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Stranraer to play golf and the Harbour Lights provided a comfortable stay in lovely rooms with a brilliant breakfast to set us up for the day. Garry, Alistair & Donny

Thank fraswil
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just back from a couple of days at the Harbour Lights and I must say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Friendly owners, nicely decorated and well maintained rooms, cracking breakfast and then, as if that wasn't enough, they have a jam maker in the house!! You can buy (voluntary contributions) jars to take away....brilliant. Good parking opposite and handily...

Thank George M
Manchester, UK
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a family history research trip. We chose it based on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Great location with free safe parking, warm welcome, clean , safe and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. No need to look elsewhere for a central Stranraer stay.

Thank BKP47
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just back from another great stay at Harbour Lights, we stay at this guest house a few times a year while visiting family in Stranraer, and we are always greeted with a warm welcome, we usually stay in room 4, which is very nice, clean and has great views over the water front, this time we arrived on Easter sunday...

Thank waynos

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (11)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (3)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Bathroom (1)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (31)
Room/Suite (13)
View from Room (3)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Dining (5)
Other (5)
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.6 km away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
342 reviews
13.9 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.8 km away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 27 in Stranraer
166 reviews
0.1 km away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#3 of 27 in Stranraer
120 reviews
0.6 km away
The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star Visit Scotland family run Guest House on the shores of Lochryan and only a 5 minute drive to the ferries for Ireland, Free parking in the car-park opposite, all rooms are en-suite with free 24 hour Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Guest House

Address: 7 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Price Range: RM314 - RM353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Harbour Lights Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour Lights Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Harbour Lights Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms of a very high standard having had a tour. All front facing rooms have great views across Loch Ryan”
Shadow1943, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs for great view of bay”
560cs, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room faced the busy street, but we heard no noise whatsoever from traffic or passersby.”
BarbaraC601, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 2.”
TheFamilyBear, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms looked good but only one has a kingsize bed.”
petermK8581WY, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates